We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest hotel in Kiev - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Premier Hotel Rus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Premier Hotel Rus
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Kiev - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Not luxury but very nice! This hotel has all the benefits of the Soviet era hotel design: Spacious airy feel throughout, lots of natural light, perfectly sized rooms, two doors for privacy and very cool location. It is very clean and there are no disturbing noises or smells of any kind. The breakfast buffet is among the best I've had in many years, and that includes five star hotels. At the Rus you get live piano music while eating.
Just be careful and book early - this hotel is running at full capacity and free rooms go fast.
Staff speaks basic English and is professional, but do not expect American standard service attitude (but who needs it, as long as they do their job!) Tipping not needed or expected.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna_UK-SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    313
    190
    41
    15
See reviews for
51
137
140
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a three star hotel in central Kiev. Walking to the central street is not difficult, around 8-10 minutes. Metro station is about 5 minutes walking. It is a huge building, service was very good, rooms are basic, small, but clean. There is a wi fi free of charge, brerakfast was good. As Kiev has expensive hotels, this hotel offers very good value for the money. I recommend it more to tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladimir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

The Rus was the cheapest centrally located hotel we found available on the Internet at just about £65 a night including breakfast. Compared to the £200-plus a night we got quoted for virtually every other hotel, I guess we cannot complain. Apparently Moscow has the world’s most expensive hotels. Kiev must come a second close!

Though small and terribly dated, our room was clean, bright and airy, offering the most basic facilities we would expect from a 3* property such as air con or satellite TV, and even a mini fridge. The bathroom was also small but perfectly adequate. A definite plus: rooms are well sound proofed. Once inside, we could not hear our noisy neighbours next door. The buffet breakfast was okay, if nothing too exciting to write home about. Mind you: the restaurant does get busy, very busy. If you do not like crowds, get down early.

The hotel is fairly well located, roughly a 15 minute walk to the southern end of Khreshchatyk Street, the main shopping and entertainment area in Kiev. The nearest metro station to the hotel is Palats Sportu, but we felt the metro is of very limited use to tourists.

Would we return to the Rus? Probably, if only because all the other hotels in central Kiev are so ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimie_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

If you don't need a large room, this hotel is a great option. If you book directly from their website, they provide a free return shuttle to airport. All staff were friendly. Hotel is close to public transportation. Their is a convenience store/deli just down the street and to the right from hotel to get basic grocerie items.

If you get a room close to the elevator, the WIFI will work in your room. This was great!! Ladies of the Evening who work this hotel are very discreet and congregate just outside the the 2nd floor bar, but are never conspicuous. I didn't spend much time in my room, so this hotel was great. If you need a power converter for your US appliances, the business center downstairs will provided you a converter. Very satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is very old, with old bed and sheets. But is clean and have a very nice breakfast. Is has also a nice thai massage center inside the hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Breakfast is very good with large selection (i'm vegetarian) of hot and cold cuts. Bread are fantastic, goog sushi (Ye, in breakfast!).
The only warning i can give you about Kiev is that i read in lot of places that the policman are corrupted and thought its over writen about it... BUT its TRUE!!!! be carefull from the policmem... they hear English or see you with maps and Cameras and thuy search (including IN wallets!) on you and looking for nothing and ask (they say it outload!) for money to "solve" the problem... i had it on my first night in Kiev... as i knew and was warned from it i didnt show fear and at the end was sent free...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orenb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Was pleasently suprised to a fast check in, clean room with a relativly comfortable bed and working aircondition. The shower was a little old, but ok and clean.
The rooms seemed quiet and we had some good nights of sleep. (14th we were on)
Helpfull, but maybe a bit "brisk", staff.
Good location and short walking to city centrum.
A positive suprise was that they have minibanks and cash change in the lobby that is 24/7 open.
Breakfast was (relativly) good!
Wifi in room :)

Be sure to check out Chernobyl and try out AK-47/Sniper shooting while in Kiev, it was an awesome experience, especially chernobyl!! But a bit scary.

Also it seems that Ukrainians never say thank you :p Strange!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grungern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#25 of 110 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmopolite Hotel
#8 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Rus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Rus

Property: Premier Hotel Rus
Address: Hospitalna vul. 4, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#29 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Rus 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel Rus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rus Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing