We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificently decorated church.”

St. Michael's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.84*
and up
Belgrade City Highlights Half-Day Sightseeing Walking Tour
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A magnificently decorated church.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This church is a wonderful example of a 'working' Orthodox church. The array of icons is amazing.
I was there on a Sunday and there was a 'production line' of weddings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    71
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1,498 reviews
548 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Classic Orthodox cathedral”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This cathedral is worth a quick visit. While in Serbia I found most places have tourist information mostly in Serbian Latin, quite often in Serbian Cyrillic, and occasionally in English. This cathedral didn't have English information from what I recall. There's a cool royal tomb in the cathedral, I couldn't quite figure out who it was since I can't read Serbian. A nice visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank axs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“I was moved to tears”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It feels strange writing a review about a church, but this one literally moved me to tears. I have rarely felt such an atmosphere in a religious building - the sense of spirit enveloped me as soon as I entered. In terms of decoration and ornamentation the church is nothing special compared to other Orthodox or even Catholic churches, which is perhaps why my attention was focused on the feeling. In very simple terms, this is a must see when in Belgrade.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Moving atmosphere ...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A must see while in Belgrade, this ancient church is located in the center of the city. With one of the best choirs in the city, do not miss the Sunday liturgy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank misha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Belgrade”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If there is one orthodox church you must see when visiting Belgrade head towards Saborna crkva close to the main pedestrian zones Knez Mihajlova street and fort of Kalemegdan.
You'll have the opportunity to sence the spiritual atmosphere and admire a beautiful decor as well as the garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nela1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Michael's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing