We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice hotel in good location”
Review of Premier Hotel Rus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Premier Hotel Rus
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice hotel in good location”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This is a perfectly nice hotel to stay in - our room was a bit small but it was clean and - as we were on the 14th floor - we had great views over the city. It's a short walk to the Palast Sportu metro stop, and near one very nice restaurant - the Pervak. We had some problems getting a taxi from the hotel, but an Avis outlet at the hotel is useful for booking taxis to the airport and in advance (it was about £30 to the airport from the hotel). The Terrace Bar is rather atmosphere-free, but beer is cheap, and the breakfast was nothing special but fine. A business centre at the hotel has internet access for 10p a minute, and there is wifi access throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    331
    195
    43
    17
See reviews for
52
145
146
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

The quality of Hotels in Kiev vary considerably, Hotel Rus is a reasonable compromise. At first impressions its very large and bland facade gives the impression the taxi driver has taken you to an office block! Built in the soviet era it is fairly representative of the architecture of the time. It is very central to the city centre, has been refurbished to a good standard and the restaurant serves good quality local food. Service like much of the CIS countries is fairly stoic but polite. I have stayed here many times and never had any problems, maybe due to the regiment of security guards employed!

Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Porkie_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is one of the two hotels I have stayed at in Kiev, Ukraine over the past few years. There are many different room size styles to choose from. Get a little larger room $200, since the small ones $125 are very small. I like the location, overall security and quality. The bar is good and the restaurant ok.

Their business center is very good for internet use. Speed is good and cost me about $15 hour. Well worth the price while this far away from the USA. There was no internet connection in the rooms when I was there. Taxi's are waiting there and it's easy to change money at their bank window.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Good hotel in central Kiev. Bit noisy right now, coz of construction activities even at night for the new stadium next to the hotel. Clean rooms and restaurant, friendly staff.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank saubaer3488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed in Kiev in October 2009 for one night during a business trip. I found Rus Hotel by chance but I am happy that I finally stayed there. Even though it is in a refurbished socialist building, the interior is really nice (a lot nicer than one would expect) and my room was really spacious with a great view on Kiev. The staff is helpful, though not overly friendly but the lavish breakfast makes up for it.
Be prepared that even though wi-fi internet is available everywhere in the hotel, you will still be charged for it. (It is UAH 120 for 24 hours.)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubinator42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed just one night at the Hotel Rus and was pleasantly surprise. Yes it's a basic 3 star hotel, but if you don't expect more than that, then I think it's great. The staff were all smiles on check in, the room was an ok size for a single and very clean.
The location is also great just 5 minutes from the start of the main shopping street in Kiev.

My only grip was that the bathroom was really, really small. But having spoken to work colleague it sounds like this is not the case in every room

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
830 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

With the price 85 USD for single room, with a very good location, walking distance to the centre, as well as to the metro station and heaving interesting view on the slow progress of the works of the National Football Stadium. the choice of hotel "Rus" is really reasonable option, if you are not going to throw out your money through the window. Of course you have accept, that your room is small, slightly dated, the bathroom is very common and sometimes you have to wait for the table at the breakfast. The building is from the Soviet time, so do not expect special impression of its architecture and style.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Cosmopolite Hotel
#11 of 111 in Kiev
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
392 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#24 of 111 in Kiev
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Rus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Rus

Property: Premier Hotel Rus
Address: Hospitalna vul. 4, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#29 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Rus 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Hotel Rus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rus Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing