We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Belgrade”
Review of Hotel Kasina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kasina
Ranked #77 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The staff here is excellent and friendly and always know which room you are in. The room service never tries to come in while you are there, they work around your schedule. The breakfast is full of salads, fruits, vegetables, meats and cheeses, breads, eggs etc. This hotel is everything you need for exploring the city. A healthy breakfast, the best location in the heart of Belgrade and a friendly smile upon return.
I see above that others say the rooms are small. Who hangs out in their room? And they are twice the size of the supposed 4-star Moskva Hotel across the street whose staff is so rude I walked out of there (luckily) and found this gem, Kasina.
It is quiet throughout the night and the elevators are fast and always working (unheard of in Serbia). And at like $30 Euros per night? You just can't beat this place. I will always come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room. I never asked for one but always got one as there are many. These rooms a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dyanb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kasina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here in April 2013. While the location was perfect (in the center of Belgrade), and breakfast was good, overall, hotel is very old, never been renovated for the past 10-20 years. Internet(WiFi) was available only in the reception area, and it was slow. However, if you are planning a short stay in the center of Belgrade with cheap rates (EUR 30/day), then this hotel may be the best choice for you.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are sunny and less noisy (especially upper floors).
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arsen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It has one of the best locations. But the rooms are small (once it was spatious). I doubt in their cleanliness. Been there twice due to conference purposes and after second time would not come back. Honestly, I do not remember the breakfast and that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyagepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hotel is in the middle of the city center, with friendly staff.
Nevertheless the rooms are very outdated, no value for money. Outdated bathroom (not really clean), old furniture, dirty carpets and wool blankets. WIFI only works in the lobby. Mice in the lobby and breakfast room. I would not recommend this hotel to others, especially since there are many other (very good) options around the city center for the same price range.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJAEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I was a walk-in guest, extended my stay day after day totally 3 nights at single room Euro 32@ with breakfast. In my 15-day Balkans trip, the room of this hotel is the poorest but at the same time this hotel is the one I have stayed longest somehow. That's life, ha!

Let say something good first:

1. Excellent location at city centre
2. Excellent price. I ever enquired the hotels around eg Moskva, Balkan, either full house or Euro 120. The budget Hotel Belgrade further away is Euro 35.
3. Great generous buffet breakfast.
4. Kind and helpful front desk staff
5. Three free computers at lobby, speed ok
6. Reliable wake-up calls (it is the real person staff calls you up)

With all these excellence, you must understand there must be something quite bad: Room very tired, things torn, dirty with stains on carpets and walls tiles in toilet. The bed and pillow are clean though. Each room has its different kinds of defects e.g door handle broken, TV remote unresponded, torn towels, light bulbs burnt out, sunlight invades since early morning through the curtains, unable to turn the water tap mode into shower mode which requires pulling up a button but that button is loose and soon drop down (I therefore folded a paper soap packing and inserted in between the button slit, keeping the button always up in position so shower got).

All the above bad are not the end. This is only the base bread of the pizza. On the top, there is noise and/or bad smell. I was given the worst kind of room for the first night. It's room 614, single room without air con facing some noisy generators/ air con machine. When I opened my windows, I got noise and couldn't sleep. So, I closed the windows, yet became hot and sweated, couldn't sleep either. The row of rooms -12 to -17 (and I suppose probably -01 to -04, see the floor plan posted here) is facing those noisy machines.

I changed to room 606 for the other nights. This (and rooms on same row -7 to -11) faces the main street with fabulous views. Once I entered, I got bad smell of cigarette. No, to be precise, it is old cigarette bud. This room has air con but I didn't use it as I kept fresh air in to blow off the bad smell.

After balancing exercise, I would say this hotel is still a choice provided that you pick the room not facing those noisy generators or otherwise the room bears air con. But of course, the torn and not so clean condition of the room can be quite depressing to many people. For myself only, about the torn towels stained tiles etc, I don't have to marry any of them right!?

With 3 night stay, I have formed a little passion for this hotel somehow (perhaps because of the diligent and honest front desk staff who I believe have served here for long time). I try to appreciate the things seen here. This hotel is trying to survive and does provide a choice at very low price. It should have understood that it can invest some money to renovate and then charge 4 times higher like the Moskva Hotel right on the opposite side of the road.

Room Tip: avoid those rooms facing noisy generator/air con machines or otherwise make sure there is air con so...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel Kasina is situated in the centre of Belgrade, near Knez Mihajlova street and the location is really great. The staff is nice and helpful, but the hotel is terrible. Furniture is old, plumbing was broken, bed linen and towels were clean but torn, floor carpet is ancient and full of bumps. Hotel has a funny smell, probably due to the fact that it is old and not cleaned for some time. Breakfast was so-so, coffee was terrible, pastry was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Hotel Kasina is a perfect very low budget hotel (33 euro a night for single room) for those who want to spend their time exploring this totally fantastic and unbelievably overlooked city and not hanging around in the hotel all day. Rooms are tiny, soviet era but clean and fit for purpose.View was dingy and industrial but I like that kind of thing. My phone didn't work and my room was only cleaned every other day, though my friend had his cleaned every day. This is not the end of the world however. Lobby is great and old school. There's a lovely area outside to sit, smoke drink and take the city in before you head out. Also the brewery bar next door is a handy place for a last drink after a night out. Breakfast is lovely but I think four euro extra. Phone bills from the room can be high so check the rate beforehand. It's totally central. Five minutes from everywhere either walking or taxiing.. Belgrade is still not on the tourist map so prices are a fraction of what you'll pay anywhere else. So get there while you can still afford it. It's like an unwashed Paris. Walk around for an hour and you'll come across gorgeous little cobblestone streets and churches etc etc. Before I arrived I read these appalling reviews of Kasina and was prepared for the worst. I really don't know who these tripadvisor whingers are and what they expect. Andrei_r90 seems to have gone a long time ago or else things have changed a lot since then. Ideal for anyone on a very low budget who just wants a place to rest their heads.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank BSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Terazije
Vila Terazije
#68 of 86 in Belgrade
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Inn Garni Hotel
Belgrade Inn Garni Hotel
#16 of 86 in Belgrade
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park Beograd
Hotel Park Beograd
#58 of 86 in Belgrade
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Slavija Garni
Hotel Slavija Garni
#49 of 86 in Belgrade
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Srbija Garden Ex Garni
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#24 of 86 in Belgrade
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasina

Address: Terazije 25, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Region: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Belgrade
#16 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kasina 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kasina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasina Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing