We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms misleading, service questionable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moskva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Moskva
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rooms misleading, service questionable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights and was upgraded to a deluxe room. Sounds great, although the upgrade was to a spacious two story room it was dark and depressing-it faced a courtyard with frosted windows and had little to no natural light. The room included nice amenities....robes, minibar, etc but no lotion, bottled water,slippers (disappointing for an upgraded room). It also didn't have a pool but more importantly, a fitness center (isn't this mandatory for a so called 4 star hotel?) The wifi, although free, was also spotty, cut out anywhere outside the lobby and constantly prompted you to log back on. The hotel is located in a nice location right near the pedestrian walkway and normally, the room wouldn't be a big issue however, we had some questionable service encounters. One in our party cut her foot on an uneven floor they were doing construction on. After noticing her bleeding toe, they tried to tell her it was blocked off (it was the main entrance to the bar, obviously with no signage, and coincidentally enough the next day a huge blockade was put up. Hmm...) After half heartedly helping her (there was a lot of discussion in Serbian, I'm assuming concern over the legal implications) we left without an apology or offer of any kind of assistance or further help. After returning to the hotel later, the bar manager reluctantly agreed to comp us a bottle of wine, which the server begrudgingly served us. To add icing to the cake, their bar table (made of two wicker posts with glass placed, not set or held by anything, on top) slipped off and broke our wine glasses and slid everything off mid way through our bottle (we just set it down)...the server and manager both acted like it was our fault and neither came to apologize, clean up or replace anything...clearly, our time there was over (even though this was a feeble attempt at an apology.) Obviously, we will never be back and our experience is forever marred, but i hope the hotel will take this feedback to better themselves for future guests. I realize the Serbian culture is one of brash indifference, but please...you're in the hospitality industry...you cater to folks all over.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chisistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear guest,
we are definitely not happy when we hear that our respectable guest are not completely satisfied with their stay in our object.
We will for sure pass to our team your remarks and analyze the whole situation in order to improve our service in the way where it depends on human factor as you mentioned.
As you noted we did try to apologize for any inconvenience you may had,
and the best way we can resolve this matter is to invite you to be our guest in the near future,
please contact us directly on info@hotelmoskva.rs
and we will try our best to change the general impression regarding Hotel Moskva.
Thank you for understanding,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    196
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
69
183
43
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel Moskva is extraordinary, and a mist stay when in Belgrade. We loved the art nouveu design throughout, and enjoyed our room, with a great view over the square and where the Serbian Olympic committee used to meet. All facilities were superb, including the parking service. There seemed to be some doubt about our booking when we arrived, despite our email confirmation, but this was quickly sorted out. We will certainly stay again if we can get a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for noticing and pointing out architectural charm of our hotel.
Please note that we are finalizing the renovation of our hotel,
feel free to visit us soon in order to experience the new look of hotel Moskva.
We expect you with pleasure,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was really the highlight of our trip. We loved the historical element of the place and all the efforts made to provide every modern comfort. The staff were very attentive, courteous and efficient without being overbearing. We would definitely recommend this and certainly plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeauL0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear guest,

thank you, we can only say that your kind comment surely highlighted our day and made us satisfied, when our guests have such a pleasant and positive experience in our hotel.
Feel free to contact us in the near future regarding your stay,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel has old world charm and elegance. The hotel stands like a grand old lady over looking the city. Checking into our Junior Suite was a breeze and our luggage was delivered promptly to the room. Stepping into the large, beautiful decorated sitting room was a warm welcome surprise. I wasn't expecting the room to be so big. Our king bed was very comfortable.The hotel is exquisitely decorated and is centrally located to be able to walk the city and explore. The staff were kind, courteous and genuinely happy to see you. Our waiter for a late night snack where we sat outside to eat, remembered us at breakfast the next morning. Don't miss the breakfast! Pastries, eggs, fruit, anything you wanted! Loved the people, our room, and the location. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 416 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest,

it was so satisfying to read such a positive comment, it surely provides motive to be as best as we can when it comes to good service and taking care of our respectable guests.
We will pass your impression to our team, it will mean a lot to them to hear that you had such great experience.

We look forward welcoming you again in the near future,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here fore 2 nights as part of an Insight vacation tour in June 2013. We had a very tiny room on the top floor. There are 2 small slow elevators, so most of the time we ended up taking the stairs...to and from the 5th floor, quite the workout. Our room and bathroom had a slanted ceiling due to our room being on the top floor and the slanted roof (which you can see from my photos). There was one small window that you could see out of and open if you stood on the desk chair to reach it. We had a double bed. The bathroom only had a shower, no tub. The shower appeared large at first glance, but then you have the slanted ceiling to deal with, so it was actually small where you were forced to stand due to the ceiling height. There was a small closet, in room safe, and small desk also in the room.
This hotel has free wifi and it worked in our room with a strong signal.
This hotel is a 15 minute walk to the fort and a 5 minute or less walk to the pedestrian only shopping street. There is a McDonalds across the street.
There is a cash changing machine in the lobby area, but it would not accept any of our American money, same for the person behind us. We walked for about 5 minutes to find a money exchange office, which turned out to be a great exchange rate.
There is a large lobby/cake/coffee restaurant area inside and outside of the hotel where lots of people seemed to hangout throughout the day and evening.
We had a buffet dinner and breakfasts included with our tour group's stay. Both were adequate with not many choices, but nothing outstanding, but nothing terrible either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guest,

please note that we understand all your mentioned remarks, and we will surely pass it to our team, in order to make your next stay as joyful as you deserve.
Hotel Moskva has diverse type of rooms, according to its historical architectural charm,
therefore we can offer different types of accommodation according to your preferences and named budget.
Please do contact us for making direct reservations through info@hotelmoskva.rs
Looking forward to welcome you back,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in late May and in my opinion it's very over rated. While the location is good the rooms are very, very small, the lifts are slow and breakfasts are average. They have any number of 'don'ts' as if people will take any notice. Just imagine they attempt to ban anyone doing any 'washing' in the room. Best of luck with that but most travellers I know undertake minor laundry for overnight drying.

Couldn't get into the room until 2 pm because it 'was being cleaned' and suddenly at 2 pm any number of rooms became available. No convincing. Was going to stay there for 8 nights but two was certainly enough. The three star Hotel Srbija Garni down the road provided a much bigger room and much better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear guest,
please note that we value our guest's opinion even when they are not made in positive context,
also we strive to be as professional as we can be, therefore rules and regulations in written sense must be visible to our guests, that is the only way to have success, in that manner we proud ourselves by providing quality service.
We sure hope to have you back again in the hear future,
Best regards,
Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, NJ
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The ambiance of this hotel is wonderful! Not only were we thrilled when we walked into our room and saw the spiral staircase leading to the second level, but we loved having 2 bathrooms and 2 TVs. The furnishings were luxurious not only in our room but on all the landings near the elevators on each floor. And the location is the best in Belgrade. Not only can you walk to the pedestrian areas, but you can easily walk to the fortress. This old-world hotel was a highlight of our tour of the Balkans.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear guest, we absolutely love when our guest makes a slogan for our property, we could not put it better than SO ELEGANT AND FULL OF CHARM!
Thank you for sharing your kind comment,
and feel free to contact us directly whenever you visit our capital city in the near future.
We expect you with pleasure,

Best regards,
Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#12 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropol Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mint
Hotel Mint
#1 of 83 in Belgrade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#5 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Belgrade City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moskva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moskva

Property: Hotel Moskva
Address: Terazije 20, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moskva 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Moskva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moskva Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing