We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Miorita”
Review of Hostel Miorita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Miorita
Ranked #141 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hostel Miorita”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We can highly recommend Hostel Miorita. It is a clean and quiet Hostel in the center of Bucarest.
Monica and Daniel at the reception were friendly and very helpfull. You can enjoy the Bars and restaurants round Lipscani Street by walk. Beware of the Taxi-Drivers which were waiting in the evening in the street at Hotel Victoria. They want to cheat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berlinpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
10
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslob, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

our stay at miorita contained a friendly but uninvited cockroach, a leaky toilet, a leaky shower, a view of a rather unattractive brick wall and rude reception staff. oh! and a super friendly cleaning lady.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

€30 can go a long way in Bucharest. It'll buy you one night here, at a neat and somewhat modern hotel right in the old town - a perfect location for exploring the best part of the city. Unfortunately, I can't recommend Hostel Miorita.

The rooms have no windows to the outside, which makes things very warm at night in the summer - 30+ degrees makes it difficult to sleep. You can take a shower to cool off, but you'd be lucky to get more than a trickle - and I mean that entirely literally. Furthermore, the shower leaks badly and the whole bathroom turns into a swamp. There is a drainage hole in the middle of the floor, but it's still quite unpleasant. Finally, you will be charged if you drink anything from the mini fridge - which is NOT something I would deduct points for, since it's a fairly standard practice, but you will also be charged if you make and drink any of the instant teas or coffees on the little display plate on the desk. They aren't near the mini fridge, and they look gratis but are not.

Overall, you can get a much better value in Bucharest. Despite the great location, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2012. Didn't have any surprises after reading the previous reviews. It's a hostel, the entrance through the dark corridor is quite creepy, the reception is a basic affair as is the room. It seems that there are 2 types : with or without windows. We got the windowless variety. Everything other reviews said is right: the room is basic but clean, the shower leaks and water collects through the drain situated in the middle of the bathroom. The little hall/atrium with a transparent roof (the only natural light source for our room) leaked during a heavy rain.
Breakfast was served in the City Grill restaurant nearby. This is a very good restaurant where we had also a dinner. The breakfast is a choice of 10 different types of menus - all seem very good, We had 4 different types (2 mornings) all with more than decent quantities and quality.

As for location one cannot ask for more: right in the heart of the historic center with all the new trendy restaurants, bars and pubs nearby.

I give this hostel 4 stars for what it is: a basic hostel, excellently located in the historic center of Bucharest and near a main street making taxi access easy; excellent breakfast and helpful staff; not to forget the price. For an overnight stay it is very good.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with windows if this is of importance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A great room in the best location in Bucharest, that is if you spend any time in it due to the non stop nightlife!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, with special mention to the lovely Monica.
Next time i go to Bucharest it will be my only choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonsonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Well, I went to Hostel Miorita in August by a real suffocating heat. The room first look a bit weird because of the lack of day light; yet, it was rather wide, clean, comfortable with TV, fridge, bar, a bathroom with toilets, shower, towels, soap... and an air conditioning that I really appreciated when it was around 40°C outside ! Most of all, the staff was really cheery and helpful, easy to talk with, always with a smile and a good idea... And let's face it, you can't dream of a better location in the city : right in the middle of the historic center, with monuments, metro, restaurants and everything you need very near. The breakfast costs 5 euros more but is worth it. This hostel is a good address to spend one night as well as to stay a few days in Bucharest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferdiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location is excellent, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the price is also good.In the bathroom you can only find liquid soap, which may be a little disturbing.Unfortunately there are no windows "to the outside world", only to an interior courtyard, but overall this hostel is a great choice for short business trips.It is located right in the heart of Bucharest, in the old town.You have quick access to everything you need and, by the way, the staff is very helpful, the receptionist is very nice and fun. Breakfast can be served outside, in a cafe-bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mansion Boutique Hotel
The Mansion Boutique Hotel
#33 of 167 in Bucharest
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tania Hotel
Tania Hotel
#56 of 167 in Bucharest
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 167 in Bucharest
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#16 of 167 in Bucharest
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsa
Capsa
#117 of 167 in Bucharest
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bucharest Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Miorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Miorita

Property: Hostel Miorita
Address: Str. Lipscani 12, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Miorita 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Miorita is a warm and friendly hostel, that welcomes travelers who want to stay in the old town of Bucharest (Centrul Vechi). Travelers can find all the facilities that a 3 hotel offers from complete continental breakfast that is offered fresh daily at City Grill Restaurant, 24 hour Reception. Hostel Miorita has free wireless internet in all areas of the facility, they can can relax and enjoy 56 cm LCD TVs in their rooms with premium cable channels. Since it is located in the historic Center, visitors can enjoy the hundreds of pubs, cafes and clubs that are always full of locals and visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Miorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing