We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Friends

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Friends
Ranked #10 of 285 Speciality Lodging in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FRIENDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The title of the hostel "Friends" describes the place perfectly, once you step through the front entrance we are all friends guests and staff included.

Samir and his family make the stay wonderful. They are knowledgeable of city sights as well as the logistics to getting there. The Jahovic family so graciously extend there advice and help so patiently. Helping us with everything from restaurant, city sights, where to party and even throwing memorable in house parties with all guests and staff. The hostel is spotless, always very clean,tidy, well airconditioned, free wifi, very cosy place to stay and always gives you that homely feeling. The location couldnt be better the hostel is in the heart of Belgrade two minutes walk from historical kalemegdan fortress and knez mihajlo street which boasts some of the trendiest shops and bars in the city. For the Jahovic family alone, its worth the stay, such a lovely bunch of people!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goran136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vodno, Karpos, Macedonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I love this hostel. Its place in the city and the hospitability of the staff are amazing, excellent rating for them. I love the rooms and how they are organized and tidy. The view from the rooms is amazing, as well. The hostel is extremely clean and fresh. The atmosphere is just amazing and relaxed. If I have the chance, I will come back and stay here for sure, I just fell in love with this place. Stay cool, greetings from Macedonia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmaris, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were staying in a bigger hostel and it was too crowded.We decided to find another one.Finally we found the hostel friends by chance but when we walked in we said that's the one we are looking.for.Excellent location excellent value frinedly and helpfull staff and owners.They have everyhing what you need.Free and fast internet,laptop,drinking water,kitchen,clean and tidy bathroom.Rooms are big enough and clean.Hostel is near the centre and kalemegdan park,you must see.We liked the belgrad and Hostel friends.We will definetly come back..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmetcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a lovely, heart warming and fresh place to stay!!! You will immediately feel at home, the atmosphere is kind, smooth and easy going. The staff is awesome, they are willing to inform you and to help you out in any way possible. The hostel is extremely clean and peaceful..an excellent place to enjoy your stay in Belgrade!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palomasunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This was the second hostel I've been in my life. But maybe I'm just lucky because Hostel Friends was a great hostel experience. Very clean and tidy. Rooms are air conditioned and the bathrooms are brand new. It's opened 24/7 so you don't have to be worried about being late. The staff is very friendly and they converse in fluent english. Position is awesome. Just a few meters from the Kalemegdan park and the old fortress. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. The next time in Belgrade I'm staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlatko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I originally stayed at a much bigger (and popular) hostel when I first arrived in Belgrade and left after 2 nights as I found it a bit too crowded.

Luckily, I found this hostel and was impressed as soon as I walked in. The place looked brand new (I believe they just opened in March of this year), very clean and modern. It's a small hostel and I felt at home right away. It's like staying at a friend's house.

It's in a great location, very close to Kalemegdan in a quiet street a couple of blocks away from the main tourist street. The rooms were quite spacious with big lockers/closets. They don't try to squeeze in as many beds as they could like some hostels do. More than enough room to move around even if the rooms are full.

They also have a very fast Internet/Wi-Fi connection, big screen LCD TV, a PC and a small netbook for the guests to use, free drinking water/coffee/tea, fully equipped bathroom.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They always offer to make you coffee in the morning and always available to answer any questions/give recommendations/etc. Had some really great times hanging out with other guests and staff here and met some really cool and interesting people.

Definitely up there in my list of favorite hostels. I normally don't stay in the same hostel for more than 3 or 4 nights, but I stayed here for 14 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcalazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice hostel to stay in Belgrade. Rooms, bath and all hostel are very clean. Beds are comfortable. Also people who works in this hostel are really nice and helpfull. Its perfect place, you will see when you go there, no worries.

Room Tip: There is also one room for only 2 people. But the bathroom is common for other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gokhanadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
7.1 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#6 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#12 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Belgrade City Center
3.6 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#7 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedonist Hostel Belgrade
Hedonist Hostel Belgrade
#1 of 285 in Belgrade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Friends

Property: Hostel Friends
Address: Cara Urosa 7 | Stari Grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 285 Speciality Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Friends came about from a wish to provide visitors of Belgrade with a great place to stay, not to mention that it’s located in the best part of town, and to become and be friends with our guests!Hostel is located in the middle of almost all the attractions in Belgrade that tourists come to see. It is surrounded with historical and cultural sites, the best restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, shopping centers and markets. A few steps away from us is the most popular street in Belgrade, Knez Mihailova. A few blocks down is a Skadarlija street with the cultural and best known restaurants in Belgrade. The view from our rooms is towards Kalemegdan park!Hostel Friends is a new, modern style inn that offers guests the most comforting stay at the lowest prices!Friendly service at our hostel will answer any questions and tend any accommodations. We will make you feel “at home” during your stay in Belgrade! We promise a great atmosphere!!Easy and fast you have transportation to any part of the Belgrade.We are surrounded by numerous buses,trams and trolleybuses. By arrangement we can provide you with transportation from – to airport which is 13km from us,two closed and secure garages just 3 km from the hostel in case you are coming by car. Hostel is divided on two floors with three types of rooms with 16 beds Panoramic view of Kalemegdan park from every room. Two fully equipped bathrooms. Living room with cable TV, DVD, computer and music device. Use Of Fully Equipped Kitchen with dining room. Reception works 24/7. Group and long stay discounts available per request. You can pay with cash and credit card. Credit cards accepted on location: Visa Visa Electron MasterCard A child sharing a bed with parents does not pay the accommodation. Local Attractions close to us: Kalemegdan fortress 50 m, National museum 400 m, Ethnographic museum 160 m, Gallery of frescoes 40 m, National theatre 600 m, Belgrade Zoo 300 m, Bohemian quarter Skadarlija 1 km, Swimming pool 25. May 700 m, Easy and fast you have Transportation to any part of Belgrade. From main TRAIN station: Take tram no. 2 which stops directly in front of the station (main entrance to station - Savska street, not exit) - there are two tram stops; wait at the one a bit further from the station. Exit on the fourth stop, in front of Kalemegdan Park. Go to a street Uzun Mirkova located 50 meters from there and immediately take the first street to the left called Cara Urosa and you will see a sign of Hostel Friends :)From main BUS station: Find the tram stop which is located in the main street (Karadjordjeva street) straight ahead from where your bus arrived. Trams 2 leads to the same stop near us. Exit on the third stop, in front of Kalemegdan Park. Go to a street Uzun Mirkova located 50 meters from there and immediately take the first street to the left called Cara Urosa and you will see a sign of Hostel Friends :)From Airport: In front of the airport there is Minibus A1 stop, and bus goes directly to Slavija square. From there you can take bus 31 or trolleys 19, 21, 22 and 29 to Student Square is also the last stop. You just go straight to the Kalemegdan, along the street Uzun Mirkova. Hostel Friends is from there located on the third corner in Cara Urosa street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Friends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing