We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An essential bentchmark business-class hotel in Kiev with a value.”
Review of Premier Hotel Rus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Hotel Rus
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed from Dec.25 through Dec.29/2011, using Superior class rooms. I have used this hotel number of times since 2006. Over the years, it has upgraded the section of rooms and floors and renovated portion of the lounge area. While it still bears a Soviet era flavor at ground level, but upgraded rooms (after 2010) are pretty decent.

As others reviewed here, I agree It has a consistent quality with an excellent buffet breakfast. Yes, it is a carry-over from a Soviet-era building (70's?), similar to President Hotel next door, but with a better value. Consider these as a business-class hotel - nothing fancy, but functional. The location is 5 minutes walk from Sports Palace Metro station and a few blocks away from the busy street. It is convenient you can avoid City Center traffic jam with a quiet sleep (unless of course, you have a lousy neighbor) is practically guaranteed.

In former Soviet Union /CIS countries, some of the accommodations and places are grossly overpriced, while a good quality service, if you look closer enough, still exists. I like Ukraine services better than Russia, with people - including receptions, etc - are generally friendlier in my opinion. The foods in Ukraine are excellent, as it is a major agricultural country.

Room Tip: If you are a US or European traveler, I suggest to choose Superior or Business class room, which cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sequoia2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hote was built in 1979 and is showing its age.It is near the new stadium and the main shopping street.However the rooms are rather dated.I had a superior single.The bathroom was small but functional with a reasonable size bath.There is a double bed.When i got in to it the first night i felt a cold draught.When i drew back the curtain i found that the glass was cracked at the bottom and the window frame had been ineffectively taped.I put a pillow by it to keep out the draught.I didnt sleep too well in that bed.there is a 12 inch television on an angle bracket in the corner.Trouble is that it is over the table.Soif you are at the table and bring your head up you will hit your head.I found that the window opened in the usual way,despite being on the 9th floot,a bit alarming.I doubt that they get many guests from Western Europe as the breakfast buffet was clearly meant for Eastern europeans.I didnt particularly enjoy it.However i ate in the restaurant for 3 evening meals and i found that they were appetising and relatively cheap.They charged £5 per hour to use the internet in the business centre,something of which i strongly disapprove.Given the exhorbitant price of some of the other hotels i thought that this was reasonable value for money.I wouldnt stay at this sort of hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The presidential suite is excellent value. For the same price as a standard room in the radisson or hyatt you can get a very large top floor apartment, well kitted out and with loads of space for you and the kids, or whoever else you choose to invite. Breakfast at the Rus is also very good. Other dining options and the bar are less so.

As for the other rooms, pearl suite is mostloy nicely done, mirrored ceiling a little tacky perhaps but this is Ukraine... Standard and business rooms are pretty basic: if you are on a budget, better to take one of the serviced apartments available in central Kiev.

Room Tip: Book a suite. Avoid the cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy_abstentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel in September for 4 days, accumulating business trip and side viewing.
The placement of the hotel is very comfortable, close to the center and metro station. The hotel is clean and service is Ok. Breakfast has a big choice for any taste. Prices in the bar are more close to European level then Ukrainian. And I don’t advise you to drink Mojito there as it has nothing from Mojito. Stay with local bear and it will be fine!:-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Rus for the third time on my recent business trip to Kiev. Good standard of hotel that overlooks the new national football stadium so would be excellent for Eurpoean championships this year. Hotel staff friendly, food good with good selection for buffet dinner and buffet breakfast.
Good location for easy access to Kiev centre

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel look over city. Rooms at back look over new national football stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in December of '11. We were here for five nights and were satisfied with it. The price was great for what you got. This place is 10 minute walk to the metro, there's breakfast included and there are a bunch of places to eat relatively close by. The security guys look a little sketchy (maybe gangsters), but it wasn't a big deal.

One thing to note - there is a cab service in the lobby but they overcharge by a bit (extra $10 to the airport), and an extra $3 in town - not a huge deal but something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I booked this hotel through www.hotels-kiev.com as well as my taxi transfer and had no dramas. I was constantly e-mailing to confirm and check things and they were always replying super fast with information. They even e-mailed me confirming flight times as Aeroflot kept changing, so she was ontop of it always.

I got to the Hotel at about 11.30 am (2.5 hours before check in) so I had to check my bags and walk around the city for a while, but the girls were nice enough to let me check in about 12.30 as it started snowing and I was desperate for a shower.

The hotel is quite old and the room is a bit pokey. Nothing fancy (I had a great view on the 12th floor though). The "King bed" was two king singles pushed together.

Staff were very professional and always nice. The buffet breakfast was great, the hotel bar was nice and cheap. Wifi connection (free) was strong and always working.

It's about a ten minute walk to the start of shops and the main street, but it's a nice walk. There is a nice Uzbekhistan restaurant nearby called Тюбетейка (Tyubeteika) which serves some amazing unique food with lovely staff.

At the end of the day, it's a business hotel from the 70's. The reception staff are willing to help, it has all the services you'd want and it is quite cheap. I did my laundry and it ended up costing me about $45AUD!! If anyone can find a self serve laundromat, let me know!

N.B. Do the free walking tours in Kiev. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up looking over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiskeyHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
2 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#22 of 112 in Kiev
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Kyiv Congress
Mercure Kyiv Congress
#14 of 112 in Kiev
412 reviews
1 mi away
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
#9 of 112 in Kiev
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Rus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Rus

Address: Hospitalna vul. 4, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#29 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £37 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Rus 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Hotel Rus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rus Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing