We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Romania”
Review of Herastrau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herastrau Hotel
Ranked #72 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here in June for a work seminar with other youth workers and youths in our care. Hotel was clean and tidy, lovely pictureque location but no other amenities around the area; 10/15 min taxi ride away from centre (taxi cost 15L - abou £3.50/£4). Rooms were ensuite with tv, but no tea/coffee facilities but a minibar with a small selection of drinks in, at extra cost. Bed was not comfortable with very hard mattress.
There were wedding parties in the hotel the weekend we stayed and the noise was rocking the building, we only got to sleep at 6am and had to work at 7.30am! Not good for the young people with us.
All in all not a good place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2010

A discret building on the lake shore in the middle of the most beautiful park of the city. Silence and relaxation. Large, clean rooms.
Only restaurant service is not yet excellent.
Six tennis courts. Childern island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

The hotel has a great location, right next to the park. However, they regularly have weddings in the room under the bedrooms which go on ALL night! A Romanian wedding generally finishes between 6am and 7am! We were lucky and only kept awake till 3.30am, but the floor was vibrating with the disco until then. Such parties can be booked on Friday, Saturday or Sunday nights - on other nights the fun apparently stops at midnight! Beware!

The room was only just clean enough - no vacuuming for the 3 days we were there. Breakfast was meagre and service was awful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ann41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

This Hotel is situated on the edge of a lake in a great setting although it is a way off the main road. The Hotel has a rather seedy history but has been modernised over the last few years. It boasts as being 3* but I would say that 2* is nearer the mark. The Hotel rooms are clean and basic but comfortable. I experienced 2 main problems:

1) Breakfast was very sparce and the so called hot dishes were stone cold on a couple of the mornings.

2) The public rooms adjacient to the hotel were used for wedding receptions over the weekend that seemed to last until the very small hours. Several members of my party were unable to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cambiate hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.8 mi away
Class Hotel
Class Hotel
#147 of 170 in Bucharest
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Stil Hotel
Best Western Stil Hotel
#116 of 170 in Bucharest
64 reviews
1 mi away
Expocenter Hotel
Expocenter Hotel
#62 of 170 in Bucharest
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
#38 of 170 in Bucharest
752 reviews
3.7 mi away
Phoenicia Express Hotel
Phoenicia Express Hotel
#138 of 170 in Bucharest
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herastrau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herastrau Hotel

Address: S Nordului No 7-9, Sector 1, Bucharest 014101, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herastrau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herastrau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing