We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not central, but extremely welcoming!”
Review of Oselya Kiev

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oselya Kiev
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not central, but extremely welcoming!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I spent a long weekend in Kiev and chose to book the Oselya based on Tripadvisor rating and reviews. Very good choice for the budget aware traveler, as central hotels can be very expensive.
Owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and always accessible and responsive (emails/phone). Complimentary transfers from/to nearest metro station were very useful and always available when I needed them (though they are not guarantied). Most Kiev attractions (and there are many!) are easily and quickly accessible by the very cheap and effective metro service.
My room was spacious and clean with a very nice bathroom. Breakfast in the garden was nice, when weather permitted.
The nearby Kazachok restaurant is a little bit expensive but very very good if you want to try the local cuisine. Ask the reception to book your table, and you'll get a 10% discount!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana_Bogorodova, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Yaron, thank you very much for your review. You paid us a big compliment as we provide our car to and from metro station only for pre-arranged transfers. I’m glad we managed to make our car available for you every time. But us usual we are not so perfect )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    36
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
107
56
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The staff at the Oselya are fantastic. I can't say enough about how helpful they were. There English is excellent and they did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. My only issue was the distance to the center of town. The staff at the hotel took us to the subway and brought us back for free, which really make a difference. The subway system in Kiev is also quite fun to ride. It's very fast. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Kiev.

Room Tip: The pick up service from the airport was wonderful and fairly priced. Have breakfast outside, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaspraydc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana_Bogorodova, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Eugene, thank you very much for your feedback. Recently we had changed in staff and your review is a sign for us they are doing well. Thank you a lot. Take care. Oksana Bogorodova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

From the moment I booked Olexander and Oksana could not have been more helpful, from arranging the transfer from the hotel to offering to take me and my son to the football - with him. Fantastic hosts, thank you never seems quite enough. The hotel staff were excellent, freindly, helpful and above all excellent English! The garden was a really nice place to eat breakfast, which was plentiful, or to unwind with a beer after a long day sightseeing. Some reviews say it is too far from the centre, maybe it is, but the number 17 bus from the bottom of the hill and the metro get you into the centre in no time at all and was all part of the adventure (and for less than 5 UAH!). As for Kiev, we came for the football despite all of the bad English press stories to find a wonderful, welcoming city, plenty to see, plenty to do. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: The room in the sky (?) had no window blinds, and it gets light very early, but by the second night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Kevin, thank you for you coming despite bad publicity about Ukraine. When I read it I was sure no one will come. I hope many of guests destroyed stereotype about Ukraine and we did small contribution as well ) Hope to welcome you soon in Oselya. Have a nice day. Oksana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First visit to Ukraine. Hotel staff speak excellent English and are very friendly. Room/bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was tasty and generous & served in beautiful garden. Hotel is about 15 mins drive or metro ride from centre of town. Staff are willing to call cab to pick you up from town if you text them when you are ready to come home in order to save you getting ripped off by cab on street. Costs about 4-6 pounds by cab from town. Hotel also provides free drive to nearest metro station (too far to enjoyably walk). Worth the inconvenience of being somewhat distant from tourist sites/restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeasdenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you very much! I hope your family enjoyed Yalta and you have nice and sweet memories about Ukraine! Have a nice day. Olexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Oselya is a guest house type hotel with just seven rooms, located in the suburbs of Kiev. It is an attractive house but with few facilities, though the guest rooms are pleasantly furnished. Staff are helpful, which is crucial for the non-Ukrainian or Russian speaking guest. For the first time visitor to Kiev, the location could prove problemmatic as the hotel is off the main transport routes and getting into the centre of town is a logistical challenge.

To go 'downtown' you need to walk down to the main thoroughfare, crossing a busy road first, and then find the bus-stop. The number 17 is the target and the fare to the nearest metro station is 2.5 Hyrvnia (about 20 pence). The bus is a single decker, circa 1970 vintage, so not particularly comfortable and it is likely to be crowded. Then to the metro, which is also cheap, at 2 Hyrvnia, but also busy. When you get to the centre of Kiev you will at least think the effort was worth it.

So, the Oselya is an attractive small hotel - boutique is an over used term - which would suit those with a car or at least familiarity with Kiev best. For others, a city centre hotel might make better sense.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed but essentially simple in character
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Rains, thank you for your contribution. We decided to offer free transfers to nearest metro station. I guess it will be easier for our guests to experience Ukrainian public transport :)

I just want to add that taxi to downtown costs 5-6 EUR if to order from reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is beautifully decorated and clean! The staff is very nice and accomodating. Thanks to Julia for a fantastic stay, she was very helpfull! I like to visit different hotels and usually try new ones every visit but since finding Oselya, I don't know what I will try others! If I am ever in Kiev again, this will be the place I stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Nick, thank you very much for such positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

4 of my family members recently stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful little boutique hotel in Kiev, and were delighted. Oksana has done an amazing job with this property, and has assembled a smiling, friendly, and very helpful staff. When I first inquired about reservations, they were booked for the days we would be in Kiev. Despite this, Oksana and her staff were more than willing to help us with advice and arranging a tour of Chernobyl with a third party. I was very glad that there was a cancellation and we were able to stay at the hotel. What a delight. We arrived very late, coming by motorcycle from Russia, delayed by hail storms and high winds. Oksana was still able to arrange for something for us to eat despite the late hour, and we enjoyed an impromptu dinner with wine on the terrace of our room. The garden area on the front side of the hotel was recently renovated, and they have done an amazing job. The hotel is a bit away from the center (5 miles). You could walk this if you were ambitious, but the hotel can also arrange cabs to and from the city center, which costs around $8 US. All in all, it was an excellent stay. I'd highly recommend the hotel, and I'd definitely stay there again. In fact, I thought so much of Oksana and her staff that I have invited her to our house when she is in the USA.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana_Bogorodova, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Don, we enjoyed your company very much. Thank you and see you soon in USA ) Oksana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
751 reviews
Cosmopolite Hotel
#12 of 111 in Kiev
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#21 of 111 in Kiev
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oselya Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oselya Kiev

Property: Oselya Kiev
Address: Kamenyariv prov. 11, Kiev 03138, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oselya Kiev 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seventh generation of our family lives in this quiet and green part of Kyiv. We have always welcomed guests, and we proudly continue this tradition through the Oselya Hotel, which we built 5 years ago. Each room has been furnished and decorated with care, which abounds in books, family memories and souvenirs of our journeys. You will breathe the deep love that holds us in this place, a love that has been a part of our family for almost 200 years.We are located 9 km from main street of Kiev - Khreschatyk, but you might decide that you are in the countryside surrounded by nature. We have a garden, in which you can enjoy your breakfasts during the warm season and 7 completely different and original rooms,We plant vegetables and fruits, and buy from local farmers almost all products. You can take the hotel's bikes and to explore the town or parks, to have morning jog at the nearby lakes or do yoga or meditation in the garden. Our hotel is perfect for romantic dates, family vacations, and for anyone who wants to see non touristy Kyiv.We use natural resources responsibly and collaborate with Green Global Standard.We open the door of Oselya and warmly welcome you! We hope to see you soon! Bogorodov's family. Oselya (from Ukrainian) - house together with yard, manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Oselya Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing