We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world service”
Review of Hotel Moskva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Moskva
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old world service”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went there for a wedding and could not have enjoyed it more. Upon arrival a porter jumped to get our luggage (more later). Friendly, efficient reception. Obviously an old Russian style hotel which has been well modernized with free wifi, friendly reception and service. Good size air conditioned room with good bathroom.
Have drinks or tea at the terrace along with a pastry (very old Europe) but skip the restaurant which is average.
Luggage: we came by JAT, probably the worst airline in Europe. We took it because it was direct from London and about $50 cheaper. What a mistake. Upon arrival about 40 luggage were missing. No offer of compensation and wait 24 hours for the next flight to come. This is where the Moskva hotel reception was superb with offer of assistance, toiletries etc. Called reception for laundry at about 8pm, a lady showed up within 3 minutes and explained in very good English that these would be ready at 8:00 am. And they were, at the same time as breakfast. This was repeated the following day. 24 hours later the receptionist tracked our luggage, yes they were there but would not be delivered until the next day any suggestion to place them in a taxi were turned down. The young man offered that under president Tito these things would not happen. He negotiated a round trip taxi ride at a discounted rate and called again to make sure I would be expected. Still had to wait at the arrival hall and then, yet again found about 40 people yelling for their luggage. It appears that freight is loaded first, then whatever luggage they can cram in. Avoid at all cost.
If it had not been for the gentleness and care of the hotel personnel this would have been a fiasco.
By all means do go to this hotel but avoid the national airline. I am still waiting for compensation for taxi, toiletries, make up etc.

Room Tip: Do get a room overlooking the avenue, non stop action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Mad-Frog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,
please note that we are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay as good as it could be,
considering the problem with your luggage.
We stay at disposal for our guest's needs, for solving problems, but when we successfully show it in practice, we could not be more satisfied.

Whenever you have an opportunity to visit our capital city,
please contact us for booking your room.

Thank you once again,
In hope that your next stay will be more enjoyable.

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    206
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
73
194
45
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

In July, we stayed here for one night. Five of us split two rooms. Both rooms were two-story, but the one with three people was larger and had two King beds. The rooms were very clean, and looked very elegant. The beds were very comfortable (being out late enjoying the Belgrade night life may have something to do with it too). Bathrooms were roomy and pretty.

Service at the front desk was excellent. We were met by a very friendly and smiley Biljana, who was great at answering questions and giving suggestions. She is a great ambassador for the hotel.

We had dinner at the hotel, and it was so good it lasted longer than we expected, because we ordered cocktails and wine, and just took in the atmosphere. The outside dining area was just great. I am sorry to have missed the waiter's name, but he was excellent at suggesting food and wine. Funny story, he kept asking if we wanted water with gas (sparkling water), but we quickly got it.

Breakfast was terrific. Plenty of options, like fresh fruit, pastries, crepes, cereal, etc. I really enjoyed the coffee! Latte, cappuccino, you name it.

One suggestion I have for the hotel's staff is to pay attention to families with children. During dinner, our 1 1/2 year-old, got very cranky because he was sitting in his stroller while we ate, and he couldn't see what we were doing. Not until the next morning, did we see a highchair in the restaurant that we could use. Our son enjoyed sitting at the table with us. We didn't ask for a high chair at dinner, because we had already done so at so many other places, and they did not have them. They are not very common in restaurants in Serbia.

Room Tip: if you can, get a two-story room. The one we were in, had a very nice sitting area on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,
we enjoyed reading your comment regarding your satisfaction with the atmosphere in our object.
We will take all your suggestions in consideration in order to improve our service in segments that you mention.

Feel free to contact us regarding future reservations,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Perfect location, looks and smell like Russian imperialism but I loved the hotel ( rich marble, onyx, gold and cristal). Situated right in the centrum, good personnel - good English comand- very helpful and nice. Beautiful view. If you want to drink a late bottle of wine there is a night club named Kasino right across the street.
The hotel is perfect clean and not expensive, we paid 130 euro for one duplex. Free wi-fi. Good job done by the management. I am sure that hardly can't be better. Quickly check in and out. Perfect service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: No idea to improve something. Was simply perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, General Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for pointing out our location, benefits, architectural style of our object,
but we are most proud of compliments given for the exceptional service of our staff.

We look forward welcoming you back in our hotel soon,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I really recommend this hotel. It's located in the middle of the center and close to the railway station. Our room vas a delight, we had a junior suite with a loft. The breakfast was good. They where renovating the main entrance and half of the breakfast area, a bit disappointing. They did not replace the used glasses in the room when they cleaned it, but that's my only complain, which prooves the high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guldklimpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

we are very delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time in our hotel and take this opportunity to kindly thank you for your nice comments.
We will make sure to handle all your complaints in order to make your next stay as enjoyable as you deserve.

We expect you with pleasure,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We only had one night here but enjoyed everything about it. The staff were great about looking after our luggage before check in. Everything was stylish and modern and all the furnishings were lovely. It is in a great central location and is in itself one of the landmarks of Belgrade. I was expecting 'faded glory' from much of what I had read about it, but there was nothing faded about it - just a superb modern hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear guest,
it is such a pleasure and it feels so rewarding to hear that you were completely satisfied with your recent accommodation and that we fulfilled and even topped your expectation regarding Hotel Moskva.

We sure hope to see you again in the near future,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights and was upgraded to a deluxe room. Sounds great, although the upgrade was to a spacious two story room it was dark and depressing-it faced a courtyard with frosted windows and had little to no natural light. The room included nice amenities....robes, minibar, etc but no lotion, bottled water,slippers (disappointing for an upgraded room). It also didn't have a pool but more importantly, a fitness center (isn't this mandatory for a so called 4 star hotel?) The wifi, although free, was also spotty, cut out anywhere outside the lobby and constantly prompted you to log back on. The hotel is located in a nice location right near the pedestrian walkway and normally, the room wouldn't be a big issue however, we had some questionable service encounters. One in our party cut her foot on an uneven floor they were doing construction on. After noticing her bleeding toe, they tried to tell her it was blocked off (it was the main entrance to the bar, obviously with no signage, and coincidentally enough the next day a huge blockade was put up. Hmm...) After half heartedly helping her (there was a lot of discussion in Serbian, I'm assuming concern over the legal implications) we left without an apology or offer of any kind of assistance or further help. After returning to the hotel later, the bar manager reluctantly agreed to comp us a bottle of wine, which the server begrudgingly served us. To add icing to the cake, their bar table (made of two wicker posts with glass placed, not set or held by anything, on top) slipped off and broke our wine glasses and slid everything off mid way through our bottle (we just set it down)...the server and manager both acted like it was our fault and neither came to apologize, clean up or replace anything...clearly, our time there was over (even though this was a feeble attempt at an apology.) Obviously, we will never be back and our experience is forever marred, but i hope the hotel will take this feedback to better themselves for future guests. I realize the Serbian culture is one of brash indifference, but please...you're in the hospitality industry...you cater to folks all over.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chisistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear guest,
we are definitely not happy when we hear that our respectable guest are not completely satisfied with their stay in our object.
We will for sure pass to our team your remarks and analyze the whole situation in order to improve our service in the way where it depends on human factor as you mentioned.
As you noted we did try to apologize for any inconvenience you may had,
and the best way we can resolve this matter is to invite you to be our guest in the near future,
please contact us directly on info@hotelmoskva.rs
and we will try our best to change the general impression regarding Hotel Moskva.
Thank you for understanding,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel Moskva is extraordinary, and a mist stay when in Belgrade. We loved the art nouveu design throughout, and enjoyed our room, with a great view over the square and where the Serbian Olympic committee used to meet. All facilities were superb, including the parking service. There seemed to be some doubt about our booking when we arrived, despite our email confirmation, but this was quickly sorted out. We will certainly stay again if we can get a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoskvaBeograd, Manager at Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for noticing and pointing out architectural charm of our hotel.
Please note that we are finalizing the renovation of our hotel,
feel free to visit us soon in order to experience the new look of hotel Moskva.
We expect you with pleasure,

Best regards,

Hotel Moskva Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#11 of 85 in Belgrade
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
0.5 mi away
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Belgrade City Center
0.8 mi away
Metropol Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
#8 of 85 in Belgrade
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moskva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moskva

Property: Hotel Moskva
Address: Terazije 20, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moskva 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moskva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moskva Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing