We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Really excellent hotel in a perfect location. Absolutely the best hotel in Kiev! It's true that the service quality is changing and there are amplitudes to the high and low side but compared to the other hotels I stayed in Kiev it is outstanding ( good ).
The only bad experience I had in this location was the behavior of guests at the Executive Lounge. A crowd of pilots ( I was told from an Austrian business jet operator ) were behaving extremely inappropriate - I assume it was the influence of the complimentary alcohol served at the Lounge....

Room Tip: All rooms I stayed in were ok! I prefer the street view though in winter time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental1, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you find InterContinental Kiev the best hotel in Kiev.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have faced in the Executive Lounge.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    116
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
73
60
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is located quite strategically for meetings and sightseeing. The rooms are very comfortable (although the beds are surprisingly hard). Service is very uneven. The concierge was excellent but housekeeping and room service were not up to an international standard. It was also quite expensive given how inexpensive things are in Kiev generally.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor but be mindful there is a noisy nightclub on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicycaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental1, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed back with us. We are delighted to hear that you find our service uneven and concierge service excellent.
Your valuable review will be shared amongst the team and we hope you will see the improvements made on your return.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.


Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage
Level Contributor
199 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a brief stay in Kiev and chose to stay at the Intercontinental due to its good location and favourable TA reviews. We were not disappointed - hotel was very nice, room comfortable with some nice touches ; complimentary mini bar (soft drinks), pillow menu and usual standards you would expect from a 5 star hotel. We visited both the top floor and lounge bars and both were nice although wine was very expensive (£12 per 150 ml glass) which was a shame (although it did come with some nice snacks). The lounge bar also seemed slightly understaffed with 1 person looking after all guests on his own - quite a task on a Friday evening!!! We ate in Comme Il Faut which was good although not outstanding, and again wine prices were excessive. Good choice at breakfast, although was expensive and we only ate here once due to the high cost (£30 pp)

The location is excellent with many attractions either on the door step or no more than a 5 minute walk away. Concierge was outstanding, in both responding to e mails ahead of our visit and during our stay - suggesting local bars, sightseeing etc.

We enjoyed Kiev and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental1, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel, comfortable rooms and lounge bar.
We have taken your valuable remarks on board. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The quality if the rooms and the service at the front desk and the Executive Lounge were all great. The quality of the breakfast was good too. The service at the concierge was inconsistent: the head concierge was great, however. I would definitely return and recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
892Kateryna, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your kind feedback and for choosing InterContinental Kiev for your recent stay. We are happy to hear you liked our rooms, breakfast and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel's location cannot be beat. It's in the same square as St. Michael's, one of the most magnificent monastery/cathedrals in the city.

The staff at this hotel are superb. The check-in agents were efficient and friendly and there was always an oversupply of them, which made waits non-existent.

The bell staff were very helpful as well, especially when I asked for materials to pack the two tubs of honey I bought (honey is a Ukrainian specialty that I wanted to take home). I had asked for packing tape which they did not have, but they provided shrink wrap (and newspapers and bags) which did a better job than the tape ever would have. My honey arrived home securely in its tubs and the rest of my suitcase contents were unscathed, despite British Airways and American Airlines sending that suitcase on 4 day journey apart from me.

However, the cream of the staff was Natalia in the lounge. She was super-helpful, very friendly, and simply a joy to have around. Since I was in Kiev with friends, we spent long hours hanging out in the lounge. The spread in the lounge was quite good for breakfast, decent for afternoon tea (nice espresso machine, nice pastries), and sumptuous for the evening spread which was sufficient for a supper (forget hors d'oeuvres!).

I stay in a lot of hotels (I am Starwood Platinum-75, Hyatt Diamond, and Intercontinental RA) and this is definitely one of my favorites. It's an excellent choice for your stay in Kiev.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansMast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I would definitely like to stay here again, and recommend the King Club Exec rooms that are a great size and have good views, and may even have small balcony.

Long weekend stay. Lovely older building and ambience, nice large open entry area (floor 1). , I had club lounge access (2nd floor for club room) so did not use the hotel restaurants, but did look in at breakfast time, and choices looked very good.
Looked at two room types, King Club Deluxe and King Club Executive. Whilst Deluxe is ok, the next room up, King Club Exec is far bigger, a single room, in some hotels I have stayed, similar big single rooms are called Junior Suite (or Studio Suite). Both room types have a large bathroom with both bath and separate shower cubicles.

Club Lounge offerings very good, nice coffee machine, one of the best I have used, and great decor. Nicely laid tables just like in a restaurant for both breakfast and evening 'dinner'. even using wedgwood china. I say dinner as provided soup, 2 main dishes. Lovely cakes also, but no one wanted to be first to cut into cake. In evening also Beers, Spirits, Wines, Fizzy Wines 1830-2030.
so often not touched. Staff very nice, helpfu and attentive, but only seemed one staff around anytime doing everything.

Usual hotel room facilities, work table + chair, Flatscreen TV, good choice of pay movies (limited international TV channels), minibar with colas/water (no alcohol) is free in Club rooms and Higher, tea/coffee facilities, plenty of cupboard space etc.
The larger Exec room has extra sofa, table, larger bathrooms, entry area with table/storage etc.

View from hotel from higher floors, 7-10 (top floor 11 is a bar ) are lovely. Hotel seems triangular in shape so view depends on room location. Hotel is on top of a hill, so viewing afar is easy.

The top floor roof bar has a lovely balcony on 2 sides. Alas only open from 18.00 hours, and my stay was a bit cloudy and it got dark 18.20, but in summer, must be a great viewing treat, whilst sipping a beer, cocktail etc.

Self walking tour from hotel is easy, as is hop-on-hop-off bus tour. River cruise addition possible depending on time of year, I got lucky, as the weather is warmer than usual this late in year, so cruises still running mid October, cruises normally stop end September. You can catch the cruise off the walking tour, and cafes right by for post cruise drinks.
If walking it is hard to get lost, if you keep going uphill you have to hit the hotel.

Wifi was ok, but annoyingly kept disconnecting. ok across a weekend, but would have been very annoying if working during my stay. When connected speed was ok, not that I stream or download movies/data etc.

Aircon could be considered noisy by some, runs intermittently, so if one is a light sleeper could be annoying. I tuned it out I guess, as I slept well. I certainly noticed the aircon during daytime hours in the room. (Then again this issue is quite general across non-modern hotels in older buildings )

Found most of the staff excellent, especially the very helpful concierge. Lounge staff very friendly and tried hard, but seemed to be working solo shifts. Top floor bar staff also excellent.
Less impressed with reception/checkin staff who were OK, but not great, and was the only area I feel let down this hotel. .

Metered Taxi from KBP airport meant to be circa 240-250 UAH (local currency, 1euro = 11 UAH ), hit bad traffic city centre on my arrival, so took 90 minutes plus and cost 280UAH. Return nice and quick, left hotel 11.30, took 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Book room with club lounge access, or purchase access on arrival. OK Lounge breakfast + superb even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback following your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you find our staff excellent, friendly and helpful. It is a pleasure to receive so nice comments about our rooms and Club Lounge.

We are sorry for the service shortfalls you experienced on your current stay. We will be sharing and addressing these issues with the relevant department and ensure you will see the improvements made on your return.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Such valuable reviews are very important and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good location, friendly staff, amazing 5 star rooms and a delicious breakfast. The hotel has much more too offer like a bar and a spa but unfortunately I didn´t have time to check these out. Highly recommended for a perfect stay in Kiev!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your kind feedback and for choosing InterContinental Kiev for your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you liked location, staff and amazing 5 star rooms.

We would very much look forward to have you staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#5 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#2 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Hotel
#6 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Property: InterContinental Kiev
Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska Street 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing