We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the price lets you believe”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We made reservation last minute because we could find a suitable 4 star hotel for me and some business partners. I was encouraged by good ratings but a bit worried about the low price - 40 euros single, 50 euros twin.

I can confirm most of the other reviews, very good value for money, clean, simple, friendly staff. Breakfast could be a bit better, but for one or two nights it's ok.

Cannot really comment about location, because we were with car and had a certain agenda but it seemed pretty central, and with a few parking places.

For a budget solution - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Radu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

My room cost less than 40 euros a night, so I really don't complain. It had been renovated a couple of years ago with nice simple style. There were all the things you normally find in a good hotel room, the TV had lots of channels, there was always hot water in the shower, etc. What I didn't like was the smell of cigarettes, which I guess is normal in Serbia.

The breakfast buffet was abundant but not very good. There were very few vegetables and fruits, the eggs and sausages were cold (I'm not sure if the sausages had even been boiled). Lots of people were smoking in the room.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located some 500 meters from the main railway station, but to the "wrong direction". The area is relatively quiet but in the evening I couldn't find any open restaurants nearby. There are some bakeries ans small shops, anyway.

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor at the back end was quiet but I think those near the street are not so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was not to satisfied with buffet bdeakfas but staff is excellent, specially reception, they a honestly pleasant, no fake smiles like on some places

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anonymous_Kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is very central and in spite of its exterior ( looks like a soviet-style hotel from the 70s) it is very welcoming with nice rooms and splendid breakfast. I truly recommend it to travellers as well as the lovely gourgeous city of Belgrade!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UncleBrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I went to Belgrade for a short trip. The room was new furnishing and very clean. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. Very good position.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelmanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel many times during my trips to Belgrade. I've been always very pleasantly surprised to professional service .. maybe with one exception, but generally the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are newly remodelled and spacious, very clean with very comfortable beds, air conditioning, mini-bar, cable TV etc. Hotel is located near the station and walking distance to most of the city. Parking seems to be too small for the needs of a large number of visitors, sometimes to enter the hotel you have to elbow between parked on the way to the entrance cars. Unfortunately the general impression was spoiled by an unpleasant lady working on the front desk, 10 minutes before check out time she called me and told me that "you finish ", for a moment I felt like in a cheap hotel with rooms rented for hours. I expected during check out only one word from her - "sorry", but only an ironic smile was a response to my complaint. In any case, despite of the unpleasant one case, my overall impression of this hotel is very good and I recommend it to anyone who is going to visit Belgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague who had visited Belgrade before. this was my first trip to the city.

I travel a lot on business and I'm used to staying in 4* hotels run by the usual chains. I hesitated at booking a hotel that was charging the equivalent of £30 GBP per night (with breakfast) but thought I would trust my colleague and book anyway. I am very glad that I did.

I don't intend this to be a review of Belgrade as a whole, which is an interesting city with a striking history, but I will offer a bit of advice on getting into the city centre from the airport. You will be advised to book a taxi while you are still airside to avoid being ripped off. You can do that if you wish, and spend about 1,500 Dinar (15 euros), or you can catch the airport bus (No.72) which is parked immediately outside the door, departs every 20 minutes, travels to the central railway station and costs a princely 250 Dinar.

Hotel Rex is a 10 minute walk from the railway station. Don't be put off by the grey post-war architecture of New Belgrade, the older city has certainly got that lived-in look but it has much of interest to offer. The nightlife is excellent (I'm told), the restaurants are plentiful, cheap and of qood quality (cuisine tends to be unpretentious but uses plenty of fresh produce).

Hotel Rex looks like a throw-back to the 1980s in decor but the staff are extremely effcient and helpful, and the place is very clean. I booked a 'single room for single occupancy' and was pleasantly surprised to get a very spacious room with a king-size bed, flat screen TV, good Wi-Fi connection (complimentary) and a perfectly adequate shower room. The room was spotlessly clean, the mini-bar well-stocked and very cheap (less than £2 for a beer), the bed comfortable and the water hot. Elsewhere in Europe I have paid five times the price for a grubby room of inferior space and quality at a more pretentious establishment.

The hotel restaurant is open from 0600-2300 and serves a good range of food from an extensive menu. The breakfast is fine and there's a fair choice of foods. The salads are particularly good. While none of the cooking would win any Michelin stars, it is freshly cooked, using fresh ingredients, and was tasty and filling. Service was excellent and I was astonished by the polyglot waiters who seemed able to change from Serbian to English to Italian to German without breaking step. I felt rather ashamed of my poor language skills in comparison.

The only criticism I would make is that smoking is still allowed in the restaurant, but this is the case throughout Serbia so it's unfair to single the hotel out in this regard. Non-smoking bedroms are available (as mine was) and they are fine.

In conclusion: clean, comfortable, spacious accommodation with good facilities at an extremely reasonable price. i would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Book in advance (I used Octopus Travel online and paid in advance in the UK) and make your request f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TackleTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
2.7 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#8 of 87 in Belgrade
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#31 of 87 in Belgrade
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vozarev
Hotel Vozarev
#48 of 87 in Belgrade
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adresa
Hotel Adresa
#29 of 87 in Belgrade
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Argo
Hotel Argo
#17 of 87 in Belgrade
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Slavija Garni
Hotel Slavija Garni
#55 of 87 in Belgrade
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 37 Sarajevska Str., Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Belgrade
#10 Business Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range: £27 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quiet and safe neighborhood of embassies and ministries, a few steps from the Palace of the Serbian government, the 3-star Hotel Rex in Belgrade, offers guests a comfortable and functional both for business needs in the economic capital of the Balkans leisure, thanks to the renowned nightlife town, but also the wide range of theater, festivals and cultural activities. The Hotel Rex has 94 rooms spread over six floors, all rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom and a parquet floor of wood, a meeting room, a restaurant with Serbian and Italian specialties, a bar with terrace summer, a rich buffet breakfast and a hairdressing service. It also has parking and offers free wi-fi throughout the duration of the stay. If you are looking for a hotel to organize your business meetings, with adequate facilities and a very good value for money, Hotel Rex is the ideal solution for meetings, courses such projects, workshops, meetings and talks. Strong experience of a professional team, the Rex Hotel offers a meeting room of 45 square meters with natural light. The first breakfast at the Hotel Rex is prepared daily with fresh produce and quality. The passion for the simple and authentic things, the products of the season and the true flavors are reflected in the experience of breakfast, with freshly cooked food, using local products, through a very careful search at kilometer zero. A pinch of Made in Italy in our breakfast service will give our guests the best good morning! We are available to offer gluten-free products and prepare foods to meet every need food. This choice we base our commitment to enhance the kitchen. Certainly starting with the Serbian, tasty, frank and friendly with its fragrant vegetables, like peppers which prepares the sauce "Ajvar" to spread on bread fragrant local or widespread smooth cabbage that is a base for salads and here It is called "Kupus" but that in the fermented version, more rustic and decisive become "Kiseli Kupus". The corba invigorating and tasty soups, are the usual dish of entry in the winter and not only, but also cold cuts, smoked especially those who represent the pride of the Balkan country tradition with the apex tasty as valuable Njeguški Prsut Montenegro. Do not forget the cheese, especially those fresh and soft, like the tasty Kajmak who often doubles as a garnish to grilled meats. The "roštilj" or the grid and the real gastronomic institution of Serbia and the Balkans, the main method of cooking of succulent meats such as beef, chicken, pork, but especially the Plijescavica and Cevapi. The first and a dish very similar to a hamburger-sized abundant and often topped with a dollop of cheese Kajmak, the seconds, Cevapi, are an emblem of the Balkans, meatballs shaped stretches grilled. The recipe to prepare them and a little secret that every cook houses to give their Cevapi a unique flavor. Even the fish dishes are very popular, especially the freshwater fish that often are first smoked and then grilled like carp and Salmon Trout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing