We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, in the Independence Square (Maidan Nezhalezhnosti), near the subway station and a lot of restaurants at Khreschatik.
The building looks quite old, but the rooms are renovated, so it wasn't so bad, althought do not expect western standards, especially cleanliness in the bathroom could be better.
The staff was the worst I have ever met in hotels. They are feeling like 'the master' there and you are the petitioner. I think it's a habit taken from communism times, but it is really annoying.
Breakfast was quite simple, better to eat somewhere nearby.
To sum up - an average hotel with not so good staff but in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is correct, nice suite on the top of the hotel with the best view of Kiev !!!
Ask for the room 1406.
The location is top, 1 minute to walk to Krishatik !
You have a nice 2 bathroom, a large bedroom and a small living room, but the view is just incredible, day and night.
The breakfast is good and you have choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top and also with view on the independance square !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

An old hotel that is in a near perfect location. There are nicer places to stay nearby but one could do much worse than the Hotel Ukraine. Rooms are well worn but good size and decent bathrooms and beds/bedding. The entrance to the strip club off the lobby is a bit disconcerting but once you get past it you are good. I wouldn't eat in the hotel if I could avoid it. There are many great choices nearby. A bit of history for a western visitor. I have stayed at other modern, small hotels nearby which I would say are better values but this place is not bad.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6mith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

For many years the hotel situation in Kiev has been difficult for those who are looking for OK hotels at a decent price. You either had to choose the old Soviet style hotels or the ultra-expensive luxury hotels. Luckily this is about to change with the arrival of several mid-range hotels. Some of them are new, but Hotel Ukraine is not new. It has just become better.

I have stayed there 3 times, and I will for sure stay there again. First of all because the location is excellent, only a few meters from Kiev’s famous Independence Square (Maidan Nezalezhnosti). Second, because the prices are reasonable and the service is good.

The last two times my girlfriend and I had a nice room with balcony overlooking Maidan Nezalezhnosti. The room seemed to have been renovated recently, and it had both air-condition and internet connection (wired, not WLAN).

The only thing I can really complain about is the breakfast. The selection of hot dishes should have been better. But if you want to eat your breakfast somewhere else, just walk to Globus shopping center and order breakfast in one of the cafes there. It is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

So if you are looking for a good hotel in the center of Kiev and don't want to drain your wallet completely you should give Hotel Ukraine a try! :))

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arrow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a wonderful room for our 3 night stay in September 2011. I admit that I was somewhat concerned given the widely different opinions on this hotel. Our 6th floor suite room overlooked Independence Square. The extra spacce was a nice touch and the wife was very happy with it. You need to obtain your room key from the Floor Warden who does not speak any English which makes for interesting pantomime when you need additional toiletries or laundry. Breakfast is served in the main dining room and is quite ample. Business Center has several computers and printer available for a small fee; only open from 0900-1800.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Arrived at 22:30 and in the reception were two ugly looking unfriendly ladies. They did not speak english well and although I had vouchers for three single rooms and confirmation numbers on my vouchers, they told me that only for two rooms they had made arrangements. They hold our passports for the third room until the morning to check with their reservation office but due to that reason durring that night, we had a bad experience -as we went out for dinner after check in- with the police since we had no identity with us. We were arrested and stay at the police office for 1,5 hours and finally pay a fee of 70 Euro each person.
Old style smoky rooms, with no safe box, wifi for a fee in the reception area only, no restaurant but had a strip club open 20 hours a day, bad breakfast.
The only good thing is the location in the center of Kiev and 100 meters from the metro.
Keep away, bad experience

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pediatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Excellent location, and we were lucky to get a refurbished room at a reasonable price - a last-minute booking. Some things about the hotel were great : location, our large and comfortable room,good welcoming receptionist who spoke good English, cups of tea available from the concierge on our floor, the bathroom, despite the strong blue tiling, all worked well.Some things were less good: having to put the fresh linen on our duvets and pillows on arrival, being charged 5 UAH for tea on day 1 and the concierge two days later telling us the price was 10 UAH -she was not amused when my husband joked about 100% inflation! Our TV seemed to be from an internet feed, and was constantly interrupted by a message indicaton a problem with the server, so you had to switch off and switch on again - and three minutes later the transmission was again interrupted......There is wifi in the hotel - but you must pay. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but no fruit. The direct phone in the room meant we could make local calls to landlines for free and calls to mobiles at a very reasonable rate. We telephoned a taxi company and booked a taxi to collect us at the hotel and take us to the airport on departure, and that worked very well. It cost us UAH175.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladylondon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
425 reviews
Senator Maidan
#2 of 112 in Kiev
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 112 in Kiev
814 reviews
Lypky
Kiev Hotel
Kiev Hotel
#67 of 112 in Kiev
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing