We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - horrific view from room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights whilst attending some very dear friends wedding locally. Located just off the main road, trams, buses and train station a stones throw. The hotel is very luxurious on the surface with marble, statues and many paintings but a little tired in some areas. The staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English which was a blessing given we speak no serbian at all. The room was clean and tidy but the bathroom though nice on the surface was not good. The shower enclosement leaked and only the hand held shower head worked, the ceiling rose head and jets did not - friends staying also reported the same problem so not an isolated case. The view really was the worst I have ever had in a hotel stay, very grim and disappoitning. I would have added an image but can't see where to do it on here any more. The breakfast was interesting - cant say I have ever seen garden peas, sweet corn and peanuts as part of a buffet breakfast! Had dinner once last night, not terribly impressed as found schnitzel totally inedible but to be honest the food we experienced locally on the whole wasn't good, though ridiculously huge portions! The best meal was by far during the wedding which was an amazing day and the whole reason for the visit. On the whole, good value for money given its central location, regardless of the faults.

Room Tip: We had 203 which has the awful view, try to get a room at the front even if the view is just the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexDontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Ratiu A


First of all we will use this opportunity to thank You for the review. Our aim is to provide high quality service and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel. Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.


Warm Regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor. Got really good reviews. I know Belgrade very well and decided that the location + reviews/pics was enough to convince me to try to stay here for one night. I arrived after midnight and was greeted by a receptionist who told me that there was a flood in the hotel and that I need to stay in their 'sister' hotel 200 m down the road. I simply asked why I wasn't informed about this and there was no clear answer. A porter helped with my bags but as soon as I realised a 'sister' hotel was on one of the busiest intersections in Belgrade I knew there will be no sleep that night. I also had a vague suspicion a receptionist lied to me. I was right on both counts. If you want to know more about that experience, read my next entry on Design Hotel Mr. President, Belgrade.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Sanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria1937, Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Sanja M,

Thank you for your review of our Queen’s Astoria Design Hotel.
We are grateful that you have pointed out details that need attention from our side.
We are displeased to hear that you had some difficulties changing to our sister hotel Design Hotel Mr. President.
We will for sure pass your remarks to our team and analyze the whole situation in order to improve our service.
Please contact us directly on hotel@astoria.rs and we will try our best to change your general impression regarding our hotels.

Warm Regards,



Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is beautifully decorated, but requires little maintenance (especially the bathroom). A good varied breakfast. Located five minutes from the train and bus stations.
But if your windows facing the street, then at night you will hear everything that is going on there.
Good place if you are not worried about the noise from the windows at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear OLW,


First of all let me thank you for supportive and positive comments.

We are very glad that you liked our breakfast service.

We hope to see you soon as our guest once again.


Warm Regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

the location is great if you are using public transport, the train station & the central bus station are across the road. The hotel staff were great spoke English well are were there to please, the room was a decent size and very clean but could do with a refit. the toilet didn't flush ending up fixing it myself. The breakfast was good

Room Tip: rooms were all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaspas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Jaspas0,

Thank you very much for your review.

We consider our hotel to be a jewel in the city center and it is particularly made to make your stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests make us who we are.

We would be very happy to have you as our guest soon again.

With Warm Regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front office manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a cool hotel. It's like stepping back a century or two but with all the modern conveniences. The hotel is beautifully appointed with Victorian furnishings, free international calls are a nice touch, free parking right out front, close to downtown Belgrade, great wifi connection, and a wonderful, caring staff. The rooms are large and well appointed with their unique, step back to another era, furnishings. The breakfast has many choices and the restaurant itself is a nice place to eat. We had a great three days and this would definitely be a choice for a future visit.

Room Tip: Street noise can be a problem since things get started early. The old world elevator, though intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolina G, Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Mike C,

It is our sincere pleasure to hear that you enjoyed Your time at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel. We really try hard to please You and to provide You superior accommodation, comfort and excellent service.

We hope that You will be our guest again.


Warm Regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front office manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Driving up to this hotel it didn't look like anything special, but once we entered, WOW! The interior reminded me of something from the19th Century, it was absolutely stunning, exactly as depicted in the photos which is extremely rare for a hotel. The rooms were clean and also beautifully decorated in the same style. The receptionist on duty was extremely helpful and we were allowed to park in one of the two spaces right outside the front door for the whole of our 3 night stay. The hotel is ideally located close to the main shopping streets, or for a stroll along the river bank up to the castle. On our second night we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb. We both had steaks which were cooked to perfection. The waiter was so attentive and advised on the perfect bottle of wine to accompany the meal, The only issue (a very minor one), was the noise of traffic which started very early in the morning. However, this is only to be expected in a city centre hotel and should not put anyone off staying here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Belgrade. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshlynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolina G, Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Ashlyn F,

We are very pleased to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel.
We will always give our best to exceed our guests expectations.
Feel free to contact us directly anytime for more personalized reservations on your next visit.

Welcome we are expecting you.

Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Operations Manager at
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It is a very nice hotel with an amazing design. If You want to hide from noisy streets this is real thing for You. I must say that staff is very kind and they would do everything to help You. The location is fantastic, everything so close. Rooms are very clean so please visit this hotel and You will not regret!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bixy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolina G, Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Bixy M,


Thank you very much for your review.
At the Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, we do our best to make our guest feel warm and welcome.
Our staff is our highlight point and they will always assist and solve everything necessary.
We would be more than glad to have you as our guest again soon.

Welcome we are expecting you.

Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilcek
Operations Manager at
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Mr. President
Design Hotel Mr. President
#46 of 89 in Belgrade
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
#21 of 89 in Belgrade
672 reviews
0 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#32 of 89 in Belgrade
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#10 of 89 in Belgrade
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#9 of 89 in Belgrade
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Townhouse 27
Hotel Townhouse 27
#6 of 89 in Belgrade
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Astoria Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Address: Milovana Milovanovica 1 | Stari grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range: £38 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Astoria Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Astoria Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing