We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed from 15th of April until 21st, the hotel is clean, room was very good, there was some noises because of refurbishing but it is ok, the service is friendly, they speak fair English, but it is pricey for a 4 stars hotel. The bathroom was clean, hot water available all time, actually there are no complains, breakfast was nice, New LCD, the room was well equipped, Wifi available but sometimes you lose connection, but it comes back in a very little time, WIFI in the lobby is stable and having a reasonable download speed, It is a good hotel i would recommend,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youssef F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the President hotel over (UK) Easter. We god a tremendous deal on Expedia and the hotel looked decent enough online. Infact it seems as though the whole place has been renovated which, to our benefit was great. Rooms are a decent size with a clean and spacious bathroom. I would mention that the water in the bathroom had a slight browness about it....we were warned about this by someone we met in the immigation queue, needless to say showers all round, no baths!
The bar area was simple and the service a little slow but to be honest the city has so much to offer it would be a waste to spend an evening in the bar unless travelling on business when in which case it is perfectly adequate.
We booked return airport transfer with the hotel which was good - possibly a little expensive but the taxi's in Kiev are a law unto themselves so this really was the best option

Room Tip: Most rooms would be good - there are no noisy bars, building sites or roads near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had paid for a cheaper, basic room but on booking in were upgraded to a newly refurbished and much more expensive room. The staff were courteous and helpful at all times and spoke excellent English.The room was great (comfortable and quiet- there was some occasional building noise but we only heard it when we were around late morning or early afternoon.) The location was good. It was a ten minute walk to restaurants and bars just off Khreschatyk and the nearest metro stop (Palats Sporto- line 1 & 3 interchange) is a 5 minutes walk downhill via some steps just north of the stadium).

Kiev itself is a decent, inexpensive city break- you can eat and drink in plush bars and restaurants for a lot cheaper than London and if you are willing to eat at the fast food, Ukrainian eateries (eg Puzata Hata which is short walk on Vul Baseina) its very cheap- two courses and beer for about £5)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Having got mildly ripped off by taxi driver, arrived in hotel to se reception/bar TV showing Arsenal v AC Milan; sadly the one we lost dramatically; so not a good start. When closing curtains in our room, many of the hooks just fell off - very flimsy; still not fixed by end of our 3-day stay. Breakfast a bit pricey, so we did our 'own thing'. Had to pay to use gym and pool in the evenings (circa 8 EUR, I think). We were only able to reserve twin beds, but with some ingenuity, able to join them up.

Room spacious and clean enough. Cleaned well each day. Reception helpful; especially enabling me to use the office PC to do online check-in for home-bound flights.

Location fine for us, just off centre, but we walked absolutely everywhere, but could have chosen to use metros, as stations widespread. Bit of a walk uphill to hotel (400m). Close to Olympic Stadium, and 10 minutes walk from a biggish square, with statue of Lenin close by, with many shops around, even below ground. Could even pick up a Ferrari to take home!

We chose to walk back to the main station on departure, catching a couple of more 'sights' along the way; not to everyone's taste, but metros available.

Direction signs in Kiev are pretty sparse and unhelpful. I can read some cyrillic, which helps. Expect this will improve with the Eurochamps coming up this summer

Room Tip: Handle curtains very carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Already stayed there in the past couple of times, due to the central location, and not particularly due to the high quality, but last time I stayed in a refurbished room, and that was clearly a big improvement compared to the past. A medium flatscreen is on the wall, nice bathroom, replaced window/balcony door, the whole room looked really fresh and nice. Well done, nice improvement, as I heard the repair is still ongoing, so hopefully soon the whole hotel will be refurbished. Looks like they prepare for EURO 2012 :)
By the way the sushi is quite good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentHotelKiev, Front Office Manager at President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your attention and for noticing our improvement. We really work on refurbishing of old rooms and providing there everything to make your stay in President Hotel more pleasurable and comfortable. By the beginning of Euro 2012 championship all hotel rooms will be renovated.
We are happy that you enjoyed our sushi menu, and would be glad to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel strives to be a 4-5 star hotel but it fails. They constantly try to rip you off. Their transportation service is horrible. They charge 3-4 times more than a normal taxi. And their prices change depending on how you look. Plus even if they call you a cab it somehow is more expensive than if you called one yourself. They don't treat you as a customer but as an ATM machine. The location is ok but the hotel is situated up a hill. If your business is paying fine, but if you are a business person who is money conscious then don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank golfaholic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentHotelKiev, Front Office Manager at President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Sir,
We appreciate very much to get your comment and we are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the transportation service.
We have a contracted international partner in the hotel which provides transportation services to 4*-5* hotels – AVIS. Since they guarantee the quality of the service, have professional English speaking drivers, offer nice cars and provide the passengers with the insurance – the price is a bit higher than city taxi. However you can be sure that your life and your belongings are safe.
The rates are fixed, one way trip to Boryspil airport costs 400 UAH. All prices you can check with the reception or with transportation coordinator.
Of course, upon request we can call you the city taxi or provide you with the telephone numbers of the taxi service companies.
We hope to welcome you again in President Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

It has been over 2 years since I last stayed at this hotel and on my latest visit I saw that little had changed.

The standard rooms are still very Soviet style with weak lighting, sticking curtains, huge tvs, very basic bedding and so much dark wood it only added to the feeling of melancholy from the seriously minus temperatures outside. However it was a reasonable price for Kiev on a hotel and flight deal from Expedia and frnkly the only way that would persuade me to stay here.

The dankness of the standard rooms and corridors upstairs was in complete contrast to the the almost grandeur of the public areas dominated by reception and the coffee bar which doubles as a place of work for certain ladies at night.

The staff were reasonably cheerful in an Eastern European way, seeming to be shy but efficient. Sometimes overly efficient in the constant changing of ashtrays in the coffee bar which is 100% smoking. At times it was like a conveyor belt of waitresses. It was apparent that it was one instruction from the bar manager which was carried out to the letter.

Deals including breakfast are probably worth considering as the buffet costs HRV231, about EURO23. The buffet was standard fare, no toast, but plenty of cake, sweet and fruit selection. The al a carte menu I felt offered better value with bacon, poached eggs, toast, proper orange juice and freshly made coffee which came in at HRV135 or so. It seemed a very strange pricing structure.

3 course dinner was good at around HRV140 and the choices were many from international cuisine, pasta and Ukrainian favourites. The trip to the dining room is however a two lift journey. One down to the lobby and then a change to go down to the restaurant.

Refurbishments are continuing so expect some noise during the day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 112 in Kiev
793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kyiv
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
1.0 mi away
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
#8 of 112 in Kiev
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kiev
Holiday Inn Kiev
#10 of 112 in Kiev
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: Hospitalna vul. 12, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £84 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star President Hotel is located in the city centre, on a picturesque hill, just 7 minutes walk from Khreschatik street, the main street of Kiev, 5 minutes from Olmpiysky stadium, Sports Palace, Central Synagogue. President Hotel offers comfortable rooms, Wellness Centre, multifunctional conference halls and several restaurants and two banquet halls. President Hotel offers 221 guest rooms:• 195 Executive Single/DoubleTwin Rooms (22 sq.m);• 20 Junior Suites (38 sq.m);• 5 Suites (60 sq.m);• 1 Apartment (82 sq.m). Room amenities include:- desk and working area;- luggage table;- minibar;- two line telephone;- non-allergic bed linen and pillows;- bottled water;- European-style bedding;- ergonomic desk chairs;- individual climate control system;- in-room safety-deposit box;- LCD TVsets with satellite television and interactive TV;- electronic room key;- black-out curtains;- robes & slippers;- hairdryer;- tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing