We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How not to love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream House
Ranked #1 of 368 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“How not to love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

First of all the location! Five stepfoot from nabokov museum a short walk to santa sophia and golden domes and cobblestone street with outdoors caffees artists etc. Short walk to independence sq. Then the staff, great girls at the reception will help you. I stayed in a one person bedroom downstairs, perfect. But please, PLEASE install a toilet downstairs too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Fabio,

thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important for us!
Hope you will have opportunity to come back here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    54
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
29
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Dream House is in a cool area of the city, it's quite near the city center and close to the metro station. The rooms are very modern and clean. But the most important feature is the staff: professional, enthusiastic, kind, perfectly english speaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Alessandro, thank you for such pleasant words. All the Dream girls are greating you!
If you decide to come to Kiev again we always will be happy to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pleasant surprise in Kiev, a city remained in the past few decades. People in the street won't speak or help you - even you try to re-discover your forgotten russian. Dream House a german-standard clean, properly working, well managed asylum. They really mean it to give a smile in the morning to the staff an say good night in the evening. Unfortunately, the did not seem very experienced to manage drunken people-matters, so we could not sleep at all at the second night until 4 AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Judit, thank you very much for your review! It's very important for us to know your opinion as it helps to improve our service! We will work on dealing with drunk people to improve our sleep quality!
You are always welcome in Dream House hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Dream House is located at the bottom of Andrew's Slope, it might not be really central of Kiev but I like this area, Old Town filled with souvenir stalls.

Every space is maintained very well and spotless. There is plenty of community space with cozy sofas and games. There is a small table and chairs even in each dorm, which is very convenient especially when upper bunk bed is provided for myself.
Towel is provided for free as long as you deposit 25 UAH (refundable)
Breakfast is not included but a Care/Bar is in the hostel, they serve reasonable breakfast menu between 8:00 - 12:00.

They have a night walking tour starting at 21:00 ( i think it costs 40 UAH, min 5 pax or so ), it will last 2 hours or so, if you are not too tired, try it ! There is something going on here every night such as Poet Night etc !

There is a big super market nearby, money exchanger is in the super market. There are nice restaurants nearby. If you walk toward the closest METRO station, you can find reasonable restaurants compared with the ones near Independent Square.

As how-to-find-us seems a bit complicated to me, I asked airport-pick-up service.
290UAH from Borispol Airport
140UAH from Zhulyany Airport
yes, a driver was waiting for me ;-)

Staff here are friendly and fluent English Speakers. Credit Card is also accepted.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for such a detailed and nice review about our hostel!
We hope to see you again in Dream House in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Dream House is a great place with very nice interior and extremely clean rooms and washrooms. It is the perfect balance between a quiet place to rest and a hostel to hang out and meet great people. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Mariano, thank you for your review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Dream House.
Hope to see you again in the nearest future and play another badminton set together. So you have time to improve your skills!=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Having stayed at many hostels over the years I can put my hand on heart and say that this is one of the best. The location was fantastic, right in the middle of a great area with restaurants and bars. Nearest metro is not far away so getting around the city is no big deal. We stayed for a week in a private room which had air conditioning, comfortable bed and a bathroom. Staff were friendly and attentive and they have a great bar with courtyard area to enjoy a nice cold beer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Gary, thank you for your time on writing such a nice review! We will be glad to welcome you again at our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
325 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I've stayed in well over 100 hostels in 50 different countries, and the Dream House hostel definitely ranks among the very best! Hands down the place to stay if you are a backpacker or budget traveler considering coming to Kiev!

It's clean, modern, with a great location a few minutes away from the metro. The hostel is tucked in a small courtyard, so the more "secluded" spot prevents noise from the busy street from bothering guests. Located on the famous Andriyivskyy Uzviz, the Dream House is within walking distance to most of the top tourist attractions in Kiev, or only a short metro ride away.

They also have their own café/restaurant, Café Druzi, which appears to be quite popular with local students and seems to serve as their hang out spot. The menu is varied and affordable, and the food is tasty. Their breakfast options are also quite good and easy on the wallet.

I spent 5 nights in a 4-bed dorm. It was spacious and the bed very comfortable. There are two lockers per room (you leave a deposit for the key), so it's up to whoever gets there first and asks for one. Each bed comes with its own power outlet and lamp, which is convenient. The room was clean thoroughly every 2 days and they even changed my sheets and left me a candy.

But it's the staff that really makes a difference at this hostel. The Dream Girls working at the reception desk are friendly and knowledgeable and help you make the most of your stay!

Highly recommended for anyone traveling to the Ukrainian capital! =)

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Patrick, thank you for your pleasant words! We are very happy that you liked everything about our hostel. It was really kind to come and visit us even you weren't staying with us, it means a lot for us!
We hope to welcome you again at Dream House in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lypky
Gar'is Hostel
Gar'is Hostel
#2 of 368 in Kiev
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Tiu Kreschatik Hostel
#4 of 368 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream House

Property: Dream House
Address: 2D Andriivskiy Uzviz, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 368 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream House Hostel and Bar! The atmosphere of happiness and life satisfaction, home warmness and positive emotions, kindness and hospitality - all that proceeds from our young, and suoer-friendly staff who are always ready to share with you their good mood!Perfect location of our hostel will allow you to be at the center of all the standing of your attention events. We are located in the historical part of Kiev - one of the oldest streets in the city. By five minutes walk - Kontraktova square and metro station. Around us there are lots of opportunities to spend time, both: cultural and nightlife. Detached building built in the 19th century and completely renovated in 2012, has all the necessary communications and modern new furniture.In Dream House we have 28 rooms which can accommodate 106 people. Rooms are presented in the following categories: 8 Bed Dorms(both mixed and room only for women), 6 and 4 Bed Mixed Dorms, Triple and Double Private Rooms (Superior Double Bed Privates have shower and toilet in the room), Single rooms. All guests can use the equiped kitchen of the hostel , where everyone can cook his/her own breakfast, lunch or dinner. For an additional fee you can enjoy breakfast in our Druzi cafe on the ground floor.We make stay in Dream House enjoyable and intense. Here you will learn how to combine the cultural program with crazy nightlife! Hotel guest computers are installed, as well as free Wi-Fi network all over the hostel. Our team will do everything to make your stay in Kiev passed under the sign "at home" and the minutes were spent with us became bright impressions, and a reason to return to Dream House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Dream House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing