We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive, but small”

Mykola Syadristy Microminiatures Museum
Ranked #4 of 497 things to do in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressive, but small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very impressive pieces of work, but don't expect anything extraordinary from the venue. Quite small room with limited information in English. I don't think they redecorated it since the 80s.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    37
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

However small the exhibit, it is mindblowing to see the miniatures. What about a chessboard with all the pieces on it, at the size of a pin head. Visited it twice, and was lucky to meet the artist, how coincidentally visited when we were there. When we complimented him on his work, he asked us where we were from. When we told him that we are from the Netherlands, he smiled and just said: "Ah, Rembrandt." Made my day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mindblowing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Not what we expected and were totally blown away. The trip to the caves monastery is well worth the time and while you are there you must see this exhibition. Only takes about 15 -20 minutes but you will see some things that you'll remember for a long time. A little bit hard to find, in behind the belltower.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_B761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
493 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very small and very impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We (a couple) were lucky enough to visit this museum (located on the territory of Kiev Pechersk Lavra) before closing. We are talking about the huge line that you need to stand in in order to get into the museum. However, after 10-20 minutes you don't regret anymore that you were waiting for it.

We really liked the process of visiting. There were around 20 microscopes with miniatures, and people were checking them one by one standing in line. As a result, there were noone, who could take your place and disturb you.

There was also a little bit annoying woman, who was in charge of the room. She was screaming to everyone and bust people, who took pictures, or blamed "men not to be responsible for their kids."

The miniatures themelves were very impressive! There was the smallest book in the world and other impressive tiny objects such as micro portrait and micro chess on the head of the pin!

The entrance cost around 1 euro per person. However, in order to enter this museum, you also need to buy entrance ticket for the whole monastery area. But it is also cheap and will not cost more than 1 euro.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalaki-Papaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Short but incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I went there with my 11 years old daughter, it's really something you must see!
entrance for an adult and 1 child cost 16 UHA. You have to pay first the entrance fee for the churches site: 1 adult and 1 child 6 UHA
To go there: metro arsenal
You will pass the monument of the unknown soldier and the starvation memorial (BTW just really moving)
Continue along the main street, the entrance of the site is on your right
20mn walk from the metro

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 182tara04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mykola Syadristy Microminiatures Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mykola Syadristy Microminiatures Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing