We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Union Belgrade
Ranked #82 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Location is only good side of this hotel. Hotel is old and unmaintained, so there is nothing they can do about it. In the corridors you can smell the odor of old cigarette smoke, itison on the flour looks like it is there for decade, rooms are small, bathroom looks really creepy.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkoKranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Honestly you are going to stay here for the location. Like the other reviews say it is an old hotel and the fixtures and fittings are old. But I got a good night sleep there and didn't feel ripped off. I would stay there again - and actually I loved the tacky old fashioned style. The staff are great and very friendly - and like I say I loved the location. If you are looking for the Intercontinental - this ain't it but for a small cheap hotel - its not bad at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plevi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Been there in 2009. If nothing changed than it's a poor hotel. Location is fine but nothing that spectacular (yes, I know exactly were it is). However, it is probably the best hotel's asset.
Room, furniture are old. Bathroom as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyagepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel location and its staff are the only good things about the hotel.
The location is excellent - in the city centre, close to everything, to all sightseeing in the centre, to the famous and lovely Skadarska Street, as well as to the main Bus and Railway Station.
The staff is a real asset of the hotel. Especially the receptionists were very professional, polite, always smiling and very helpful. They allowed us early check-in without any problems, gave us city maps and explained how to get around.
If it had been renovated, the hotel would be retro-looking. Now, it is only old. Ancient. Stuck somewhere in the past. Everything is ancient there - beds, mattresses (as so old, they are very uncomfortable, with holes), all furniture, bathroom... There is an old orange telephone in the room, which would better suit in an antiques shop, there is an old small TV-set, which we did not switch on, so I do not know weather it really worked. We could not lock the room-door from inside. The room had an awful smell of damp. With all these negative things, the awful room-view onto a wall of another building was the least harmful.
However, there was functioning air-conditioning in the room, good Wi-Fi signal and a mini-bar. The bed-linens and towels were clean (but visibly soooo old and washed-out).
The restaurant, in which breakfast is served, looks like restaurants from the Yugoslav films from the 80-ies, completely stuck in time, the only new thing being a brand new plasma TV on the wall. Breakfast was very good, it was not a buffet, but you get a juice, bread and spreads + you may chose from the menu of different types of omelettes and coffee/tea. Bread rolls were fresh and yummy.
Regardless of excellent location, I would not recommend this hotel. The city centre of Belgrade is full of other affordable and more modern hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have been to Union a few years prior and it has still now been renovated, this is probably the reason that prices are cheap. The rooms are still stuck in the 1980's, still dusty, with ever uncomfortable mattresses and dirty curtains (new pillows, though). What is new is the WI-FI, plus the breakfast has gotten a bit better (omelets, eggs and bacon prepared fresh to order, better variety in general, larger portions). Note: the elevator does not service the top floor, rooms with a double bed are larger and have a bath instead of a tiny shower. If you need a very central and cheap hotel that can offer a hotel's amenities (private bathroom, tv, minibar, phone in room, hot breakfast, reception open 24h and staff ready to help) and are not a fussy traveler at all, go for it.

Room Tip: The elevator does not service the top floor, rooms with a double bed are larger and have a bath inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveling_geek_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This is the first bad review that I write and I travel a lot. The hotel has 3 stars but it only deserves 1. After paying for a single room, the room was too small, the bathroom old and ugly, and the bed was the same as in student dormitories. So i payed more for a double room even if I was alone. But it was the same just a bit bigger. The hotel wasnt renovated for at least 30 years. And I mean really nothing was done . Even the blankets are so old. The breakfast is also almost like nothing.
The location is perfect and they had free parking since it was weekend.
It is ok, if you dont expect nothing. I expected a litlle bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MATEJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, everything else is so disappinting. The room was not that cheap at all for what you get, and you get: room which was not renovated since Comunist era, old furniture, old sheets, small bathroom and the worst breakfast ever.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kasina
Hotel Kasina
#78 of 86 in Belgrade
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 86 in Belgrade
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
Hotel Le Petit Piaf
#33 of 86 in Belgrade
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balkan Orient Express Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Terazije
Vila Terazije
#68 of 86 in Belgrade
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park Beograd
Hotel Park Beograd
#58 of 86 in Belgrade
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Belgrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Belgrade

Address: Kosovska 11, Belgrade, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Union Belgrade 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Union is situated in the very heart of the business and cultural center of the city in 11 Kosovska Street. It is categorized as a three-star hotel. All rooms and suits are equipped with telephones, cable television and mini bars. Besides accommodation, the hotel has a restaurant, a banquet hall, piano bar and slot machine club. The hotel also has free parking places, and 24h free internet connection. The hotel is 16 kilometers away from the "Belgrade" airport, which is approximately a 20 minutes drive on the motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Union Belgrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing