We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hostel”
Review of Madness Hostel

Madness Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madness Hostel
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality Hostel”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

There's only one place to start at for reviewing this hostel and that's with Steve (Srdjan if you prefer) he's the owner of this hostel and what a job he does. As soon as you arrive he makes you feel right at home; he shows you around, gives you keys, bedding, towels and something else, ah yes shots of raki mmmm. Nothing says welcome to Belgrade and Hostel Madness than 9am shots of paint thinner. He made our entire trip and because of him we went back a second time. Summing up he's awesome fun and we had a great time and the location is fantastic and the hostel is great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonAbdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Madness Hostel is a very unique hostel. I stayed in the shared rooms. The space is fairly tight space, and there are 8 people to a room. This means it can get very loud late at night when people come in late after partying(it wasn't too bad though). The location is amazing. The hostel is right in the center of Belgrade so most places are walking distance. Also owner is one of the nicest people I have ever met, and goes above and beyond to help guests.

Overall, I had an amazing time and have recommended Madness Hostel to all my friends. The only people who shouldn't go (unless they get the private apartment) are people/groups who want to stick to themselves, and families.

Room Tip: If you want to be left alone get the private apartment. If you want to be in with other travelers g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here two nights and really enjoyed it. The man that owns the hostel really made our stay here, he was a great host and a pleasure to talk to aswell. The rooms are okay but the location is excellent. The owner made us dinner on my last night and it was the best dinner I ate during all of my travels. There is only two small things that caused an annoyance and that was we were never told how to use the key and they expected us to know and the lady who works there had to let us in and was quite confrontational despite not showing us as they are quite tricky if you have never used from that. I feel bad saying this due to the fact that the man was do lovely but it did make me feel a little awkward.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable but I after one night there I moved to El Diablo for the next three night. Madness was very dirty and the beds were so old and the springs were very uncomfortable, it's also more expensive. I feel bad giving a negative review to nice people but it really needs a make over and shower could do with a clean and a fix

Room Tip: One at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hostel was very noisy, people got in at 4 o clock at night and were talking on the balcony just outside the room, smoking just outside the room with the doors open, dirty bathroom and messy common area's. Staff friendly, got a meal incl in the price. If you're looking for a partyhostel this is the place to be, otherwise go elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoukfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinkovci, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

First of all this hostel has a great location in heart of the city. Stuff is just great, veery helpful and nice.
We took a private apartment which is not in a same building as dorms, but very close. It has beautiful view on Kalemegdan and Danube. I am highly recommending this hostel! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marija_cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
#32 of 85 in Belgrade
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Hall
Prince Hall
#43 of 85 in Belgrade
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrade Inn Garni Hotel
Belgrade Inn Garni Hotel
#19 of 85 in Belgrade
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Five Points Square City Center
0.2 mi away
Balkan Orient Express Hotel
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hotel
Envoy Hotel
#22 of 85 in Belgrade
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madness Hostel

Property: Madness Hostel
Address: Brace Jugovica 7, Belgrade 11500, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Madness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing