We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiev Central Station Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiev Central Station Hostel
Ranked #3 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all, Kiew is beautyfull. Second, at KCS Hostel I receved a warm welcome, really good informations about the city (food, places to visit, etc.) and I got a good night rest. I really felt like home.
Thanks alot and see you soon.

George (Romania)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hostel is everything I could want, and more. It's worth looking at a good map before you come, as it is difficult to find the first time, but after that it is around a 15 min walk from the station, and about the same to the nearest Metro, Universytet.

Staff spoke good English, and were very helpful- on my first day, Larissa (excuse my spelling) gave me a map and noted down some important placse, which really helped.

Facilities are very clean, I had a two person private room which was very comfortable. Hot water and shower facilities are good.

I would recommend this hostel totally to anyone visiting Kiev.

Room Tip: The room at the end on the left is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

+ Staff spoke good English, Good Value, Convenient to train station, Decent kitchen.

- It seemed nice at first. I booked direct through the hostel website but didn't receive an email confirmation, Neither did I get a receipt when I payed in full the first day. The deposit for the key for the locker was 50 UAH. People were walking around the dorm and corridor to the toilets in just their underwear. Clothes were dried on horses in the 12 bed dorm. 
When I was staying there were rough looking guys who acted like Gang members  who seemed to be getting along well with the younger female staff members, and got wasted every night and were swearing in the dorm and common area; guys not to be messed with. Could not have an extra lie in if I needed it; the guys would be talking loudly to these girls whenever they decided to get up. Dormitory door never seemed to be closed; often returned and found the door to top floor wide open. Could not smoke in the balcony beside kitchen despite the fact that it was never used by anyone. Drugs were allowed however. Had to sleep in the common lounge to get away from noise in the dorms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hostel is in a hard place to find. There are two streets with similar names, so be careful when you go there. The entrance of the hostel is not very easy to find in the street, because there are no indications in the street that the hostel is there.

The hostel is not very clean and the desk is not in the same floor as the rooms, because the building where the hostel is, is an old building that used to have old apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luismfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Address is clear, Location is near the bus station which is good. Hostel is clean,Joanna and Aricio are nice and friendly people. I stayed there for two days and it was comfortable and I loved it. If I come back to kiev definitely I will stay at this hostel. I strongly recommend it.
Address is clear, Location is near the bus station which is good. Hostel is clean,Joanna and Aricio are nice and friendly people. I stayed there for two days and it was comfortable and I loved it. If I come back to kiev definitely I will stay at this hostel. I strongly recommend it.
Address is clear, Location is near the bus station which is good. Hostel is clean,Joanna and Aricio are nice and friendly people. I stayed there for two days and it was comfortable and I loved it. If I come back to kiev definitely I will stay at this hostel. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAziz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hospitable owner made staying in Kiev exceedingly easy. Firsthand knowledge of the area, accurate recommendations, he even offered to pick me up from the hospital after I fell ill. At night, hostel-wide excursions are frequent. The staff treats the guests more like old friends.

My personal favorite experience: I had no idea microbreweries existed within the city, and now I have a new favorite beer.

Fred Dingles, ex-pat teacher of the English Language.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms in the back overlook a quiet back alley. The larger rooms in front the street. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Good location, clean, cosy, comfortable rooms, two common rooms help to integrate with other people or chill, very helpful stuff, flexible and totally open-minded for people - they love to do it and they know, how to do it! Administrators of the hostel seem to make everything they can, if you need any help. (Ukraine is sometimes very strange and difficult to understand :) Exzellent atmosphere (you feel like at home with many friends around;) Awesome bar Palata nr 6 near to the hostel. I've spent much time in this hostel, I always come back, cause when I leave I start to miss being there...

Room Tip: 4-bed-dorm because it has balcony ;-) they have also female 6-bed-dorm and cosy private room. 12-bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMariaHoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Premier Hotel Lybid
#45 of 115 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream House
#1 of 366 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Lypky
Gar'is Hostel
Gar'is Hostel
#2 of 366 in Kiev
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Tiu Kreschatik Hostel
#4 of 366 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiev Central Station Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiev Central Station Hostel

Property: Kiev Central Station Hostel
Address: Hoholivs'ka 25, Apt 11, Kiev 90010, Ukraine (Formerly TIU)
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 1 km from the Central Train Station (Vokzal) - about 15 minutes walk - we are the closest one and just 10 mins walk to visit Monasteries, Landmarks, Parks, 20 mins to church square (Sofia and Michael), 25 mins to the main Independence Square. In a convenient neighborhood with 24 hour supermarkets, bars (the best bar in town) and kiosks just 5 minutes walk, we keep our backpackers atmosphere live and active. Guests will share a nice common room with balcony, air-conditioning and fully equipped kitchen with free tea & coffee. All the guests can use the fridge, washing machine, watch DVDs on our LCD TV and will receive a lot of information and a map when checking-in. Free WI-FI and a guest computer. 24 hours check-in + nice comfortable beds + linens and towels included in price. The first and main backpackers hostel of Kiev. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing