We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“funky-perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banat
Ranked #101 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Tutrakhan, Silistra, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“funky-perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

As others have said, the location cannot be beat in this old fashioned backpackery place- you are short walk from the magic Lipscani district with its wide selection of cafes, clubs and one-off shopping experiences. In fact, this is probably why Banat doesn't bother much about modernising the rooms- if things like missing glass in light fixtures and 70s style carpeting get you down, make another choice. But for me, the setting in the very oldest part of Bucharest with its stunning if often decrepit architecture assures that I would never bother looking for anything else. Advice: bring your own soap and shampoo- hotel doesn't provide. At time of writing, internet connection excellent. 24 hour bar/cafe and ground floor are fun but a bit overpriced. Can get noisy with all the traffic, but that's the price you pay to be in the heart of things and look out in the morning to ornate, turreted buildings.

Room Tip: If the traffic is going to bother you, ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danubegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
6
20
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santorini, Grecia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I spent four nights at Banat Hotel and, as everybody says, the location, is excellent. My stay was pleasant, the room spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. WiFi good, the bathroom had been recently renovated and it was clean.
I read some negative comments about this hotel. I just say that for such a good price, you can't expect the standard of The Intercontinental! Banat building is old and the wooden floors a bit creaky, but it is a two stars hotels and it has all the charm of the past, therefore if you are not too pretentious and fuzzy and you wish to economize some money, you should stay there.
The main negative thing, for me that I am a very experienced traveller, was the lack of kindness from the staff. The only man I saw there, was kind and spoke a few languages, of the three women, one was always busy with her private calls that you wouldn't dare to disturb her, the other was a non-entity, with less than a basic knowledge of English and only the third one, was normally kind. Even if I they are bored of their job, I still think that a smile, from time to time, wouldn't be too much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great location - A stones throw away from the University Metro stop and about 10-15 minutes walk away from the old town.

The hotel is very dated, but that said, it's incredibly good value given the location. Provides a very adequate breakfast thrown in (try the option with the fried eggs - they were ridiculously free range and tasty). Reception staff were very friendly in my limited dealings with them.

If you like quirky things in hotels then this is one for you - the lift is ancient and just about fits two people in. It's the type of thing you only see in old movies these days, I loved it!

I booked a double room and it even comes with a separate lounge seating area.

Only issues I would take with the accommodation are the fact that the water doesn't run clear (presumably because the dated plumbing system) and the hotel does smell of stale smoke (I even had ash trays in my .non smoking' room). That said, the whole country smokes like troopers and there are no restrictions on smoking in public places (as the smell of your clothes will confirm after a night out). The room wasn't overly clean in the dusty sense of the word, but I suspect that had something to do with the ridiculous amount of traffic in the city.

There is a lot of noise from the traffic and they are over fond of tooting their horns to add to the fact they drive like lunatics. I travel with ear plugs anyway but would say they are a must for this place if you are a light sleeper.

There is a really cool little bar which is part of the hotel, but separated (IE: You have to walk outside to enter it). Very popular with the locals of varying ages and the drinks are reasonably priced - (at least the beer was) 7RON for a 500ml draught. If you like the unfitered/white beer then try the pump on the far left. Think it was 8RON and excellent. As I visited in winter all the windows and doors were closed and it was an extremely smokey atmosphere. There is seating outside that looks out onto the busy main road.

Would stay again personally, but we are so spoilt these days with the characterless carbon copy hotel chains that I could understand why some might not find a hotel like this to their tastes.

Room Tip: Higher up the better. Away from the noise of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squidgy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We loved the location, the architectura, the huge size of the rooms, the feeling of being in some sort of a flat and above all, the price! Then why such a bad rate, you'll say? Well, the old guy at the reception was funny all the way. His colleague was professional but he tried to cheat on us. Triple cheating, that is... First, he claimed the real price I had got in the reservation was 5 euros more/day. Second, he tried to sell us for the last day (a lastminute whim of ours to stay 1 more night in Bucharest) a tiny room (like 1/2 of our previous one) for 25 euros while we had paid 30 euros/day for the real room. ;) Third, he charged me 3 euros more just for the hell of it. His way of telling me good bye, I guess.
So if you go, print your confirmation with the price so that the old guy does not snow you out. And if he serves you the same lie as to us, namely that he hasn't got his wage in ages and he'd prefer cash to credit card payment, don't take him seriously. It's his way of having that money non taxed. So yes to the hotel, no to the oldy goldy!

Room Tip: Ask to see a room and stay away of the ones with a streetview. Not so much cos of the street but bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staying at the Banat for 6 nights. Hotel is comfortable, very cheap and clean.If you look past some worn decor you will find a very positive experience.
I love this hotel, not only for its close location to the metro, buses,centre and main attractions but because its very quirky.
It has an ancient lift. Not for the faint hearted but it gets you from a to b in style. Our room or should I say rooms (there were 5+ a balcony) were big, full of character and very welcoming.sheets were changed every 3 days and towels daily.There was soap/cleaning product in the bathroom and access to hot water constantly.There were lots of windows and the flow of traffic made for good viewing.The square in front of the hotel did not slow traffic down and there was the constant noise of traffic making its way around the area.If you want a quiet area not a good choice but even with the windows open at night I got a good nights sleep.
Hotel reception were happy to help when ever needed and spoke good English.Breakfast is an experience not to be missed.the communist lady arrives and doesn't talk much and asks what you want from menu, mostly done by pointing to the 5 options.Th meal is then served with large rolls, soft cheese , apricot jam , coffee or fruit tea an butter.There is a good choice and its nice and hot.The breakfast lady appears to be a one man band,cooking, serving and cleaning.it would be nice for a smile some time but she gets the job done very efficiently.
Overall I have been more than satisfied with my stay.myself and my daughter have felt safe,well looked after and planning to come back here probably next year.
If you can put up with a few cosmetic flaws this is a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel and higher floor will be quieter.sunny at front but. lovely flow of air throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel room was large and had a different layout with long halls. The floors were creaky, extremely old furniture, and our wardrobe door barely opened. The bathroom was down one hallway and had a tub with a shower nozzle, but no shower curtain, so everything always got wet. This seems to be the case with all European bathrooms. Who designed these anyway? No shampoo or hairdryer. The TV was located outside the bedroom in a smaller opening. It was a very small screen and the remote needed new batteries. We had 2 double beds that were quite comfortable. Staff was not very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have booked 2 single rooms one week ago at this hotel. since saturday they called me 3 times to ask if I am still coming and if I want to change the rooms to an apartment. I first said no. the last call was from the manager who explained to me the because of the rain the hotel was flooded, he also made me a discount of 85 lei/ person/ night (almost 50%). when I arrived there the apartment was awful: the door was torn, the carpets were stained, the walls were dirty and broken, the windows cracked... i must think that was a spare room only for emergency... I hope so! the hotel has a very small free parking in front (5-6 cars), but is not guarded. it is close to the old town (30 minutes walk, or 5 min drive). the breakfast is by the menu and quite good (3 choises of dishes). on the ground floor there is a nice bar with a terrace open till (1 or 2 am). I think that for it's price the hotel is good, but I expected something else

Room Tip: don't accept apartament 302!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Armonia Hotel
Armonia Hotel
#88 of 172 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dacia
Hotel Dacia
#104 of 172 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tania Hotel
Tania Hotel
#64 of 172 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bucharest Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Agentia H Accommodation
Agentia H Accommodation
#73 of 172 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
#105 of 172 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banat

Property: Banat
Address: Piata Rosetti 5, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Banat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Banat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banat Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing