We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Bad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augusta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkview Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Augusta B&B and Inns
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife & I stayed overnight at the Parkview based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, and we were very surprised by what we found. The carpet in our room (the Derby) was VERY stained. I found a large empty bottle of gin, an empty wine bottle, and a Kotex wrapper under one of the beds!! One of the towels we were given for the bathroom was literally tattered and ripped. Every corner of the room had cob webs. The T.V. was one of the old ones with the VHS player in it (the VHS didn't work). The place needs a good cleaning & updated amenities. The only reason I am giving the Parkview 2 stars is because the breakfast was good & our waiter (Joseph) was very attentive. I did notice however that a table of 5 in the dining room all got their food at staggering times, so that the first person got their food and was done eating before the last person got their meal - - There are too many good B&B's nearby to waste your money on a poorly run Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just moved to the area and wanted a special night out with our daughter and her boyfriend. We took the Augusta ferry from the Ohio side and enjoyed a really nice dinner in this quaint inn. Joe, the waiter, was very attentive. Two gentlemen were providing dinner music and were very nice to listen to.
The buffet dinner was $13.95 and included drink and dessert. (No alcoholic beverages). We had several entrees including beef roast (very tender), pork roast (very tasty), fried fish (good flavor, but a little hard), fried chicken tenders (mine wasn't completely cooked). Sweet potato slices, really good scalloped corn, green beans, and real mashed potatoes. Salad bar included two types of lettuce, lots of different dressings (but no labels so we didn't know what was what), and a few add-ins like cheese and beets. Three soups were available; potato, chili and chicken noodle. The potato soup was good but could have used a few more potatoes in it.
Homemade bread was brought to the table. Dessert has a dozen different choices at least. We had blackberry pie and ice cream, key lime pie, cookies & cream brownie sundae and coconut cream pie. We were told the apple pie is awesome, but it was gone.
The dinner buffet is only available from 5:30-8pm during the week. We had to leave by 7:30 to catch the ferry back to Ohio or we would have stayed for coffee and listened to the music.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayrshirefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
698 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We don't stay at the bed and breakfast but instead we eat the Buffett there and it is very tasty and I love the staff they really do have a sense of humor and they have good icecream there and I coming here and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Ky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I discovered this place while on a Pittsburgh-Louisville Ohio River trip on my boat in 2010. The lock eight miles downstream from Augusta had one chamber out of service and we were looking at a 4-hour delay to get through. It was late afternoon so we went back up river to Augusta to search for a place to spend the night. The Parkview is just a couple blocks from the very nice Augusta riverfront and they had a room for us.

Phil and Jenny manage the place and they and their staff do great job. The rooms are unique and the food is very good. Augusta has a several little shops and places to eat. We have been back by boat on two other occasions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I treat myself to a trip along the Ohio river and take the ferry across the Ohio river to a wonderful town of Augusta, Kentucky! This was and is sometimes the home to to clooney's and Miss America,Miss Heather French! the town has a good selection of shoppe and stores to wander in and out of and good food to dine on! We were lucky to find a treasure like the Parkview Inn! the owners Jenny And Phil greet you with a smile and a warm country welcome! We stayed two nights instead of one just because we felt at home and the rooms are so well decorated that we just had to make a weekend of it! You won't be disappointed at the prices either. they believe in a fair price for a great room,each room has its own theme and the cleanest B&B I've been in a long time! As the country folk there say" it's so good it makes your tongue want to slap your brains out! I can't say enough great things about this place! thank you again Jenny and Phil!

Room Tip: Each room has its own theme,the best thing is to visit and pick one that makes it special for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This place is great! We were looking for something different to do and this was it! The Inn is really nice and old fashioned. We met the owners and they were really nice people. Breakfast is included with your room. The home cooking was delicious and the hospitality was amazing. We will definately go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
506 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were passing through Augusta and noticed there was some kind of street fair going on so we stopped. The fair was pretty small (we were at one here a few years ago that was bustling!) and the food options were standard. We noticed the Parkview was open for lunch so we went in. They serve lunch buffet-style. You can get just soup & salad for $5.95 or the full meal for $8.95. Drinks and desserts are extra. The buffet is set up on two tables - soup & salad on one side in serving bowls, the main meal on the other side in disposable aluminum containers. The salad was nothing special - just some lettuce in one bowl with some cut up add-ins in separate bowls. There was also some cole slaw (not bad) and a chicken/broccoli salad which my companion rated high. There were two soups and chili. The chili was pretty thin and looked like it might be Cincinnati-style so I passed. I tried the bean and sausage soup - it was pretty good. On the other side the options were burger patties for sliders (although the patties were regular sized and buns were slider size - weird), beef in a gravy, bbq pork (just OK, nothing special), chicken tenders, green beans, baked beans (not bad), french fries, and corn pudding (very good). Our waiter was very professional and attentive, bringing some warm, fresh bread to go with our meal. The decor is Southern country with some jarring effects - floral wreaths around the windows with white Christmas lights, colored kerchiefs in the middle of the table, and what I can only describe as barbershop gospel music playing in the background. The room we were in overlooked a very pretty side yard. We didn't have dessert but from what I saw they looked delicious. Overall, I'd recommend Parkview for lunch if you're in the mood to relax while having lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parkview Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Country Inn

Property: Parkview Country Inn
Address: 103 W 2nd St, Augusta, KY 41002-1003
Region: United States > Kentucky > Augusta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Augusta
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing