We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely example of an orthadox Cathedral” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patriarchal Cathedral

Patriarchal Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.95*
and up
Bucharest Full Day City Tour
Ranked #12 of 276 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Really lovely example of an orthadox Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The outside looks nice, however the inside is very impressive. It's up a slight hill, however I'd suggest that it's completely worth it. It wasn't very busy at all, so no queuing, nor lots of tourists. The Romanians seem to take their religion quite seriously, so I'd suggest being respectful and not talking photographs with flash, nor if there is a service being undertaken.

One of the good things about this place - there is both a taxi rank and a tram stop down the bottom, therefore if you've been walking for a long time, and aren't sure about seeing this Cathedral - GO! and then take a taxi or a tram back to your hotel... I stayed in a hotel not directly in the center and a 10 minute ride cost me 8 lei (less than £2!) so it's really worth it :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    95
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Seat of the Patriarch of the Romanian Orthodox Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very beautiful complex which is actually a monastery and Palace of the Patriarch. There was a service going on when we arrived and waited a bit for it to finish. The outside portico area is painted with iconographic paintings and was very interesting to look at if there is a service in progress, though many people entered and left in during the service. The icons inside were very beautiful and it was a very busy place. We wandered around and easily identified several Bible stories and saints. There is a small bookstore slightly down the hill from the main church; however, there was nothing available in English.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

It was very pretty. Also there was a small service going on when we went in Saturday evening. We stood inside and just watched which was nice. The way the service was going on at that point was very peaceful and relaxing even though we didn't understand what was being said.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zach Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fancy Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went there on Easter Sunday and there was a ceremony going on. The external of the church is well maintained and worth gazing upon. Figured it would be inappropriate to get in and wander as a typical tourist during the ceremony while the church was packed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyriacos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A place where you can pray and listen to the amazing choir, I like it especially on holidays like Christmas . It is an amazingly beautiful building and a visiting place for numerous tourists, no matter the religion

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patriarchal Cathedral also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Patriarchal Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing