We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location Ever. Period. ”
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel
Ranked #4 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Location Ever. Period. ”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Rembrandt Hotel can't be any better located in the heart of the old city.

You walk out door and immediately are taken by Bucharest's charm -- winding cobblestone streets with amazing architecture at every turn. Cafés and nightlife are yours for the taking. Also, the subway is just 3 to 5 blocks away!

Opt for the business class room since ours (Room 11) looked directly out at the National Bank. With huge windows that opened, we were romanced by the sounds of live music nightly from the street below. If quiet is what you want, the windows close and create a soundproof seal. The room is large with 10+ high ceilings. Shower completely upgraded with power water pressure.

Staff is helpful and even scored us tickets to an evening concert at the Royal Music Hall. Hotel is simple, but clean -- a must! If you want location, the Rembrandt Hotel is your answer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Hans,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
It is always a great pleasure to read that our guests had a memorable stay in Bucharest.

We do hope one day you will return to „Bucharest, our Little Paris”

Regards,

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    269
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
343
159
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel on a friend's recommendation for a long weekend. The location is perfect - right next to the Old Town in Bucharest. It's walking distance to key sights and right next to all the night-life. I was a bit worried it would be noisy due to all the bars in the Old Town, but they didn't disturb us at all. We stayed in room 12. The view from the room is just of another building, but that didn't bother us. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and they booked us a fantastic day trip to Transylvania with our own personal driver. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable too. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahLain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Lain,

First of all we would like to thank your friend for recommending us. We discover more and more friends all over Europe. Then, we'd like to take this opportunity and inform all our friends reading TripAdvisor that Romania has turned into a great city break destination. Major companies have low cost flights to Bucharest so a great weekend is just a step away.

PS: Toni, your quide, sends you his best regards,

Rembrandt Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I do not have any words to add! I stayed for 4 days for business, the hotel is very very butiful, gentle people on recepetion and cleaned room.
The breakfast is so good, and so close the hotel there are a lot of places where you can take drink or eat someting.
Suggested!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall: very good.

Prime location in the pedestrianised historic centre. Great once you're there but tricky with a rental car as no direct access allowed and nearby street parking is almost non-existant during the day.

Staff are all very helpful and friendly and present, consistently. Good advance booking communication (thank you Alina) which is reassuring and kind.

Rooms (we both had the Business rooms; 21 and 41) are very large, well equipped and comfortable. However, being at the front these rooms are susceptible to noise. I would suggest that the hotel should prevail upon very penetrating street performers to move their electric instruments elsewhere; and liaise with the ever-present gendarmes to stop motorcylists parking outside. I would stay again but request a room at the back.

Breakfast offers a very wide choice which should meet most peoples' preferences. Unfortunately my preferred breakfast is a good pot of tea and eggs. No eggs, just waffles...?? More incomprehensible is the misguided tea offering. Lots of loose leaf exotic fruity teas, but no proper Darjeeling nor Assam, not even a plain breakfast tea; just tea-bags, and bad ones at that. This should be easily remedied as they already have the tea-pots and if they can provide a large range of loose leaf fruit teas why not a basic black tea. After one taste of their tea I converted to coffee.

The Van Gogh next door is excellent value. Very good food, very good service, great wines, not expensive. It's s pity that non-smokers are third-class citizens but that's Bucharest.

Room Tip: Be prepared for external noise if you get a Business room...even with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ridger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr. Ridger,

Thank you for choosing Rembrandt Hotel during your stay in Bucharest.
Our hotel is located in the beautiful Old City Center which is a pedestrian area with no direct car access. Guests can stop for drop-off luggage just 50m away from the hotel and there is also a secure underground parking just 250m away where you can leave your rental car during the day and night. We can also help our guests with their luggage when we are advised about time of arrival.

Your words describing our amenities can only make us feel honored and valued. Regarding the electric music on the street we do our best to prevent this from happening, but this is the Old City Centre of town and many cultural and non cultural events happen on our streets. In this regard a memoir to the municipality of our sector will be done. Inside the hotel we have worked to diminish outside noise by installing sound-proof windows on all front side room (made up of 3 layers).

All our rooms are equipped with coffee and tea facilities, we're sorry you could not find your tea of choice. We've built our tea selection based on our guests preferences and now also yours will also be taken into consideration.

Best regards from old town area of Bucharest.

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the nice area of town known as the old city - an area of cobbled streets with plenty of choice for places to eat and drink.

Rooms were nice and spacious (we had room 12 and 52 on floors 1 and 5 respectively - at the start and end of a week long tour around Romania) decorated with natural wood furniture to blend in with the floors.

Bathrooms were a good size, and clean, with shower gel / shampoo provided. There is free wi-fi available.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and reception spoke excellent English and assisted us in booking a tour of the parliament building.

Breakfast was buffet style, with freshly cooked waffles on request. It was plentiful, and of good quality, served with fresh 'proper' coffee and fruit juice.

Overall the hotel is very well maintained. We would definitely stay here again on a return visit. The only slight downside was that we didn't have any views from the rooms - just looking directly onto adjacent buildings. But this really wasn't an issue as we were not in the rooms long enough to worry about it. We had very good, undisturbed nights sleep with very little noise from the hotel or outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We arranged an airport pick up with the hotel & arrived at the Hotel at 7.00am and Ana on reception had a room available for us to check into which I was very grateful for. The room we got was number 22 on the 2nd floor, it was very big room with fridge, Tv , kettle and air con in it. The Breakfast consisted of cereal , pastries, fruit salad, cheese , breads and waffles. The location is in the heart of the old town with plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Overall this is a excellent hotel with staff dedicated to helping you and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location in the Old Town, surrounded by bars and restaurants. Large, comfortable room for 3 people. Excellent breakfast with a good variety of food. The staff went out of there way to be helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 168 in Bucharest
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 168 in Bucharest
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 168 in Bucharest
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 168 in Bucharest
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#16 of 168 in Bucharest
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Property: Rembrandt Hotel
Address: Strada Smardan 11 | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing