We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiev Central Station Hostel
Ranked #3 of 427 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Reviewed 26 November 2012

It is really hard to rate a hostel like this. It is not big European hostel with 5 floors. It small and cozy place. Nice common room with kitchen where you can meet other travelers and hang out together. the rooms are seperated from common room so its fine if you want to sleep early. There is a cool bar down the street, called Doctor's bar. you can serve yourself injection or share a flaming helmet with your friends. Nice location not far from tye train station and main city spots. The staff Aricio, Maricka and Larisa are really good people full of great tips for Kiev and Ukraine. They will help you to buy a train ticket, book you a great hostel in other cities ect. There is no reception desk but you can always find them easily around "the house". I wish everybody could enjoy their time in Ukraine as I did. This hostel is a good choice!

Room Tip: 12 bed dorm is cheap and very spacious. But a female dorm dorm is nice too :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollipop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed here many times over the two years that I served as a Peace Corps Volunteer. The staff was always friendly and helpful, the kitchen/common area was clean, the beds were relatively comfortable, the shower was great. There is an all-female room as well as a private room and larger coed rooms. It's not the most central location for a tourist but it's close to the train station, metro stops, and within walking distance of the main sights and attractions of beautiful Kyiv.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a full on traveler hostel; fantastic spot. At time of writing, there's a Ukrainian woman, deud from Brasil and a girl from Poland running two converted flats in a good location. The 12-bed dorm room is HUGE, they help with tours (A nuclear disaster sight is just the thing to brighten up your vacay!), taxi's, the odd chili night, and with enough party people, usually go out to this theme bar less than two blocks away (beers are 10 uah, double vodka, 4). I have no idea what it's called, but ask for a "flaming helmet" and enjoy! lol...

I found the staff *insanely* helpful and accommodating. The common room is 'cozy' and there's enough space upstairs to hang out until the wee hours without disturbing others. I didn't spend long in Ukraine, but wound up staying here twice. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but you'll never meet a good crew staying in a room by yourself. For 12 Euro's, you really get (I did anyways) *more* than what you pay for.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: The 12-bed dorm is surprisingly huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMach2Hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for euro 2012. The staff are fantastic who couldn't do enough to help. Flexible check in & out, very knowledgable about where to go and value for money around Kiev. Bargain at 12-15 euros per night, took us to a great bar nearby and sorted cheap taxis.
Can't say thanks enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Clean, nice staff which show you the non-tourist stuff and a nice atmosphere. The only downside is it is a bit of a walk to the centre and the station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WouterBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

As reviewersabove said, I guess this place is as good as you can get for 12E per day. However if you decide to spend the 45E per day to get the 3 bed "room" they have listed, oh boy will you be dissapointed. For 45E we took a double bed room within a flat. There was no door lock and next to us stayed at least another girl at the moment. Since the door wouldn't lock I had to unpack and take with me all my valuables before we got out to go eat. The room was small, planks were missing from the floor, cleanliness was nothing extraordinary, no aircondition or anything in the room apart from 1 closet and one bed. To finish off, I got no receipt when I paid 510UAH(about 45E)for this,since as they said they had no machine to give receipts(is it even possible to run a business without one?). All in all for 12E per day I guess this IS the best you can get. But rent a room? Forget it.
Oh, did I mention we had no key to our room and we had to call the owner to open our door every time?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stay here whenever I'm in Kyiv and I will keep coming back. The hostel is in a good location, not too far away from the train station. It's clean and comfortable, the only downside is the current kitchen which can be tough to share when there are a lot of people staying at the hostel. Can't say enough great things about the staff!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
DREAM House hostel
#1 of 427 in Kiev
281 reviews
Lypky
Gar'is Hostel
Gar'is Hostel
#5 of 427 in Kiev
154 reviews
Tiu Kreschatik Hostel
#2 of 427 in Kiev
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Factory
#6 of 427 in Kiev
16 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiev Central Station Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiev Central Station Hostel

Address: Hoholivs'ka 25, Apt 11, Kiev 01054, Ukraine (Formerly TIU)
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 427 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Price Range: £10 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 1 km from the Central Train Station (Vokzal) - about 15 minutes walk - we are the closest one and just 10 mins walk to visit Monasteries, Landmarks, Parks, 20 mins to church square (Sofia and Michael), 25 mins to the main Independence Square. In a convenient neighborhood with 24 hour supermarkets, bars (the best bar in town) and kiosks just 5 minutes walk, we keep our backpackers atmosphere live and active. Guests will share a nice common room with balcony, air-conditioning and fully equipped kitchen with free tea & coffee. All the guests can use the fridge, washing machine, watch DVDs on our LCD TV and will receive a lot of information and a map when checking-in. Free WI-FI and a guest computer. 24 hours check-in + nice comfortable beds + linens and towels included in price. The first and main backpackers hostel of Kiev. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing