We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff and good value”
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff and good value”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is my favourite hotel in Bucharest, the classic and stylishly decked out and the location is fantastic. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable - lovely breakfast.

I highly recommend this hotel!

James

Room Tip: Got for room 71 if you want a balcony, it a little smaller than the other standard rooms but the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UntravelledPathsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    267
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
79
341
158
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is prefectly located. Just in the centre of the old city. It's the second time we stayed there and it is still as good as it was 5 years ago. Spacious rooms, friendly personnel, great breakfast and a very hospitable manager. It's one of the hotels where you feel at home. Together with the neighbouring van Gogh cafe/terrace it forms a perfect couple. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurrien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Mr. Jurrien,

It is always a pleasure to read such good words from our guests. It is even a greater honor for us to see guests return to Rembrandt after such long time. Together with our little brother, Grand Cafe Van Gogh we strive to make all our guests happy so they, as you did, return to Bucharest and Rembrandt whenever they have the chance.

Hope to see you back soon.

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We're back fondly at this hotel. You can not not feel good here. Rooms are friendly and warm, as well as staff. I'll come back here to be the time I work in Bucharest. Their only problem is parking, but look for accommodation immediately. The location is perfect. Simply feel good, look like you're home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiviuS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Mr. Stupar,

Me and my colleagues at Rembrandt wish to make all guests feel like home. After reading your comment we realized we managed to do so. Most of our guests are business people and at the end of a busy and hectic day we know how important is to have the room where they can relax, rest and prepare for the following day.
Regarding the parking issue, this will be solved by the end of November when the Municipality will open the biggest underground parking (just 250m from our hotel).

Looking forward to your next visit to Bucharest,

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of the Old City. The main attractions are only steps away. The room was great, good breakfast choices. The staff is very courteous and professional. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect, as has been mentioned...many restaurants nearby. The room was large, classy and clean. Staff was very knowledgable and helpful. I had read a previous review that mentioned street noise in the front of the building - I was put in a front room (fifth floor) but didn't have any problems with the noise on a Saturday night. I did make sure that the window was closed tight, as it was cool, and I'm assuming that if the window is open that street noise will be noticeable. I would absolutely stay here again, the next time in Bucharest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Mr. Scott,

Thank you kindly for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your trip to Bucharest and looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

As Municipality announced The Old City Center is only at the beginning of its cultural development so many surprises are on the way.

Kind regards,
Rembrandt Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Clean and spacious rooms, in a wonderful location. Close to tons of restaurants and shops, and in the center of Bucharest night life -- if that's your thing. It wasn't really ours, but we loved the vibrancy of the area, and being able to open the windows to the city streets below. Breakfast in 'cafe klein' (the hotel cafe) was basic, yet set in a lovely cafe setting that made it a bit more than the 'hotel breakfast'.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful, even arranging a 'welcome drink' at Cafe Van Gogh next door.

One thing: hotels are not equipped with hairdryers, so make sure to ask for one at check in, or plan to go to breakfast with wet hair. They do have them for use, but you must ask.

And one more thing: the hotel elevator is TINY. If you have luggage larger than a wheelie bag, you may want to consider staying elsewhere as the only other options is the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Rembrandt Hotel Guest

It is always a pleasure to read positive lines about Bucharest and especially about the Old City Centre, where we are located.
For most of the guests and including us, the residents, this part of town is a pride now. It has become a live area, with coffee bars, pubs, restaurants, small squares where live concerts and cultural gatherings take place. Though the hotel is not situated in the middle of this our guests can enjoy the vibrant life of Bucharest without being disturbed by the noise in the room.

Rembrandt Hotel’s building is a historical monument and thus the constitution of the lift. According to the Romanian legislation no one is allowed to bring any changes to these types of buildings. If any of our guests have heavy or more than oneluggage we will be more than happy to help with them.

Regarding the hotel minuses you’ve pointed out I would like to mention that Rembrandt is a 3 star hotel and its breakfast consists of healthy cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts, boiled eggs, a large variety of bread, home made waffels on the spot, with various toppings, freshly squeezed orange juice and unlimited fresh Illy coffee. Breakfast buffet contains fresh products, prepared every morning and it is being served in Klein Cafe, the hotel bar, situated at the mezanine of the hotel.

As you have also stated, we do provide hairdryers to all our guests. One has to ask for them at the reception and we will provide it, any time of the day.

Once again we thank you for your beautiful words and looking forward to welcoming you again in Bucharest.

Rembrandt Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for more than three weeks ( August-Sept. 2012) and found all aspect very good. Staff are all friendly and ready to help, personal etc. It is one of the best places i have stayed in anywhere. I would however suggest that the hotel install refrigerators in the larger rooms and that WIFI routers be on every floor. Also if possible, soft boiled eggs for breakfast would be great. BTW the breafast selection is excellent--really fine breads and baked goods.

GezaT, Canada

Room Tip: The larger rooms facing the street are a bit noise by have great light--Higher floors--less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 167 in Bucharest
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 167 in Bucharest
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.3 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 167 in Bucharest
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Property: Rembrandt Hotel
Address: Strada Smardan 11 | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing