We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but a few problems”
Review of Kiev Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiev Hotel
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This hotel had been booked for us, a married couple, by local friends. The wedding we were attending was nearby and the reception was to be held in this hotel.
Confusion when we checked in - we were told two rooms had been booked! We took one - and discovered it appeared to be a single, albeit with a big bed; however, one side of this was against the wall, and the bed could not be moved. They seemed to think my husband was the only guest staying, and only took his details, despite the fact we were accompanied by our Ukrainian friends, who did all the talking for us, in Russian AND Ukranian! Only one set of towels provided, and only one breakfast charged for. We had to sign each day to say there really were two of us for breakfast. For the two days after the wedding, the breakfast food appeared to be exactly the same as what was left over from the wedding. . . and we still had to pay £15 each for every breakfast! Little English spoken; no money exchange facilities (try the hotel next door for this) and very expensive hotel shops (antique icons; diamonds etc)
All in all, seemed very expensive for a mediocre experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2009

The old hotel from Soviet era. Very small rooms with old furniture. As been booked the standart room i need to change it to deluxe one due to the condition of first. For the price i paid you could get much better service in Kiev.
Restoran is something you shouldn't try, there are dozens of a good places around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

The best thing about Hotel Kiev is it’s view over the park. If you get a room high enough, the vista of the horizon is absolutely stunning. But, because of its condition, it is outrageously overpriced. There is masking tape over the window frames, presumably to reduce the cold air. The carpet was filthy, there was blood on the bedspread and the sheets did not cover the sides of the bed. Our room was a good size, the public rooms are nice and we found the staff to be friendly enough. It has the potential to be a lovely hotel but needs some major renovation first.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

It was far too expensive. What you pay is not waht you get. the rooms are VERY small. ehad a room for 2 poeple, but had just one towel set. Had to ask for the second one. Breakfast was good. thee room was clean, but very small.
front desk personnel - just terrible. they would not even bother to stop talking when clients are there. My husband asked to an internet card and was advised to come back as they 'had a break"! Well, three ladies were talking to each other and drinking coffee at the front desk.
The least helpful front desk personnel!!! We needed to find one place, they did not bother to help at all. After 2 days of running around, we figured out that it was located.... 10 minutes walk down the stress from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Владимир З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vadym_Wadym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank persot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Sherborne ApartHotel
#27 of 112 in Kiev
197 reviews
Lypky
Natsionalny Hotel
Natsionalny Hotel
#34 of 112 in Kiev
98 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#23 of 112 in Kiev
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#85 of 112 in Kiev
95 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiev Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiev Hotel

Address: Hrushevskoho Mykhajla vul. 26/1, Kiev 01021, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £32 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiev Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiev Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ukraine Kiev Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing