We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff, super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Inter-Continental is a great hotel. I was in Kyiv for two days on business and stayed there two nights. I arrived early on Monday and they were able to get me into my room immediately. The room was spacious and clean. I really appreciated the complimentary mini-bar (no alcohol) which held cold soft drinks, water (with and without "gas") and fruit juice. I had lunch with a colleague the first day, took a nap in the afternoon and then walked around the city in the evening. I didn't feel like going out for dinner, so ordered room service. The food was delivered promptly and was absolutely delicious. It did not taste like the bland room service food that I am used to on trips.

The business center was open late, all the equipment worked and there was a staff member available if I needed him.

The hotel breakfast was very good, with lots of choices, including my favorites of sausage and cheese, but also more Western choices as well. The service was less impressive at breakfast (I am used to someone coming over and offering coffee) but I am capable of getting my own.

The location can't be beat. Beautiful sites and convenient restaurants and shopping around the hotel.

I departed early morning to catch an early flight and they had some food and coffee out for the many people departing for early flights. Very thoughtful. The concierge had ordered my cab as requested the night before and checkout took 2 minutes.

The next time I am in Kyiv, this is the place I will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoxFanMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a warm and kind review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.Your recognition is very important to us and we are glad that we met your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Kyiv in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, close to St. Michaels's and walking distance to Independence Square. The staff are helpful. It's great to have a bank in the facility to change money. The room we had was comfortable, but like many facilities, they only provide a duvet for bedding. In midsummer, it would be nice to have a light blanket or sheet. I'd rather be comfortable than trendy. The breakfast buffet is excellent, but you need to negotiate it into the price of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed location of the hotel and our staff. We will pass your great comments to all members of our team.
We have taken your remarks on board regarding our duvet for bedding and breakfast price.
Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Enjoyed a refreshing iced cappuccino with a decadent dollop of vanilla ice cream and complimentary small biscuits. A Beautiful presentation. Great service in a lovely garden terrace setting far away from the crowds of St Sofia square. Simply lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

We will be happy to welcome you again at InterContinental Kiev.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a centrally situated hotel and is close to the outdoor paining market and the cathedrals. The fruit basket that was in my room was superb (I guzzled most of it). And the hotel lobby is nice with an elegant chandelier.

And yet...

The mini-bar has hardly anything in it (and no alcohol!). The TV in my room was directly in front of the bed and could not be moved - you can only see it from the bed! How ridiculous is that?

Despite this nuisances, the cheeseburger that I ordered was excellent and the amenities (soaps, lotions etc) are what one would expect from an Intercon

But the room was not comfortable and there's something not quite there.

Room Tip: One overlooking the square would be better than the one overlooking the street that I was in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed location of the hotel, our food and lobby bar.

Please accept our sincere apology if the service you received was not at par with your expectations. We have taken a note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your experience as best as it can be.


Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

InterContinental Kiev: location is nice (next door to St Michael's; short walk to St Sofia; few minute stroll to Khreschatyk Street). Lobby and meeting room facilities were lovely. Catering for the meeting events was excellent; and the buffet restaurant had a very nice spread. Top floor bar had great view, though a curiously (uncertain if deliberate) somewhat retro vibe; though the service was excellent. Rooms well appointed, clean, nice bathroom, great shower, good climate control; though a bit bland in decor. Service was sometimes very friendly; sometimes rather not. Great coffee in Lobby bar. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shappych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your stay in InterContinental Kiev.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially our catering for the meeting events.
We will be happy to welcome you again at InterContinental Kiev.

Best regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had a one night visit to Kiev. As it involved giving up half my weekend was slightly indulgent. Well appointed if a bit empire style and an interesting view over rooftops. Very central and a great choice - including delicious forest fruits - at breakfast. Also free WiFi.

Room Tip: One on the upper floors will have more interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Kiev in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Intercon is a well know name, and for good reason - understated luxury and a well appointed staff make every stay a know quantity with no unpleasant surprises. Some of the staff at this location may not be the friendliest, but that is more due to the culture than the individual. The food in the hotel's restaurants is very good, and the rooms are spacious and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel and the views will make you smile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed back with us. We are happy that you liked our hotel, its rooms and location.
We look forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Kiev in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 112 in Kiev
554 reviews
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#7 of 112 in Kiev
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska vul. 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £218 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing