We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location; friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location; friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall: very good.

Prime location in the pedestrianised historic centre. Great once you're there but tricky with a rental car as no direct access allowed and nearby street parking is almost non-existant during the day.

Staff are all very helpful and friendly and present, consistently. Good advance booking communication (thank you Alina) which is reassuring and kind.

Rooms (we both had the Business rooms; 21 and 41) are very large, well equipped and comfortable. However, being at the front these rooms are susceptible to noise. I would suggest that the hotel should prevail upon very penetrating street performers to move their electric instruments elsewhere; and liaise with the ever-present gendarmes to stop motorcylists parking outside. I would stay again but request a room at the back.

Breakfast offers a very wide choice which should meet most peoples' preferences. Unfortunately my preferred breakfast is a good pot of tea and eggs. No eggs, just waffles...?? More incomprehensible is the misguided tea offering. Lots of loose leaf exotic fruity teas, but no proper Darjeeling nor Assam, not even a plain breakfast tea; just tea-bags, and bad ones at that. This should be easily remedied as they already have the tea-pots and if they can provide a large range of loose leaf fruit teas why not a basic black tea. After one taste of their tea I converted to coffee.

The Van Gogh next door is excellent value. Very good food, very good service, great wines, not expensive. It's s pity that non-smokers are third-class citizens but that's Bucharest.

Room Tip: Be prepared for external noise if you get a Business room...even with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ridger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr. Ridger,

Thank you for choosing Rembrandt Hotel during your stay in Bucharest.
Our hotel is located in the beautiful Old City Center which is a pedestrian area with no direct car access. Guests can stop for drop-off luggage just 50m away from the hotel and there is also a secure underground parking just 250m away where you can leave your rental car during the day and night. We can also help our guests with their luggage when we are advised about time of arrival.

Your words describing our amenities can only make us feel honored and valued. Regarding the electric music on the street we do our best to prevent this from happening, but this is the Old City Centre of town and many cultural and non cultural events happen on our streets. In this regard a memoir to the municipality of our sector will be done. Inside the hotel we have worked to diminish outside noise by installing sound-proof windows on all front side room (made up of 3 layers).

All our rooms are equipped with coffee and tea facilities, we're sorry you could not find your tea of choice. We've built our tea selection based on our guests preferences and now also yours will also be taken into consideration.

Best regards from old town area of Bucharest.

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    253
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
79
325
153
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the nice area of town known as the old city - an area of cobbled streets with plenty of choice for places to eat and drink.

Rooms were nice and spacious (we had room 12 and 52 on floors 1 and 5 respectively - at the start and end of a week long tour around Romania) decorated with natural wood furniture to blend in with the floors.

Bathrooms were a good size, and clean, with shower gel / shampoo provided. There is free wi-fi available.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and reception spoke excellent English and assisted us in booking a tour of the parliament building.

Breakfast was buffet style, with freshly cooked waffles on request. It was plentiful, and of good quality, served with fresh 'proper' coffee and fruit juice.

Overall the hotel is very well maintained. We would definitely stay here again on a return visit. The only slight downside was that we didn't have any views from the rooms - just looking directly onto adjacent buildings. But this really wasn't an issue as we were not in the rooms long enough to worry about it. We had very good, undisturbed nights sleep with very little noise from the hotel or outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We arranged an airport pick up with the hotel & arrived at the Hotel at 7.00am and Ana on reception had a room available for us to check into which I was very grateful for. The room we got was number 22 on the 2nd floor, it was very big room with fridge, Tv , kettle and air con in it. The Breakfast consisted of cereal , pastries, fruit salad, cheese , breads and waffles. The location is in the heart of the old town with plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Overall this is a excellent hotel with staff dedicated to helping you and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location in the Old Town, surrounded by bars and restaurants. Large, comfortable room for 3 people. Excellent breakfast with a good variety of food. The staff went out of there way to be helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great location in old town, all staff speak excellent English are super friendly and really really helpfull.
Free Breakfast is good with fresh waffles and fresh coffees made on request, they will even make you a coffee to take away!
Thanks team,would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is located at the top/ northern end of the Lipscani District, or Old Town of Bucharest. This area consists of a large number of blocks of very old historic buildings that are being restored to house restaurants and bars - most have huge outdoor 'terraces' for dining and drinking. On Friday and Saturday nights it can be a little bit noisy in the rooms either side of midnight, so it might pay to pack earplugs. Mostly it is not much of a problem, though.

This is a very thin but beautiful old hotel with an old internal cage lift that really only fits one person with a few bags - 2 at a squeeze. Four would probably fit without any bags. It is about 6 storeys high, so I would take the lift up and walk down the stairs that wrap around it during my stay. The top suite with the balcony would, I imagine, be amazing!

The rooms vary slightly in size, even at the same price point. Having stayed a few nights in different rooms, I would suggest the Standard over the cheaper Tourist/Matrimonial if you can get one. One of the single tourist rooms my friend had was awkwardly laid out and they kept hitting their head when they moved around in bed. That said, all the other rooms we saw or stayed in were lovely, atmospheric and very comfortable. In fact some of the double standard rooms were quite spacious. There is an emphasis on wood and they feel very homely and slightly old world - in a romantic way. They were extremely clean and have safes. Bathrooms were very clean with good quality showers. Beds very comfortable.

The breakfast room on the mezzanine at the front is light and airy and the breakfast was very well stocked, healthy and nice. The espresso coffee you can order at the bar was, as everywhere I went in Romania, outstanding - but particularly good here. There is a terrace directly out the front for the restaurant/ bar next door - a great place to sit, sip n excellent Romanian beer or wine, and soak up your arrival in Bucharest. You get a discount voucher for it on arrival.

Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

I really liked the character, quality and location of this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a standard room over a tourist if you are a single traveller. But not really a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Rembrandt hotel is conveniently situated in the old town and was within walking distance of many restaurants, cafes, bars etc. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The room was elegant with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was buffet style and very good. Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DramaQueen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 172 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 172 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#6 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#9 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Property: Rembrandt Hotel
Address: 11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing