We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Kiev hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good Kiev hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Fairmont for a conference and I have to say that the hotel and its staff lived up to its billing. It is, however, very rightly not the best hotel in Kiev. I have stayed there as well and it is a little bit better.

The staff a very good and very helpful. I had a little of a wobble at check-in but I understood that the girl was only doing her job. It just took a long time.

The rooms a very good size, although you might get lost in them, and the facilities are great. I loved the Illy Espresso machine in particular. That is a very nice way to wake up indeed.

All the details are looked after, from the toiletries to the spread at breakfast and, therefore, this a great hotel for any kind of trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeMan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear WeeMan22,
Thank you very much for writing a response on TripAdvisor. We highly value your comments and good feedback. We sincerely hope that both your stay and conference time were top notch. All our colleagues try to make sure that guests enjoy their stays to the fullest. Thank you for pointing out the size of the rooms - indeed they are huge - something interesting to explore additionally at the hotel! :-)
We thank you again and are looking forward to seeing you back!
Best regards,
Sales and Marketing team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    94
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
109
43
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here on a short business trip to Kiev. Overall it was very impressive. The hotel staff speak very good English and the overall quality of the rooms, restaurant and bar were very good. Only downside is the location is a little bit away from the city centre but an ideal distance and short commute from the airport.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upgrade and a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Daragh H,
We are glad to hear from you on TripAdvisor. Thank you for leaving your comments - we appreciate that you liked our services a lot. In regard to our location, yes this is just a direct drive from Boryspil airport, which our guests like a lot. We kindly invite you to visit us again in spring and summer to enjoy walks downside the river and park areas above.
With best regards,
Sales and Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Newly built with a great location except for rush hour access. VERY friendly staff who exude customer service in multiple languages. All the amenities one expects in a 5* hotel from the great bed to the Canadian made soap to the fluffy towels. Good work space with lots of accessible plugs to recharge all you phones, notebooks and computers. WiFi throughout keeps you in touch. As a Fairmont Platinum member I would rate this property in their top quadrant. I have now stayed here over 10 times and never been disappointed. I will be back in two weeks.I have brought business associates to this property and they are equally pleased and impressed. I have not had time to use the spa or newly built swimming pool.

Room Tip: river views are nice but courtyard rooms are equally comfortable. Suite 1032 is a very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank c4pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear c4pl,
It is our great pleasure to hear from a regular guest on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We make all possible so guests can enjoy the true luxury of the Fairmont brand in Kiev.
Thank you for being our guest and we are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards,
Sales and Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Being long time guest of the Premier Palace Hotel in Kiev i decedid to try the Fairmont, because its near my ofice. First of all: the English language spoken by the personell is perfect, the level of service is perfect, and the meat in the restaurant was more than perfect. I will advise this hotel to all my clients who are travelling to Kiev, and i will make this hotel, the place to feel at home for myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Carlos D,
We are very delighted to see your comment on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your good words - all our colleagues highly value this feedback! To surprise you, or not, our colleagues speak quite a number of different foreign languages - and it is great to hear that you, and other guests, value this skill a lot.
Thank you again and very welcome to our hotel!
Best regards,
Sales and Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I really liked it it. It really is a 5 star hotel. My room was beautiful- large terrace with views, large gleaming bathroom. And a big room. The lighting was fabulous and there were lots of places to plug into and charge. Staff were super helpful and friendly and spoke English well. The location is good - lots of shops and restaurants around. My only complaints are the tv stations are very limited - only standard international news stations in English and i had trouble controlling the heat. It just kept heating no matter what i did. I didn't try the breakfast buffet (39 euros) but had lunch 2x and a room service dinner and the food was very good. Highly recommended .

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear salmonpg,
Thank you for taking time and writing your response on TripAdvisor. We hope that your visit to Kiev was good. Plase accept our apologies for the heating issues. All hotel's staff highly value your feedback and thank you for visiting us!
Lookign forward to seeing you soon,
Sales and marketing team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I've stayed here 4 times, perhaps 5. Previously stayed at the Opera, Prem Palace & Radisson in Kiev. I always try and get into the Fairmont. Service is excellent and so are rooms, breakfast & general areas. Some may prefer the location of the Intercontinental but I'm perfectly happy in the environs of the fairmont. True there is construction across the road but no noise from this. There is a good deli down on the corner to the left when you leave the hotel. I like Kiev and I like the fairmont. The only negative I can remember from all my stays is that I drank them out of draught lager on the first day of my last stay and they still had not replaced the draught by the time I left but in all fairness there was a city wide riot going on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EskimoQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear EskimoQuin,
Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your experience with Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that our hotel became your new favorite place in Kiev. Thank you! We also will make sure that during your next visit to us all our bar storages are full of your favorite drink :-) Welcome!
Best regards,
Sales and Marketing team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Being long time visitors to Kiev with Premier Palace as our preferred hotel, we decided to try this almost new hotel to stay out of downtown during recent events.

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and the level of service. We stayed in a club room and were only able to use the club lounge for breakfast, but it appeared that the club rooms are a good choice...highest floors, best views and best service, with complimentary lounge and refreshments.

Premier Palace is starting to show a little wear, while this hotel is still sparkling new and we feel better furnished/decorated.

The only hiccup was that there is still construction going on in the hotel and we had to make a call at 9:00 PM to complain about the noise. To the credit of management, they addressed this immediately and even offered some gifts to compensate which we declined since they were so responsive to deal with the issue.

In the future we will likely choose this hotel as our preferred hotel in Kiev when we don't need to be in walking distance of the center.

Room Tip: Try the club rooms. Top floors, best views and outstanding service with complimentary refreshments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKyiv, Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear ValVil,
Thank you very much for taking some time and writing your response on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you liked your stay at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv. Even though the reconstruction of Poshtova Square is not within our control, we can assure that the results of the renovation will be stunning. Meanwhile our colleagues make all possible so our guests have the most comfortable stay in Kiev, both luxurious and very indivifual.
We are looking forward to seeing you again at the hotel soon!
Thank you,
Sales and Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
518 reviews
Opera Hotel
#7 of 111 in Kiev
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#6 of 111 in Kiev
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv

Property: Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
Address: Naberezhno-Khreschatytska vul. 1, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv is located in the heart of the city’s historic Podil district, where every turn reveals unrivalled views of the Dnipro River, the golden domes of surrounding cathedrals, and countless world-famous architectural landmarks. The hotel features 258 guest rooms, each exceeding 42m2. Hotel also features a restaurant, a lobby champagne bar, a fitness room, swimming pool, spa zone, and the underground parking. There are 12 rooms for conference services at the hotel, from 20 m² up to 460 m², including a luxurious Atrium and the biggest in the city ballroom for grand events. Guest room amenities and features• Air-conditioning with individualclimate control• Pillow-top mattresses, 300-thread-countlinens, down-filled pillows and duvets• Plush bathrobes• Exclusive Le Labo Rose 31 bathroom amenities• 42" LCD HDTV with media-connectivity panel• On-demand video system• High-speed Internet (including wireless)• Desk and telephone with voice mail• Laptop safe• Сoffee maker, kettle and refreshment centre• Hair-dryer• Garment bags ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing