We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful hotel in Kiev”
Review of Oselya Kiev

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oselya Kiev
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This place is amazing!

Beautiful place, out of city location, staff that never cease to amaze etc. My partner and myself stayed here whilst visiting Kiev and the staff at this beautiful hotel made our stay super easy - booking taxis, places to eat etc and looking out for us to make sure that we paid local rates instead of Western rates...

When we go back to Kiev, we will stay here again - perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sophos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Small family run hotel in the suburbs in a very quiet neighbourhood, a few miles outside the centre of Kiev. The hotel staff are very friendly, rooms are very well maintained, cleans and very comfortable. You have a choice of several breakfast choices which usually consist of omelettes, meats, cake, bread and choice of coffee or tea.
The centre of Kiev is a bus ride and a metro train away, which isn’t as daunting as it sounds. We chose to walk to the metro about 15 to 20 minutes’ walk then a 15 minute metro ride to the city for a cost of about 20 cents one way.
Getting to the hotel you would be wise to book the transportation service offered by the hotel which is about $50 for a return journey.
I cannot say anything negative about the Oselya, its great value for money; if location is a factor in your holiday plans then this is not for you

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana_Bogorodova, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Always big pleasure to get feedback from Top Contributor. And double pleasure to get wonderful feedback from Top Contributor ) Thank you very much and hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed at this pension for 3 nights with my husband. Our room was cozy and clean and with romantic atmosphere. The room has private terrace and we enjoyed staying there having beer. Staffs are all friendly and they took care of us well. Most favorite point is breakfast which is served in the pretty garden. That was really fantastic and enjoyable. The pension is located in the suburb with a lot of green. I love the location but some people may feel a little far from city center.. we took a bus for 10 min and transfer to metro for 10min. to city center. But it didn't bother me at all.

Room Tip: Only one room has private terrace. You should choose this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chamichami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana_Bogorodova, Owner at Oselya Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you very much for nice words. I definitely agree we have great location ) Room with terrace is the best option for warm period but we created garden to compensate lack of terraces in other rooms. We all miss summer as now garden is good for stroll only. Too cold outside (

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here as the first stop on a four city holiday taking in kiev,Moscow,st petersburg and stockholm.Things got off to a bad start when we tried to take the bus into kiev as there were two bus stops and guess what we picked the wrong one and ended up touring the suburbs of kiev on our first night.After a good breakfast the next morning the owner kindly dropped us off at the local metro station where we made our way into the centre.After that we walked to and from the metro station.Its about a 20 min walk but the route is straightforward and we dont mind walking.The room was lovely and the area has a slightly rural feel complete with chickens running around outside.Would have preferred tea and coffee making facilities to the coffee machine and the shower was a little complicated but that is just my opinion.
Ignore the bad stories you may have read or seen on the british media prior to euro 2012.Kiev is a safe and interesting city.Tourism is still in its early stages but when it gets going kiev will be a great city break destination and I hear Lviv is well worth a visit so that may be another good reason to go back to Ukraine in the future.
With its great customer service Oselya is a good place to stay if you are going to kiev.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a very small hotel, but the staff went way out of their way to make our 17 hour layover in Kiev so enjoyable. The room was quiet and nice. The owner came to get us at the airport and took us back in the morning for a reasonable rate. The night clerk, Juliet, was so sweet arranging for a taxi for us to see the Kiev sights by night, having us dropped off at a restaurant only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and took our order for breakfast in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel.
W Phillips

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dcwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and what a wonderful place it came! Very clean, comfortable, this is how a hotel should look like! Although it is a very small place, you will get anything you need. The bed in my room was fantastic, very high sleep comfort. The staff was also wonderful, all our requests were handled properly. There is also a great garden backyard and if the weather is good, you can have a great breakfast outside. My only regret was that I do not have enough time to take some of the excursions offered by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Facility was very clean, nice court yard when the weather is good, great service from desk attendents, great morning breakfast, was helped in everyway I requested assist, local cell phone provision, summoning taxi service, great advice on entertainments, museums, and places to eat. Is a small establishment 20 minute from city center but away from the crowds. Provides fair prices with airport shuttle service. Help is proficient, or rather, sufficient in speaking English; was a great help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goal_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
3.6 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#27 of 112 in Kiev
193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#21 of 112 in Kiev
322 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#14 of 112 in Kiev
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oberig
Hotel Oberig
#36 of 112 in Kiev
49 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Kiev
Ramada Encore Kiev
#15 of 112 in Kiev
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
#8 of 112 in Kiev
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oselya Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oselya Kiev

Address: Kamenyariv prov. 11, Kiev 03138, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oselya Kiev 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seventh generation of our family lives in this quiet and green part of Kyiv. We have always welcomed guests, and we proudly continue this tradition through the Oselya Hotel, which we built 5 years ago. Each room has been furnished and decorated with care, which abounds in books, family memories and souvenirs of our journeys. You will breathe the deep love that holds us in this place, a love that has been a part of our family for almost 200 years.We are located 9 km from main street of Kiev - Khreschatyk, but you might decide that you are in the countryside surrounded by nature. We have a garden, in which you can enjoy your breakfasts during the warm season and 7 completely different and original rooms,We plant vegetables and fruits, and buy from local farmers almost all products. You can take the hotel's bikes and to explore the town or parks, to have morning jog at the nearby lakes or do yoga or meditation in the garden. Our hotel is perfect for romantic dates, family vacations, and for anyone who wants to see non touristy Kyiv.We use natural resources responsibly and collaborate with Green Global Standard.We open the door of Oselya and warmly welcome you! We hope to see you soon! Bogorodov's family. Oselya (from Ukrainian) - house together with yard, manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oselya Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing