We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Acre, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location,the hotel looks good breakfast fresh and rich .the rooms are clean and big but you can not open the windows ,the staff is helpful there is free wifi but in our room it was not available all the time ,the swimming pool is tinny ,i had access to executive services which should be improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to see that you took advantage of the hotel’s great location in the heart if the city, just a few minutes’ walk from the main attractions and from the public transportation stations. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your modern, functional and well-equipped room and that our team was showing care and attention.
I am very sorry to hear that you encountered some problems with the WI-FI in your room. Please rest assured that I will forward your feedback to our IT Manager to make sure that proper measures will be taken to solve this issue.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a soon future.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    664
    150
    46
    17
See reviews for
201
291
156
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast did not disappoint. The rooms were comfortable, however there was no bathrobe or slippers in the room. However, when I requested one from reception it arrived within minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC18Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor travelers.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed Novotel’s central location, very close to the main attractions of the city, our varied breakfast buffet and and that our staff was showing care and attention.
In regards to your comment about the room amenities, please be informed that they follow the Novotel international brand standards and the amenities vary from one room type to another.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location with easy access to many places of interest in the city. A new building with a very nice lobby. The room itself was comfortably furnished with a decent view. The total failure was in the design of the sanitary facilities. The WC was in a room of its own with a toilet seat and nothing else. To wash one's hands the guest needs to leave that room, opening the door turn around twice to enter the bathroom through an awkward swinging door that would be in his/her way if pulled outwards or bumping anyone else standing inside if pushed inwards.

Although in many houses in Europe the wc is like that, a personal choice is made by the owner. Forcing this situation on a hotel guest is not acceptable. What is odd here is that the wc has enough room for a reasonable sized sink, and there should be no problem with plumbing since the wall on that side is shared on the other side with the shower! Why is there no sink to wash one's hand totally escapes me.

The installations in the bathroom itself were modern but poorly placed. The basin was wide and deep with the water coming out of the faucet from a higher level which could lead for splashing. There is a bath tub to the left with no curtains or doors so splashing is again a possibility. Where splashing was guaranteed; however, was the shower on the right. Again we have a modern door and shower but awkward to enter due to space limitation. Once inside; however, one has to be extremely careful adjusting the gasket to the wall and bringing the door inside to the extent possible and all that is only to minimize the splashing outside. Due to the poor design and construction of the shower door, water will be flowing out no matter what.

The ventillation system was suitable for the weather and easily switche on/off and temperature also adjusted.

The swimming pool is a a bit small for such a hotel but is usable if no one else was around. Probably another couple there would be close to the maximum capacity. There is a water jet in the middle of this pool, which was ok but for my height and taking the depth of the pool in consideration it was not able to reach all areas on my back (there is an adjustement lever but did not seem to work)

The steam room was very nice and the temperature/humidity just right. There was a funny smell there which may have been an intentionally added scent which unfortunately was not appealing

The good showers in the spa saved us from using the awkward shower in the room the next morning. ?Of course one may not always wish to start the day in the spa.

The lobby/bar were nice and had interesting furnishing.

In spite of all the above I would have been inclined to give this hotel a good rating due to location and due to comfort of the bed/matress. I dropped this to average because of the breakfast as explained next.

The room itself and the quality of food was good but not very good. The selection of cheeses and cold cuts were of very good quality. There was only one coffee machine and a rather long queu to get your turn. The waitress noticed me going back after my second attempt and kindly brought me what I wanted without having to stand in line for a long time.

There is an outside terrace, which is partly covered in case of weather. The reason we did not eat outside was that the terrace view was of a parking lot, building and a street. The view from higher floors (executive floors) must be amazing as ours was very good on the lower 7th floor. It is a shame that the breakfast room was not on the roof!

As usual in Romania the staff in all locations were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again but for sure would ask in advance a room with a proper bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habjouqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed Novotel's central location, very close to the old town and the main attractions in the city and that our team was showing care and attention.

I am sorry to hear that you have been dissapointed with our breakfast. Your feedback is very valuable to us and please rest assured that I already passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for his perusal.

I regret that your room and bathroom did not meet your expections, however allow me to inform you that they follow Novotel`s international standards.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we really hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is nice. Rooms are clean and useful. Staff also kind and helpfull. It is perfect for business trips. Economic, comfortable, clean, usefull. It will match with your expections if you just need an economic and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irresistibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay in our hotel with the Tripadvisor community.

Exceeding our guests’ expectations is what we strive for and we are therefore extremely glad to read that you had a great experience in Novotel Bucarest City Centre.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we really hope to welcome you back to Novotel Bucarest City Centre in the near future.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was only here for a short time, as the Marriott I was supposed to be staying in for a conference did not have enough rooms. I am very pleased I got to spend time at this hotel. It is attractive, close to the historic city, and a great base from which to explore. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your positive comments with the TripAdivisor travelers.

I am delighted to read that we managed to meet your entire expectations and that you enjoyed Novotel Bucarest City Centre so much.

Thank you once again for recommending Novotel Bucarest City Centre to all travelers and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was on my own in Bucharest for a short break and needed a hotel close to Tourist attractions and centrally based, this hotel was perfect for my needs.
If you've stayed in a Novotel before you will know what to expect, rooms was exactly what I needed, fast free WiFi, quiet comofrtable room - there was a party in the restaurant on my last night but never heard a sound from it, mini bar and the usual tea and coffee etc. Ideally based for walking to the old town which was across the road or to some of the close by attractions.
The hotel is based on Calea Victoriei (apparently the road used to be made of wood) and on this road if you walk in one direction is revolution square is where the protests were held and now where some museums are and if you walk in the other direction there are a couple of other attractions, a main museum and you eventually get to the river and I would say in 30mins you get to the Parliament building, worth seeing just for its size! This road is also the route of the red tour bus which is worth it to help get your bearings as its a big busy city.

Hotel food was good, a decent selection which is the same in the bar or restaurant. Didn't try room service but looked a good menu is you go for that sort of thing. Cash machine in the hotel which is very useful and the staff were very friendly, helpful and all spoke English. I also took the shuttle organised by the hotel which was good value, nice cars, and reliable good driver.

2 things to note which are not related to the hotel - I have travelled quite a bit and Bucharest has to have the busiest roads other than Moscow I've seen, everyone seems to own a car, and secondly be aware of beggars, I was followed by one who was waiting for tourist near the hotel, only saw the once but its a bit off putting and will only go away if you shout at them. I suspect in a group your not bothered by them, but be aware.

Overall a good stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

I am glad to see that you took advantage of the hotel’s great location in the heart if the city, just a few minutes’ walk from the main attractions and that you enjoyed our team’s professional and friendly attitude.

Thank you once again for recommending Novotel Bucarest City Centre to all travelers and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I checked into this hotel as part of a group tour and was pleasantly surprised with the quality! The check-in staff were efficient with setting up rooms for everyone and even switched some roommates around when requested.

The room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Breakfast was probably my favourite part of staying there! The selection and quality of food was fantastic!

My overall stay at the Novotel was superb and I highly recommend travelers stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_ashtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiu_Bianca, Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator at Novotel Bucarest City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing again Novotel during your recent stay in Bucharest and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room, our various breakfast, as well as our team’s professional attitude. Exceeding our guests’ expectations is what we strive for and we are therefore extremely pleased that you had a great experience in Novotel Bucarest City Centre.

Thank you once again for your nice comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Respectfully,

Bianca Matiu
Executive Office Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
881 reviews
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bucarest City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bucarest City Centre

Property: Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Address: Calea Victoriei 37B | Sector 1, Bucharest 010061, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#20 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bucarest City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Bucarest City Centre is your perfect choice either for a business trip, a short break or a holiday downtown. Ideally located in the heart of the city, the 4 star hotel offers not only an exceptional positioning but also a unique blend of classical architecture and modern, functional design. Enjoy our restaurant, bar and summer terraces and unwind in the Wellness Centre. Free Wi-Fi internet, 5 fully equipped meeting rooms, underground parking. Hotel highlights: Our unbeatable location is just a few steps away from Lipscani Old Town,National Art Museum, Romanian Athenaeum, Cismigiu Garden and many others. Above all, our friendly and well trained team pays special attention to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bucarest City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bucarest City Centre Hotel Bucharest
Novotel Bucharest
Bucharest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing