We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy fun in Serbia ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madness Hostel

Madness Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madness Hostel
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy fun in Serbia ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Srdjan is a great bloke, from the first minute we arrived he was giving us advice telling jokes and pouring us drinks. I travelled in a group of 6 and we were all in the one room. It was clean and we had some strange nights out in Serbia. My advice would be to go on the pub crawls that Srdjan suggests and stick with the guide.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick12245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is a small, < 20 bed hostel very close to Republic Square in the heart of Belgrade. The owner is a fun-loving, relaxed and helpful local who has lived in the city all his life, meaning he has cool stories about the city and his upbringing therein. Great location for tours of the city (the meeting point for all tours is just a 5 minute walk) and very clean! Thank you for a great 3 nights!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hostel. It is located at the very heart of the city, practically just down the road from the main city square. It is also very close to the main city attraction - the Kalemegdan fortress and you won't get a better deal. The hostel is actually a pre-WW2 apartment in an apartment building but the apartment is in excellent condition, especially the rooms. You even have a heating device in the room that you can use. Since it is an apartment, there are only 2 rooms in the hostel which means there is not much noise. Srđan, who is both the owner and the receptionist, is the nicest guy you will meet and an excellent host. Srđan is especially fond of people from ex-Yugoslavia.

This is the best quality and service you will get in a hostel. Anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Small but excellent hostel, with a great homely feel. The owner, Srdjan, is very friendly and probably one of the highlights of this hostel! Woke my dorm mate and I with fresh coffee in the morning, gave me free lunch and personally escorted me to the bus station on my leave. Many power outlets available in dorms, only one shared bathroom, nice balcony area, excellent location 10min walk to Fortress, a little noisy at night due to street below and also a little hard to find. Bigger sign please!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was the most bizarre hostel I have ever been to but great! On arrival we were offered an unlimited about of free rakija and even offered chicken wings in case we were hungry. Had a great time drinking and listening to Balkan beats with Srdjan. He even gave us a lift to the train station the next day. Such a nice man. It was really easy to meet lots of cool people there. Very good central location.

Room Tip: We took the apartment room which was very spacious and nice. I can imagine it could get quite loud i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location is amazing for this hostel, less than a minutes walk to Republic Square. ( which is the main meeting point for pretty much everything! pub crawls, guided tours etc) Also the hostel has the added advantage of Queens Pub just to the right and the tourist information office to the left.
Srdjan... What a guy! I was a bit apprehensive at first being in a country where i didn't know anyone or speak the language but within 5 minutes of knocking on the door i had keys towels bed made and a beer in hand while he taught me his 'Top 10 Things To Learn In Serbian'. Over my stay we had lots of fun chatting cooking and him explaining the history of things to me. And of course the Rakia... Somewhat akin to paint stripper but local & very strong! I will definitely be going back again soon!

Room Tip: Back room has the balcony so if you are likely to be nipping out for phonecalls, cigarettes etc it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couchsurfer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

There's only one place to start at for reviewing this hostel and that's with Steve (Srdjan if you prefer) he's the owner of this hostel and what a job he does. As soon as you arrive he makes you feel right at home; he shows you around, gives you keys, bedding, towels and something else, ah yes shots of raki mmmm. Nothing says welcome to Belgrade and Hostel Madness than 9am shots of paint thinner. He made our entire trip and because of him we went back a second time. Summing up he's awesome fun and we had a great time and the location is fantastic and the hostel is great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonAbdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#21 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hotel
Envoy Hotel
#27 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
#34 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince Hall
Prince Hall
#40 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allure Caramel Hotel by Karisma
0.2 mi away
Balkan Orient Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madness Hostel

Property: Madness Hostel
Address: Brace Jugovica 7, Belgrade 11500, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Madness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing