We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deathtrap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Union Belgrade
Ranked #84 of 89 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 28 November 2006

Quite simply this hotel is a deathtrap. It is in a good location but honestly you are risking your life if you stay here. The bathrooms are the worst that I have ever seen and I was deeply concerned that I would catch something from sleeping in the bed. I checked in at 2 am and checked out at 8 am - six hours too long...

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank dwmIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2006

I would suggest that this hotel is the worst ever. I arrived for a three night on 26/8 but checked out after just one night.
The hotel is very dated and desperate for renovation from its 18th century furniture and decoration.
I stayed in room 206 at the back. There was only one window that didn’t close properly and looked out onto an inner courtyard which meant I was overlooked by about a dozen other rooms. I had to have the curtain closed to maintain privacy.
There was no shower curtain in the bathroom and the fixtures and fittings are ancient.
Some of the light fittings didn’t work due to faulty electrical sockets. The bed was broken but even so the linen was clean. With the windows not closing properly and a hot night without AirCon, I was disturbed by several guests having loud sex!!!!!
I left the hotel and trawled Belgrade for better accommodation which is in a shot supply unless you want to pay the earth. I ended up at the Hotel Majestic. The hotel staff were excellent and gave me a renovated room with a balcony and minibar. The bathroom alone was the same size as the room in the Hotel Union.
BEWARE; avoid the Hotel Union like the plague!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank UKIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Budapest, Hungary
18
Reviewed 10 July 2006

I am from Hungary and travelled with my boss who was from the UK. We chose this hotel based on the price and the pictures placed on the net: looked quite ok. We were visiting Belgrade for business reasons and had to stay 2 nights only. What a shock! When we arrived the hotel literally stank of sewage which was tried to be "covered" by cheap air fresherner : even made this worse. No exaggaration. The hotel staff were ok could have been more friendly and informative. I really do not have high expectation of a hotel at 39 Euros and being Eastern European myself but the state of the rooms were disgusting. The paint from the window seals were chipping as it has not been painted in the last 20 years. bathroom was disgusting the doors were mouldy and no shower curtain. The lifts were out of order for a change. ( supposing you are elderly and have 5 suitcases)Very clever. The beds were so tiny I do not know how anyone could sleep there comfortably unless as petite as myself.The restaurant food was over-greasy and very plain without any vegetables, Breakfast is basically meat and bread. Not a slice of tomato for even decoration....The bar looked dodgy full of strange pictures hung upon the wall. We had to skip the last night and chose to go back on the overnight train to Budapest because could not bare the smell anymore...I can tell you the sleeping cabin on the train was luxurious compared to this dump... No offense. Please anyone be careful with this one!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

There is nothing special about this hotel, which is located on a relatively quiet street. The dining room and lobby have a slightly illegal look about them but our room was spacious with a decent bathroom.

Breakfast, not a buffet, was not that good, greasy eggs for instance.

Our two night stay at Hotel Union was not a memorable experience but Belgrade was interesting and the hotel was satisfactory. I didn't see any other hotels that looked better for the price of less than 70 Euros.

There was no computer available for internet. One must have his own PC, it seems. The front office staff was reasonably friendly. Serbia has its problems and we were there on the eve of Montenegro's independence vote.

Were we to return to Belgrade I would consider the Union again, if it were not in summer as I did not see any air conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

I chose the Union after reading reviews on here. It was fine, but nothing special. It's on a quiet street in a very central position, with a nice 1970s reception and ok staff. The room was smallish, warm, clean but very faded. The bathroom was a little smelly and had no shower curtain. There was a big fridge full of beer (hurrah!) and a huge new TV. Breakfast was sausage, bread, eggs and jam. Very soviet!

Worth the price, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lambtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2005

The rooms were a little hot and cramped, but the beds were comfortable, and there were televisions, telephones, and refrigerators. Most of the staff there are extremely friendly and want to help you get the best out of your trip to Belgrade. They have an internet room where you can get free internet access, and they also have a cafe, a "casino" (several slot machines), and a restaurant which serves good food.

Oh, and it's right in the center of the city! But from an interior room it's so quiet you'd never know.

19  Thank katsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2005

I was leave Hotel Union two days ago, after ten days spend in it....I don't have much words to say, everything we need, we find it on one place. I recommend it to anyone who have a plans to come to Belgrade.

Best Regards

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Dusan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kasina
Hotel Kasina
#79 of 89 in Belgrade
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mint
Hotel Mint
#1 of 89 in Belgrade
407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel Jedro
Hostel Jedro
#208 of 318 in Belgrade
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#7 of 89 in Belgrade
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Home Sweet Home
Hostel Home Sweet Home
#6 of 318 in Belgrade
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#10 of 89 in Belgrade
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Belgrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Belgrade

Address: Kosovska 11, Belgrade, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 89 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range: £29 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Union Belgrade 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Union is situated in the very heart of the business and cultural center of the city in 11 Kosovska Street. It is categorized as a three-star hotel. All rooms and suits are equipped with telephones, cable television and mini bars. Besides accommodation, the hotel has a restaurant, a banquet hall, piano bar and slot machine club. The hotel also has free parking places, and 24h free internet connection. The hotel is 16 kilometers away from the "Belgrade" airport, which is approximately a 20 minutes drive on the motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Union Belgrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing