We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but service is a weak point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still good but service is a weak point”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I gave this hotel a perfect rating in 2010, probably a little generously. It is still good overall with spacious comfortable rooms and the breakfast is excellent but I have found service becoming careless on recent stays. Staff need more training and lounge staff at least should have better English. I ordered a house wine (very clearly as the waitress clearly had problems understanding) only to be served something much more expensive. I explained this when they presented the bill but it took about 30 minutes for my explanation to be grudgingly accepted. Such sharp practices discredit a hotel - even one with such a good reputation. Shame.

Room Tip: I've never had a poor room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyrone33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry you had this unfortunate experience on your last stay with us. Please contact our director of Food and Beverage on your next stay as he would like to offer his personal apology and assure you of the steps being taken to ensure standards are consistently monitored and maintained.
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review and hope to welcome you back shortly.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    122
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
74
64
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed at Intercontinental, Kyiv 15-16 December. It was not the first time, but this stay made me write a review, because the first time ever i tried a fitness facility away from home. The fitness area was quite small with very few training devices - so i was quite sceptical. But trainer showed a very smart way of using the machines and made an excellent workout, far above the expectations! Personal trinings cost approx 25USD, which is reasonable.

In general, experience from stay was flawless. Both public areas and the rooms look great, staff is courteous and attentive. I appreciate the choice of room service menue and free minibar even in standard rooms. I think it is worth trying pillow menue, as standard pillows seem too soft.

Overall, a great hotel with atmosphere, which ensures careless stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tx3hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel is very central to sightseeing,shops,etc The room was beautiful and absolutely spotless.The staff were was pleasant. Breakfast was excellent . Fantastic choice in Kiev !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Very nice realtively new building in classical architecture, great location in centre of old Kiev and good breakfast and services.

Having said that, it does not quite have the 5 star feel in terms of service, and to a degree product, though it has a 5 star price. Everything is very good, but feels more like a 4 star property other than the actual building which is impressive enough for 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I am writing to recommend the Hotel as a very good place to stay in Kiev.
Not only the interior but all the services provided by the hotel's team are of a very high quality.

I feel very confident in recommending the hotel.

Agnieszka Bergier-Klohes
Sales & Product Manager

SPLAST TRAVEL

Serenity Partnership Logistics Attraction Satisfaction Timeliness

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Mrs. Bergier-Klohes

We were so happy to read your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to do this and recommend our hotel. We have passed on your kind words to our team here at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next stay with us.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days. Had a very good stay, nice rooms, breakfast is very good, probably the best in Kiev. The hotel is of international standards, definetly way better than local Kiev hotels which are stuck in the old soviet style.
Everything is good but very expensive

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The best in Kiev and probably one of the best hotels anywhere. Any hotel should learn from them. Great location, beutiful views, incredible design and great food. Hopefully will come again and again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
526 reviews
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#5 of 111 in Kiev
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Property: InterContinental Kiev
Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska vul. 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing