We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herastrau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herastrau Hotel
Ranked #67 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Cluj
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hello, I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, booked thru booking (dot) com. Price was 20% lower then lobby.

Location is great, the lake is at 5m away from the hotel. Private parking.

Room: i had a double room, LED TV , A/C , Large bed, clean bathroom with everything needed.

Cost: Good value for payment

Breakfast: Excellent, good variety..

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaniaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
12
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel 13/9/13 to 16/9/13 whilst on holiday in Romania and visiting Bucharest. Very peaceful and attractive location in woodland beside Lac Herastrau. The room with en suite bathroom was comfortable, clean and roomy. The reception staff were excellent and went out of their way to assist us.
We liked the fact that there was a restaurant attached to the hotel which offered a small discount on meals for hotel residents. We used the restaurant for the 3 nights of our stay. The menu was good and varied with an emphasis on Romanian dishes which we tried. We had the same waiter, Radu for each evening and I compliment him on his service, advice and knowledge regarding wines and dishes. hw was a real ambassador for Romania.
I thought that the hotel was excellent value for money and it was hard to believe it was classified as 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I were part of a singing group which started in Bucharest . We didn't choose the hotel as it was part of the tour package. We arrived about midnight and the big park was filled with youngsters attending a car rally. Cab fare was preset when we used airport service to call cabs. Staff was very friendly and it was a great location . Good breakfast included. We enjoyed the free children's park ( adults get in free ! ). Nice views of river and good food at Reception Center which hosted 6 weddings while we were there, so don't expect a sound sleep experience on the weekends. All in all though a friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: If it's a weekend ask for room away from outdoor reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newviking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We've chosen this hotel for the "remote" location in the heart of the city. Didn't read any reviews before, just went blind. And we were lucky, the location is excellent and the staff very polite and helpful. Big room with balcony, very good bed and pillows, clean room. Safe parking for our car. The position in the middle of Herastrau Park completed our perfect mini-vacation, we were able to take long walks after breakfast and again in the evening.
Front desk very helpful in solving a booking problem (i made a mistake when i filled the form on booking.com) and i wasn't charged for it.
However, in this time of the year (march) there aren't so many people in the park or at the restaurant, nor large meetings (e.g. weddings) so i cannot guarantee for the golden silence in a summer month.
All in all, i am sure to return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I spent two nights at Herastrau Hotel on a tour of Romania. The room was clean and comfortable. The twin beds were placed together. The shower was very small.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Took the official airport taxi (car license IF 79 W T X) and the driver wanted 200 RON ($68 USD) to the hotel -- it was not that long a drive. So, I asked the front desk to help intercede and she was NOT helpful whatsoever, even though she knew it was a major ripoff and that the hotel was not far away. Most disappointing and a lousy first impression. She did not want to cause trouble with the driver -- more than helping a customer.

Hotel is nicely located. Room was okay. Night manager only reluctantly got a barking dog to stop after midnight -- in the parking lot outside my room. Possiby an employee's?

Hotel could NOT accept a US credit card (one without a chip) -- lucky I had enough US Dollars to pay the bill.

Overall, disappointing. In a nice park, with a lake. But isolated from food and shopping, etc.

Ride back, on the meter, was 36 RON

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here in June for a work seminar with other youth workers and youths in our care. Hotel was clean and tidy, lovely pictureque location but no other amenities around the area; 10/15 min taxi ride away from centre (taxi cost 15L - abou £3.50/£4). Rooms were ensuite with tv, but no tea/coffee facilities but a minibar with a small selection of drinks in, at extra cost. Bed was not comfortable with very hard mattress.
There were wedding parties in the hotel the weekend we stayed and the noise was rocking the building, we only got to sleep at 6am and had to work at 7.30am! Not good for the young people with us.
All in all not a good place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.0 mi away
Expocenter Hotel
Expocenter Hotel
#59 of 171 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Bucharest World Trade Center
0.9 mi away
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
#35 of 171 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Johann Strauss Hotel
Johann Strauss Hotel
#141 of 171 in Bucharest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stil Hotel
BEST WESTERN Stil Hotel
#126 of 171 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#33 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herastrau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herastrau Hotel

Property: Herastrau Hotel
Address: S Nordului No 7-9, Sector 1, Bucharest 014101, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Herastrau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Herastrau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing