We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol
Ranked #51 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 9 August 2013

On a short business trip to Kiev I stayed beside the Dnipri and found that apart from the stifling heat and crowds on the streets , the hotel rooms we're quiet, comfortable, great baths and showers and the room I had also had a balcony. Front Desk service is typical Ukraine in terms of manners but every task was efficiently dealt with so no complaints. The 2nd flooe restaurant was empty every night but the dinner quality was excellent although very pricy, especially if you fancy some wine.

Room Tip: Take either side for a quieter option, the East side offers river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Nice to hear that you enjoyed rooms and dinner at our restaurant. Your constrictive feedback is very important for us, it helps us to serve our guests better. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Riviera Hotel.


Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Keeping in mind that this is not Western Europe or the US...the hotel is great. Clean, nice room, friendly and helpful staff, lots of food nearby, metro station just outside the door. If I come back to Kiev, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Nice to read such kind words about our hotel and staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that every visit to Kiev will be unforgettable for you, and doors of our Hotel are always open for you.
Once again, kindly accept many thanks for sharing your experience with other people. Hope to see you again

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Riviera hotel is situated in the old town area area of Kiev close to the Dnipro river.
There are a few bars and restaurants of various standards within a few minutes walk.

More interestingly are the following attractions: Friendship Arch 10-15 minutes walk,
Chernobyl Museum 10-15 minutes walk,
St Andrevski Decent 5-10 minutes walk,
Funicular Railway 1 minute.

I walk fast so the lower times are at my pace.

To get to the city centre you have 2 choices. A 10-15 minute walk up a steep hill brings you to Khreshatik Street (this is the main street running through the centre) or a 3 minute ride on the funicular railway, conveniently located next to the hotel.

The hotel is a 4* rating and whilst it is pretty good, it would probably not make the same rating in the UK and USA.

The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom containing a good selection of complimentary toiletries. The soundproofing is excellent but if you are a light sleeper the lack of blackout blinds might mean you wake early as I did.

I only ate breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on the quality of the main dinner menus. The dining area is located on the 2nd floor (1st if you are from the UK). There is a modestly sized dedicated dining area and also a conservatory area overlooking the square adjacent to the hotel.

Breakfast is a good selection of both cooked, buffet, fruit, and continental items so you should be able to find something you will enjoy.

There are one or two odd things that UK and US visitors might think a bit strange for breakfast - e.g. vegetables, mixed rice, fries
The patisseries were particularly tasty.

So what about the other hotel facilities? There is a tiny fitness area (it's literally just a guest room cleared of furniture) This contains a stepper, running machine, multigym, bench, and some free weights. This should be sufficient for those who want a quick workout whilst away. I used this twice and there were no other users on either occasion. This is not obvious to find, but follow the signs to the spa and the fitness area is directly opposite.
Located on the top floor of the hotel is a champagne bar with some nice views of the surrounding area. One of the nice touches is the voucher for a free glass of champagne, that you are given at checkin.

Room Tip: I had a room on the side of the building and that was quiet. I would think that rooms to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTsoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Let me express my gratitude for your feedback. Our team was happy to read it, and we are more than confident that your comment will be very useful for all Trip Advisor Community. We are also pleased that you were able to see Kiev and its attractions.
Thank you one more time for your valuable review.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

While not inexpensive, everything about this hotel was to our entire satisfaction: hotel amenities; friendliness, helpfulness of front desk staff; help with currency exchange; help with our subsequent journey; more than adequate buffet breakfast; close to several good local restaurants. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We chose the standard queen. The room was not large and did not have an easy chair, only a desk chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear EdOtt,

Thank you for staying at the Riviera and using all its facilities. Nice to read good words about our staff, and our team is thankful for good review and for recommendation of Boutique Hotel Riviera. We do our best to improve our service and hope that Kiev and Hotel Riviera became your favourite one.
We would be glad to welcome you back to Riviera Hotel again and looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is in the center in a very good location and it looks stunning from the outside. You receive a complimentary champagne on arrival up in the bar on the 2nd floor. I got the smallest room on my arrival which had very old carpet and the furniture was a bit shabby. The bed was not comfortable at all. I switched off the airconditioning but it was still making noise. So next day I complained and I got a much better and bigger room with a comfortable bed, where everything was fine. The bathroom is very good, it is large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice (warm food, smoked salmon, fruits). Overall it is was a good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Let me express my gratitude for your review and sharing of your experience.
Most certainly I'm saddened to figure out that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, rest assured all necessary actions will be taken to prevent such occurrence in the future. However it was nice to read that you enjoyed another room, you’ve got next day. I would like to notice that we work 24/7 and any time you can call on Reception if you have any request.
Once again, kindly accept many thanks for sharing your experience to attention of Tripadvisor’s community, and we are waiting for your next visit to the Riviera Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Impressive breakfast and a quality hotel. Almost perfect location: just near the restaurants area in Podil, 1 minute to the tube station and a 10-15 minutes walk up hill to the churches area. Nothing too extraordinary about rooms, but the staff is very polite and helpful. Boutique Hotel is not a hidden gem, but it's an honest experience. Just a little bit too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladAlexandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear VladAlexandru,

We are appreciate that you found time to write review about Boutique Hotel Riviera it was nice to read. Also we are very pleased that you noted worthy professionalism of our staff.
Thank you again for your kind words and we will be glad to welcome you back to Riviera again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location for the hotel was perfect for my husband and I on our 6 day wedding anniversary trip to Kiev. We had a lovely room looking onto the river, the square by the funicular and a church over the road, it was nice watching the world go by. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was really clean and very nicely kept and the bathroom was lovely too. There is a bar on the top floor and with the weather being lovely when we went they had the windows open and we watched the sun setting. Breakfast was nice, good mix of hot and cold food and pastries, the usual hotel breakfast offerings.

The river boats go from over the road, about a 5 minute walk away. They are fixing the river front up at the moment so there is some work going on over the road but we didn't hear it in the mornings and it didn't bother us at all. The Metro is in the little square next to the hotel so that was really handy and the funicular takes you up to a beautiful monastery and into the main town if you'd rather walk than take the Metro.

The hotel is on a road with a great selection of bars and restaurants, we ate out down that road most nights. We found that it was one of the best areas for eating out. We found a really friendly bar called Sepia Bar, we got to know the barman a bit and they taught us a bit of Ukrainian and gave us lots of free shots. The drinks were really cheap too.

If we go back to Kiev we would definitely stay here again because it was such a great location and a really nice area. Only one stop on the Metro from the main square but the area felt a bit more upmarket.

We took a Skybus from the airport and then got the Metro to the hotel on the way there which cost about 14H for the 2 of us but we got a taxi on the way back & that cost 250H.

Kiev is a beautiful city, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to express my gratitude for staying at the Riviera Boutique Hotel, Kyiv and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other people worldwide. Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our property if Kiev comes in your travel plans again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Olga Fesenko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
0.0 mi away
Number 21 by DBI
Number 21 by DBI
#39 of 112 in Kiev
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Podol Plaza
Podol Plaza
#30 of 112 in Kiev
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#20 of 112 in Kiev
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Senator Maidan
Senator Maidan
#3 of 112 in Kiev
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kiev
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol

Address: 15, Sagaydachnogo Street, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#26 Business Hotel in Kiev
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £169 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol is located in the central historical part of Kiev in just 30 minutes drive from the International Airport. Hotel offers 64 standard rooms and 15 suites with the Dnipro river view. Boasting luxurious interior, modern equipment and inimitable service provide a wonderful opportunity to work and relax.-Conference hall for 70 seats and a Meeting room.-Business Centre, free Wi-Fi Internet connection all over the Hotel.-Restaurant with Ukrainian and European cuisine, 24-hours Room Service, large selection of dishes for breakfast, Terrace on the top floor, VIP lounge adjacent to the Restaurant. -Fitness Centre and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Riviera on Podol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing