We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, nice food”
Review of Golden Gate Pub

Golden Gate Pub
Ranked #252 of 1,960 Restaurants in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice service, nice food”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had late dinner with my friend couple of days ago in GG.
The staff was smiling, english speaking and prompt on the requests!
I orderd chicken kebab and, even if it too a bit long ot have it, i've to say that the portion was big and full of taste!
I liked it so much and the waiters was always taking care of us!
Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yuriza1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Good location being not too far from the main square in Kiev. Fantastic atmosphere, good food, great service by the well presented and friendly staff. The Brit owner is more than happy to have a chat making you feel very welcome. Great place to be if there are any sporting events on with a myriad of flat screen TVs. Cold beer, friendly service and good food! What else could you ask for? Highly recommend a visit to this great pub.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCUkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub in the heart of Kiev”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Golden Gate Pub is a nice little Irish Pub in the heart of Kiev located just across from the historical Gold Gate. The pub has a very inviting feel and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The beer was cold and smooth...just the right thing to quench my thirst on a hot summers day in Kiev! I had the Hamburger which was very tasty and cooked to perfection. There are large flat screen TV's around the bar to watch sporting events and enjoy time with your friends. I recommend the Golden Gate Pub to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean, friendly watering whole with good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Slow, undercooked, and expensive”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I ordered a lambburger for about $14 US. It was the least expensive thing on the menu. It also took them a full 40 minutes to cook it (and there were hardly any other customers in the restaurant at the time). When I finally got it, it was way undercooked, less than rare. I got indigestion later that day. Needless to say, I won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanSSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good if you have kids with you..”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The pub itself is situated opposite the historic Golden Gate (unsurprisingly). It has a smallish outside area which is covered over or you go down the steps into the pub area. It has a separate pool room with 2 tables which is ideal if you need to keep the kids occupied. It has several TV screens for watching sport etc.

The meals are standard fare, bacon baguettes, chips, burgers etc although they do cater for Ukrainian tastes.

The service was good on the first occasion we went there and average on the second occasion.

On the positive side, there was a good atmosphere in the pub and it was frequented by a mix of English speaking and locals. The food was fine and we had no complaints but nothing special if that's what you are looking for.

I found it pretty expensive in comparison with other bars and restaurants. if you have kids then its probably worth paying a bit more to go there. If you don't then I think you would be better off somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Gate Pub also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing