We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not goog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Ranked #14 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not goog”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

if you go with dog, it is very, very expensive if you compare with similar hotels in other countries as Germany, Italy, Spain or Portugal.
the personal in this hotel is not very friendly, not very polite

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    639
    146
    44
    17
See reviews for
189
275
153
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 day seminar that was based in the hotel. I experienced very good levels of customer service from the reception desk staff. There was a good selection of food for breakfast and the buffet lunch (for booked meetings being held at the hotel) was appetising.

The hotel is very central in Bucharest. You can get the number 783 bus (45mins journey) from the main airport to the University on Bulevardul Regina Elisabeta and walk up Calea Victoiei road (10 mins walk) to the hotel from the bus stop.

Was taken aback by the fact people can still smoke in parts of the hotel (mainly the outside terraces in the business/ meetings area) but still!

Didn't get to explore Bucharest so can't recommend any shops, restaurants or bars this time, but from what I can see the hotel is a little oasis in the middle of a progressive city with lots of traffic!

Good location, comfortable and convenient hotel.

Keep your eye on your bag in public and on the buses, as there are too many hang - arounders and I felt 'watched' as a foreigner. Wouldn't go back to Romania on my own accord - unless my work sends me there....again..!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s location in the heart of the city.
It is a pleasure to see that you liked our varied breakfast buffet & lunch buffet from Teatro restaurant and that our Front Office team provided you quality service, showing care and attention.

Thank you once again for recommending Novotel Bucarest City Centre to all travelers and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Novotel Bucharest a number of times over the years and have always been impressed. The rooms are clean and the staff always very courteous.

Breakfast is included in the price and I'd give it 3.5 out of 5. Not bad, but not really good either. Gets the job done but you don't really want to go back for seconds.

The bar area is quiet and good for business meetings. Bar staff are always attentive and happy to serve.

Never had a bad experience there, which is why I go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BarfBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty towards Novotel Bucarest City Centre and for taking the time to share your positive comments with the Tripadvisor travelers.

Exceeding our guests’ expectations is what we strive for and we are therefore extremely glad to hear that you had a great experience in Novotel Bucarest City Centre.
I will definitely share your compliments with our team, who was able to provide you high quality services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you can choose a hotel for business do not go anywhere else. This is far the best hotel in Bucharest downtown. I tried so many, so this is not just an opinion but empirically underlied.
Room: clean, silent, spacious enough, working aircon which is not very loud.
Practical equipments: water boiler for coffee and tea, good minibar, pen, pencil, notebook, small sewing kit, shoe cleaning kit.
Bath: good and well working shower, nice modern look, it is feeling clean and really clean (sometimes in other hotels I have a feeling that the bathroom is dirty), separate toilet.
TV: well working, rich channel choice in various languages. Important: several real sport channels - including champions league and international football games.
Catering: excellent rich breakfast. For dinner it is a little boring and expensive.
Gym and pool also available. It is in the city center.

Room Tip: the upper rooms are slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your positive comments with the TripAdivisor travelers.

I am delighted to read that we managed to meet your entire expectations and that you enjoyed Novotel Bucarest City Centre so much.

Thank you once again for recommending Novotel Bucarest City Centre to all travelers and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is located very close to the Old City, where you'll find lots of restaurants and bars, especially Caru' cu Bere, which was a favorite during our stay.
The rooms was, as they usually are on Novotel hotels, clean and spacious with all the amenities you'd expect. We had a room facing the street left of the building (if you stand in front of it). The only problem during the stay was the stray dogs barking during the night on the street below or room. But that can't be blamed on the hotel.

The breakfast was great, a lot of different dishes to choose from. The breakfast was quite busy during work days, but nearly empty during the weekend.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your comments with the Tripadvisor community. Indeed our guests’ feedback is definitely invaluable in order to always strive to improve our overall quality service.

I am glad to see that you took advantage of the hotel’s great location. Novotel Bucarest City Centre is ideally located in the heart of the city, just a few minutes walk from the main attractions of the city such as Lipscani area (the Old Town), Cismigiu Garden, the National Art Museum and many more. The hotel is built on the exact place where the Romanian National Theatre used to stand and its building reflects, through its complex architectural design, a sequential passage from past into present.
Furthermore, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and our varied breakfast buffet.

Looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back in a soon future.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1,138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 766 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I choose Novotel frequently because of their two children free policy. Unlike many others across Europe this one is in the very center, in the historic Calea Victorei street. Almost all Bucharest highlights (unfortunately there are not many) are within a walking distance. That's about the perfect location.
The hotel staff is very friendly and informative. I would personally like to state out Mr. Christian from the front desk with his patient information and tips what to do, see, ....
The rooms are standard Novotel like in any other, meaning enough space, even with unfolded sofa bed, coffee maker, mini bar, quality bathroom,...
The breakfast is great, on the upper side of the same chain in another countries.
Pool and relax area are pretty small, but enough for relaxing. Pool water warm and very pleasant. The only objective on this is the working time until 6 PM on Easter holidays.
All in all great recommendation for visiting Romania capital.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel for your recent stays in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your nice feedback with the TripAdvisor travelers.

We are delighted that you found our property so convenient and that you value all our efforts done to make your stay enjoyable. I am glad to see that you took advantage of the hotel’s great location in the heart if the city, just a few minutes walk from the main city’s attractions and that you had a great experience with us. I will definitely share your compliments with our team as well as with Cristian, who were able to provide you high quality services

Thank you once again for recommending Novotel Bucarest City Centre to all travelers and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Every Novotel I have stayed at is exactly the same as the last so there isn't much to write except that we had supposedly booked the higher end rooms but there was nothing different about them-we did have access to the lounge which is just a tiny little room and nothing to get excited about . The fact that you only get two bottles of water complimentary annoys me because we paid quite a price for those rooms and it is the least one can expect.

The other thing I don't get is why is there a bath tub and a TINY shower area where if you are above 5'5" you struggle while having a bath? It's such a tight squeeze and if your bathroom is not nice in a hotel,then the whole trip seems ruined! But again , this is a novotel issue and not only specific to this one in Bucharest.

The breakfast was quite nice and fresh. The location of the hotel is pretty ideal as it is well located near the centre of town where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.

I didn't make the bookings but I can't help but wonder if there might have been a more interesting hotel somewhere near by because despite the fact that it was well located and everything, it was a bit dry. Perfect for business travellers, I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed Novotel's central location, very close to the old town and the main attractions in the city and our varied breakfast buffet.

I am sorry to hear that you have been dissapointed with our VIP lounge. Your feedback is valuable to us and please rest assured that I already passed your comments to the top management for their perusal.
Kindly note that executive room benefits are: a new high and ergonomic bedding solution, espresso machine, BOSE docking station, a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival, executive bathroom amenities, daily news in an international language.

Thank you once again for your feedback and looking foreward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 172 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.4 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#10 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bucarest City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bucarest City Centre

Property: Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Address: Calea Victoriei 37B | Sector 1, Bucharest 010061, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#20 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bucarest City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Bucarest City Centre is your perfect choice either for a business trip, a short break or a holiday downtown. Ideally located in the heart of the city, the 4 star hotel offers not only an exceptional positioning but also a unique blend of classical architecture and modern, functional design. Enjoy our restaurant, bar and summer terraces and unwind in the Wellness Centre. Free Wi-Fi internet, 5 fully equipped meeting rooms, underground parking. Hotel highlights: Our unbeatable location is just a few steps away from Lipscani Old Town,National Art Museum, Romanian Athenaeum, Cismigiu Garden and many others. Above all, our friendly and well trained team pays special attention to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bucarest City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bucarest City Centre Hotel Bucharest
Novotel Bucharest
Bucharest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing