We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and specious rooms”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed there in May this year. The staff is nice and pleasant (more smiles would be appreciated) but reception is very slow. The rooms are big and clean and all worked well but the air conditioning which produced very strange noise.

Breakfast buffet was good with a big variety of food. Coffee could be better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the President twice over a two week period in late May. The hotel is conveniently located in walking distance of the Maidan and other sites of interest to tourists. On our first two-night stay we found our room very hot the first night, but managed to get the air conditioner to work for the second night. The room itself was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. When we returned at 9 a.m. a week later for a second stay, we found our new room unbearably hot. When the thermostat did not respond, we requested maintenance, and with the assurance the problem would be resolved in a few minutes, we went out for the day. We returned about six hours later to sauna conditions. Numerous calls to the desk from two tired, sweaty guests resulted in an upgrade to a suite with a view on the ninth floor. Our only regret is that we were checking out at 3:30 a.m. and could not enjoy the amenities longer.

Room Tip: There are problems with the AC in parts of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived 9 o'clock in the morning. They charged me over $100 for early check in. When I got to my room the toilet had a dirty toilet paper in it. Got back to reception and asked for another room. Nobody even said "excuse us". Another room had a terrible smell in the bathroom. Was too tired to wait for another room.

I've been in this hotel many times during last five years. This is my last stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergiy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Hotel_Kiev, Public Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.
Taking into consideration the situation you have faced at President Hotel, may I ask you kindly to advise the details of your reservation and your contact information in order I can launch an internal investigation.

Many thanks in advance,

Yours sincerely,

Olga Kovalchuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean modern hotel with very good service. Rooms are a little small but still comfortable. Would stay there again. Is in good location, centrally located with nice shopping within walking distance. We will stay there on our next trip to Kiev.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The outside soviet exterior can be a bug deceptive... nice reno of the rooms, very contemporaty in sttyle and comfort. There have been big improvements here in the last couple years. Bar service can be a big slow but its a pleasant large business hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank niki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

As I write this I am mid way through an eight night stay at the President, my third since December 2013. The property is large, rooms are a decent size, beds a large and comfy and the bathrooms spacious.

The food is decent bordering on very good (I've worked my way through a lot of the menu) and breakfast is decent. The food prices are reasonable for a hotel as well which is nice.

The staff are great, everyone has a good standard of English (well everyone I have spoken to at least). The Sauna is good (I am off down there to relax as soon as I hit 'submit' on this review).

On the downsides... yes the place is a little dated but if you want the Four Seasons then you will be paying a lot more than the costs of the President.

Oddly there is no iron and ironing board in the room, instead you take your items to an ironing room on the 10th floor, this is a little inconvenient but not the end of the world.

Finally...and if you've stayed in certain other places in Kiev this may resonate with you, the bar is enjoyably free of Prostitutes. Whilst I am no prude it really can be a pain when on business to have to avoid the more predatory sex workers by avoiding the Hotel bar(s).

This is not an issue at the President...so if you want a little something-something after a day of business meetings you won't get it here and the rest of us can enjoy the facilities unmolested (forgive the pun).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taff777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Second visit in president hotel . I like the modern room in floor 8 and also the location ( 5 minutes walk from city center ) the good service and tasty food in lobby restaurant . All facilities in president hotel with very good quality . It is New renovation and modern hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank dov48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kyiv
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 111 in Kiev
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CityHotel
CityHotel
#20 of 111 in Kiev
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kiev
Holiday Inn Kiev
#12 of 111 in Kiev
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: Hospitalna vul. 12, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £97 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star President Hotel is located in the city centre, on a picturesque hill, just 7 minutes walk from Khreschatik street, the main street of Kiev, 5 minutes from Olmpiysky stadium, Sports Palace, Central Synagogue. President Hotel offers comfortable rooms, Wellness Centre, multifunctional conference halls and several restaurants and two banquet halls. President Hotel offers 221 guest rooms:• 195 Executive Single/DoubleTwin Rooms (22 sq.m);• 20 Junior Suites (38 sq.m);• 5 Suites (60 sq.m);• 1 Apartment (82 sq.m). Room amenities include:- desk and working area;- luggage table;- minibar;- two line telephone;- non-allergic bed linen and pillows;- bottled water;- European-style bedding;- ergonomic desk chairs;- individual climate control system;- in-room safety-deposit box;- LCD TVsets with satellite television and interactive TV;- electronic room key;- black-out curtains;- robes & slippers;- hairdryer;- tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing