We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the city by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the city by far”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I know Belgrade hotels well. This is by far the best property in the city. Located in the center, just few minutes from the pedestrian zone. Except Hyatt Regency and Crown Plaza this is the only place with class A (even A+ service). Amazing café and restaurant. The only down side is the lack of parking with only few lots.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolaAndrijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear "NikolaAndrijana"

Thank you from all of us for a great review and support, your reference to "A+ service" is wonderful compliment. I am sorry that from this review I can't see if you had any issue using our garage but please leave the keys next time to our doormen who will look after the car.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    52
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
105
25
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gordola, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great location.
High level comfort and very elegant: spacious and clean rooms with comfortable beds, quiet carpeted hallways, sense soothing spa area. Polite and friendly staff.
Delicious restaurant with a lovely outside lounge area.
It was a great location for a stay with friends, such as it would be as a couple's or family destination. Worth the price. We'd surely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oneoworldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear "Kathrin M"

A huge thank you for your lovely comments, all the team really appreciated. We are looking forward to your second visit to say welcome back. Have a safe travels in the meantime.

Best regards,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I came with our family but I will go to another hotel on our next visit to Belgrade. It does have a nice location, close to Old Town but the down side of that is the traffic noise, we were woken up before 7:00 am. Also, the hotel is dark, not only the rooms and the hallways but the elevator is darker than our closet. This is the only hotel I have ever been to where they charge you for the tea/coffee packets in your room. We also paid for a junior suite, but it was smaller than most other non-suite rooms I've stayed in. Also, to top it off, after a long hot day walking around town, we were looking forward to cooling off in the pool only to find out that it was closed. No one bothered to let us know it was closed until we all changed into our swim suites and went down to the pool then the person at the desk said that the water was too dirty for swimming and wouldn't be changed for a few days. All of this for an exorbitant charge.
I am always surprised how hotels like this get raked so high

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelena D, Public Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear "dave r",

Thank you for your detailed review.
We are very sorry that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory, however we appreciate your comments very much, as thy give us a chance to improve our service.

We care very sorry about the unfortunate situation regarding our pool.
It was an unpredictable circumstance that the pump stopped working, and we could not inform guests about it in advance. It happened on the afternoon of your stay, and has been resolved already. We are very sorry that you went through the process of changing into swimsuits, and had to change your plans. Since the pool is cleaned with active oxygen, as opposed to chlorine, when the pump does not work, the pool may not be used. It is a safety precaution, and we take safety measures very seriously.

Our Junior Suites are 55 sqm, or 592 sqft, which is completely in line with
European standards for suite sizes. The sizes are visible on our website, and should not be surprising.

The darkness of the halls and elevators is a feature much appreciated by some of our guests, and less by others. It is a design choice, and it gives a special cozy feel to the hotel, that brightly lit hallways would not provide.

Regarding the tea & coffee charges - we charge them extra, and we also provide many services free of charge, such as WiFi, international land-line calls, and spa, wellness & fitness facility use. Our rates have no hidden costs, VAT is included, and there are no additional charges or fees. We do charge all extra consumption, but we provide ta and coffee of the highest quality - Nespersso and Twining's.

Finally regarding the noise - the hotel is centrally located in Belgrade, a 1,7 million people city.
If all windows are not completely closed it is possible that the room might be noisy. We do however have noise minimizing technology, and when all windows are completely shut this problem should not occur.

We do hope that you will give us another chance when you come to Belgrade again, and thank you once again for your very useful feedback.

Sincerely,
Jelena Djakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My son and his daughter in law had their wedding party here ( unfortunately they couldn't use a river boat due to the flooding). It was excellent. The food and the service was superb, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear "54Joy"

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very glad that you took some lovely memories from Square Nine and I hope that it will be very soon when we will say welcome back, in the meantime, have a safe trips.

Best wishes,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Leopoldo, RS
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Luxury without ostentation. The hotel is excellent, service is perfect, all clean, good rooms, great atmosphere, a touch of romantic and an extraordinary restaurant. The location couldn't be better.It was a great stay for me and my wife. The only not good point is smoking cigars in the lobby and in the restaurant is allowed. In a few moments it becomes unbearable for non-smokers like us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir de Sou... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear "VladimirDeSouza",

Thank you very much for your great review but I am sorry for the inconvenience in relation to cigarettes smell which we always try to prevent, obviously we have failed on that occasion and I sincerely apologize.

I hope that you will be able to make another trip to Belgrade in not too distant future and that we will have a chance to say welcome back.

Best wishes,

Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked it on recommendation, uncertain what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! From arrival to departure, not a single detail I could complain about. Staff was swift and very friendly; I always felt as a recognized guest - which could include a natural chat with the people on shift - rather than a room number.
Rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable, free WiFi is available. Very nice lobby bar serving good drinks. Unfortunately I hadn't t time to go to the Japanese restaurant. Location is central and most places can be reached by foot.
I wish more hotels around the globe would aim for this standard! When back in Belgrade, I certainly know where to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear "aferret"

Your great review is showing exactly what we are striving to achieve for our guests and that is a feeling of "home away from home" thank you very much for recognizing that and for sharing your experience on this forum.

We do hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

With good wishes of all the team,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is actually good. The stuff was friendly and ready to help. Location is the best) our impression was a little bit spoiled when in the last day we 've ordered breakfast in room, but for some reason we've got much less than we used to get in the restaurant. But in general the hotel is worth its five stars. Visit Serbia!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna_Smolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanSudar, Guest Relations Manager at Square Nine Hotel Belgrade, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Marianna_Smolina,

Thank you for your wonderful review and excellent marks. We hope your travels will bring you back to Square Nine soon.

Best regards,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Townhouse 27
Hotel Townhouse 27
#7 of 85 in Belgrade
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#11 of 85 in Belgrade
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 85 in Belgrade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Metropol Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
#9 of 85 in Belgrade
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square Nine Hotel Belgrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square Nine Hotel Belgrade

Property: Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
Address: Studentski Trg 9, Belgrade, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Square Nine Hotel Belgrade 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Square Nine Hotel Belgrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square 9 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing