We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - unmatched location, beautifully refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

As my title says - perfect location, classic exterior/modern interior, very friendly and helpful staff; if this is what you expect, this is a hotel to choose! It's not your typical Hyatt, Hilton, Westin, W stereotype - this is a boutique hotel with the character. I am positive I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbobmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

I just returned from business trip and stayed for the first time at the Excelsior. Unlike the many other hotels in the centre which are rated with 4 Stars and are completely run down, the Excelsior kept what it promised and really gives value for money. I especially like the breakfast which has a nice local touch. Location can't be better and rooms are all newly refurbished. Can only recommend and I will stay here form now onwards. Milica and Marko from Reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanshase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I've been back to Belgrade after 10 years, staying at same hotel, Excelsior. And I was very suprised. It is now excellent hotel, recently renovated. Staf is helpfull and polity, rooms clean and tidy, new refurbished! And location is excellent, it is city center, everywhere you can walk. I will keep comeing back to Excelsior.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Arriving to Belgrade without a reservation we tried to get a room at the Royal which was completely full. The nice concierge recommended us to try at the Excelsior instead. We found the location good and the staff helpful. To book a room with dinner was cheaper than without (never understood why) so we took the dinner...But actually, we couldn´t finish it.
The room was ok but not moore, the bathroom smelled of mould, and I stumbled into the room as there was a pit in the floor under the carpet..

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasselbladskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Budget accommodation hasn't quite arrived in Belgrade yet, so when faced with the prospect of an overnight stay between Hungary and BiH, it seemed we were caught between paying a couple of hundred bucks for a regular hotel room or paying a more reasonable rate for a budget stay. As we were only in Serbia for a night, we figured we could deal with whatever the capital had to throw at us, so we apprehensively booked the Excelsior, paying around $130AUD for the night.

How wrong we were. The foyer of the hotel is the most well kept area, and it goes downhill rapidly as you climb the faded staircase and single file into the tiny old lift. We were staying on the third floor, and we initially shrugged off the dirty carpet and stains on the walls of the hallway, figuring that the hotel could be forgiven for being a little run down - after all, we were paying about half of what we would be up for staying at a major chain. Our attitude did a 180 when we opened the door to our room. Words cannot adequately describe the horror lurking behind the door, so for only the second time in many years of travelling, I've had to resort to photographs to sum up the experience.

It was 9pm and raining on a Monday night when we arrived in Belgrade, so checking out and finding somewhere else in a city that we'd never visited before, in a hotel room with no internet access, was a near impossibility. Instead, we resorted to going out and eating dinner over a bottle of wine, several beers and some post-dinner schnapps (an attempt to dull the disgust we experienced on our imminent return to the room).

We noticed the half-clad woman from Lexx on the neon sign above the hotel entrance, and thought we might drop in for a laughable night-cap - but when we got to the first floor we noticed the video camera and keypad entry to the bar door. We turned around and came face to face with the tasteful black vinyl studded doors around the lift area - either these rooms have had a makeover compared to the rest of the hotel, or they're "special" rooms for the "special" ladies hanging around the area.

We went back to the third floor, and thankfully, we had some sleeping bag silks in our bags, so were able to protect ourselves from the splattered 1970s chenille bedspread. The carpet was another matter entirely, so we wore thick socks between our bed and the bathroom, which was a delight unto itself. Needless to say, combined with the noise coming from downstairs, we didn't sleep well.

The breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning was OK, except that the suit-clad waiter didn't give us menus and just said "you want eggs and coffee?" to us when we sat down - we later discovered we could've had a choice from a set selection; but it was included in the room rate, so we couldn't complain too much. The receptionist allowed us to store our bags until we were leaving in the evening, and called us a taxi to the airport when we picked them up, which was nice of her. The hotel was centrally located (five minutes walk from the main city area). But it didn't make up for the rest of the Excelsior experience.

Perhaps the only recommendation I could give for travellers thinking of staying at the Excelsior is that if you're blind, deaf and missing your sense of smell plus lacking funds, perhaps you'll find it OK. Other than that, give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Hutchcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Stay away from this hotel.This hotel is above something like a dance club and right outside the hotel there is a big sign that dispays a semi-naked women.So you are not sure if you are entering a hotel or a strip club.The man in the reception is something more than rude.The rooms are filthy and so are the toilets . The whole environment gives te impression that this is not a safe place to stay.Better sleap in your car.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leonidasmarkonikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

this hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed in. the lobby looks alright, it is in walking distance to the trainstation but the rest is disgusting. the rooms must not have been cleaned since years, the bathroom is stinky and wet, the furniture old and sticky. there is a "nightclub" next door which is quite loud, the tablecloth has holes, the coffee is not made for drinking. do yourself a favour and do not go there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
2  Thank schiedsgagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
0.6 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#7 of 88 in Belgrade
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#10 of 88 in Belgrade
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 88 in Belgrade
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Life Design Hotel
Life Design Hotel
#32 of 88 in Belgrade
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Belgrade Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Belgrade Excelsior

Address: Kneza Milosha 5, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Belgrade
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belgrade
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Belgrade Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre just opposite the city hall and parliament building. Surrounded by the Pionirski and Tasmajdan parks, it is within a short walking distance from the main city squares, all major embassies, theaters, old bohemian quarter Skadarlija, Knez Mihailova Street, Kalemegdan fortress, renowned restaurants and clubs. The hotel has 73 smartly furnished rooms and suites, cozy and comfortable restaurant and lobby bar, and a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Belgrade Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing