We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

One of the best hotels in Kiev. Located in the heart of the city. Excellent service, lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Roman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

I really do rate this hotel as one of the best ones that I have the privilege to stay in, from check in to check out everything is handled with a smile and utter professionalism. To the point that when I have the choice I stay here as a preference. The staff go out of their way to accommodate every request (in my case however odd!!) and all with a smile. The lounge area in the hotel is large and classy, with the restaurant area for breakfast light and airy. There a number of very good restaurants nearby for which I will post a separate review. The pool and steam sauna are great, with a dry sauna in the men's changing room. No doubt there is one in the women's changing room as well. Room was light and very well decorated with a great bed. It is well located in the old town and is really a 15 minute walking distance to all the sites. This really is a hotel that you spoil yourself in. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel exterior: monstrously vulgar (as most things in Kiev signifying wealth – people, buildings, clothes, manners) architectural monstrosity with a series of strange figurines lumped all over and absolutely hideous cascading fountains on one of the elevations.

Interior: lovely Intercontinental finishes, comfortable bed, full recognition of Ambassador status. Did not have lounge access so cannot comment on quality of their IC Club experience. All customer-facing staff spoke English. The content of their ‘free’ mini-bar varied from day to day.
Food and beverage are overpriced for IC standards and are astronomically overpriced for Ukraine.

The local clientele is one of the most peculiar features to observe in the hotel’s lobby and restaurants: monstrously vulgar (see above) but entertaining to observe from a distance.

Overall, if you manage to get a good rate, you will probably have an all-round good hotel experience; expect exorbitant prices.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor facing the 'cathedral' square - views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Intercontinental in Kiev is magnificent. Not only is it absolutely beautiful and tasteful, but the rooms are wonderful, clean as a whistle, and the service and employees are can't be beat. The breakfast was fantastic and the hotel is right in the middle of Old Town and yet quiet and restful. Kiev is a gem and not to be missed and the Intercontinental always gives you somewhere restful to come back to. I cannot think of one negative about this hotel and it is certainly one of the nicest there is. I would say this is the one for you if you like elegance and sophistication, yet comfort and good service. I wouldn't hestitate to go back there or to suggest it. It is great.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side with a view of gorgeous St. Michael's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lhotse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The heading says it all. This is one of the best hotels in Kiev. The hotel is fresh and new, and everything works well, is in great condition. The rooms are very comfortable, stylish and spacious. The service is very accomodating. Many rooms have nice views of the glimmering cathedral next door. It truly is a 5* hotel, but unfortunately some of the food prices match that rating, with a room service hamburger topping out at $32.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rm94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you so much for your very kind comments following your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you found our hotel great and enjoyed our wonderful city. Our staff will be delighted to hear your kind remarks. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Kiev on a future visit.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Spent two nights here on a business trip. My room rate (255 Euros/night) was supposed to include internet, "free" minibar and breakfast.

Decor as you would expect. Free minibar a con as although you are not charged they only put in a couple of bottles of beer and some soft drinks. Breakfast buffet disappointing and the "hot" food was cold. TV system broke down on second night so no TV throughout hotel

My plan to have a lie in on a public holiday was ruined by a chambermaid waking me at 7.45 am. She seemed very upset that I shoudl have the temerity to want to sleep when as far as she was concerned my room was scheduled for cleaning.

Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank garygillathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced at the hotel.

We have taken your feedback on board to improve efficiency and we remain at your disposal.


Best regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I spent a few wonderful nights at Intercontinental Hotel back when it opened last year. The room I stayed in wasn't huge but it was beautiful and relaxing. The setting is grand and elegant, the service is great and the food in the restaurants is also good. It's a great place to escape from the busy city into pure luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moi_Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 112 in Kiev
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#10 of 112 in Kiev
605 reviews
Senator Maidan
#5 of 112 in Kiev
323 reviews
Opera Hotel
#3 of 112 in Kiev
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska vul. 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £214 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing