We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belgrade City Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for 10 days at the beggining of August and I was pleasantly surprised that what I paid for the hotel was not what I got. The hotel beyond exceeded my expectations. Starting with a speedy check in, the lady at the front desk ( sorry I forgot your name) was friendly and informative. The Server at the restaurant was amazing, he made me feel really welcome snd his english was excellent and every morning at the breakfast buffet (which was included) he would strike up a conversation with me. I booked this hotel partly because of its age (est 1914), because I love heritage buildings, but things worked fine. The air conditioning was heavenly and although the room was on the small size, it was good enough for me. The safe did not work in my room but the front desk staff offered an alternative of storing it in their safe, which actually worked better for me. The buffet had lots of options and was delicious. As, I also work for the hotel industry, it's really the small things that count. The fact that the staff got to know me throughout my staff, was really impressive as I was told that Eastern European hospitality isn't very great. I was close by to downtown, and the weather was unreal...40 degrees everyday! The location really was what got me to book, and how cute the hotel was. I would definitely stay here again, maybe for longer next time, this was one of the most beautiful cities I've ever seen. But everyone knows that a hotel can make/break your trip and the staff made mine. Thank you:)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hospitality_girl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ideally placed opposite Belgrade's international railway station there is an unexpected Teutonic efficiency about this hotel. Staff throughout the hotel are cordial without being overly welcoming, however this should not detract the fact that the hotel will meet most travellers' expectations in terms of price, room comfort and the quality of the restaurant's cuisine.

The position of the hotel ensures that a brisk walk up the hill on the road junction by the hotel will take the hotel guest directly into the heart of the city, including the main pedestrianized area; city tours are also within easy reach as is the waterfront by the rivers Sava and Danube. An additional benefit of the hotel's location is that those arriving by rail will be able to avoid having to travel in a Balkan taxi.

Most of the key staff at the hotel speak excellent English and have a working knowledge of other European languages, especially Slavic ones. The hotel's laundry service is the swiftest I have ever experienced at a fraction of the cost of most hotels further up the River Danube. Were I ever to return to Belgrade I would have no hesitation at staying at the Belgrade City Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veloview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location is very good if you are taking a train or coach. I had an annexe room which is cheaper but if you are a person with physical disabilities note there is no lift in that bit. Also, the internet was a bit weak and dropped the connection from time to time, and the walls are a bit thin which means you can hear your neighbours. The air conditioning works well though. The breakfast was adequate. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I won't go into a deep review as others have had pretty much the same opinions. Belgrade City Hotel is located just across from the central railway station, and very easy to find. From the airport the minibus A1 has a stop across the street from this hotel.

Rooms very clean as was the bath. We stayed in the main building where room price is a bit higher than the annex. As we arrived after a long overseas flight, we asked for a quiet room, and were not disappointed.

Air conditioner worked well. We did not try the television.

Included breakfast was more than adequate, with most of the same offerings you'll find in many large hotels. Breads, cereals, hot foods, fruits, pastries. We especially liked the chocolate filled croissants.

Hotel desk staff very commendable. Most helpful, friendly, and knowledgable regarding Belgrade. They were also excellent at answering my email queries.

We had an early morning flight out of Belgrade and the front desk called a taxi for us. Good price for the airport run, no cheating.

Would we stay here again? You bet!

Room Tip: If you want quiet as for a room around the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The staff is very helpful, the rooms have very good air coditioning are very well organized. The bathrooms are impeccable and the breakfast is very good. It is accros the street from the train and bus station, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We arrived to the Belgrade City Hotel early evening after 450+ miles in our car. The hotel is located right by the central railway station and close to several government buildings.
The staff was incredibly helpful. Their English was excellent and service was good. The room was clean and large and the air-conditioning was working.
The dinner at the hotel's restaurant was very, very good.
Perfect hotel for one night in a new (unknown) city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in july 2013. Had a room in the annex. Aircondition and large buffet breakfast. Bus and tram right outside of the hotel, but much of the city center was in walking distance from the hotel. Serviceminded staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#3 of 86 in Belgrade
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Mr. President
Design Hotel Mr. President
#48 of 86 in Belgrade
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#7 of 86 in Belgrade
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#26 of 86 in Belgrade
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
#24 of 86 in Belgrade
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrade City Hotel

Address: Savski Trg 7, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belgrade City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel in the heart of the Belgrade that fits your budget and your sense of style? Here's your best bet. The Belgrade City Hotel, one of the top Belgrade hotels, is within walking distance of the best shopping areas, sightseeing landmarks, transportation and corporate centre.This charming 4-star hotel is an ideal option for business and leisure stays. Also, hotel has one more building on property, Belgrade City Hotel's dependence. Enjoy the comfort of these cozy 3-star rooms with high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TV's. By choosing annex building, you can benefit from an excellent and surprisingly quiet central location. The hotel features 84 stylish fully refurbished guest rooms, with warm comfortable atmospheres and modern amenities. Breakfast is included in the price when you book a room at Belgrade City Hotel. Every morning, you can relax over a buffet of hot and cold breakfast foods, served with coffee, fresh tea and orange juice. The rooms feature all the latest amenities including free WiFi Internet access, flat-screen TVs with cable channels, electronic in-room personal safes, water heater (Kettler) with complementary tea and instant coffee, hair dryer, mini-bar... An idyllic surrounding to rest or to take your time, when you are either on business or leasure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing