We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible!!!!”
Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

usually i never write any reviews but i just wanted to warn people NOT to stay in here. this is a hotel from horrow movie. not only its beyond soviet union time with the same sort of square minded stuff but it needs major renovation. you can hear people walking upstairs and i personaly was scared to walk on the floor with my bare feets as its worser then in any hostel. to say that the bathrooms are disgusting is to say nothing- tipical public toilet would have nice tilling and sinks and a bath itself. at one point the flush just broke dawn! room decoration is way to old, the linens are 20 yers old and im not joking!!!! i was very pleased to have a room opposite independent square on the 10 floor it had a good view BUT on the weekends they play very loud music on square(some local bands i presume) which makes your stay unbearable. the food at breakfast is tastless, reminded me of hospital food. so please think twice if you wish to stay at this, i would say 1-2 star hotel and go through all this just for a great location!

Room Tip: good location. not to take a room facing the main square during the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamara221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Директор по продажам at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm really sorry that You had to experience discomfort in the hotel. Surely, the protests on Majdan could disturb Your rest, and, probably, the room in which You stayed, disappointed You.
Almost all rooms in the hotel are renovated, and only in Economy Rooms tiles in bathrooms remained since the hotel was build. We are aware of the discrepancy of these toilets to declared category of the hotel, and that is why we sell them much cheaper than the rest of the Room Fund. If something in your room doesn't work, you could just inform reception desk, and they have to change your room or call technical stuff to eliminate the problem.

For the last 4 months the Hotel has a new team, which aims to improve the quality of services, and provides service to the world standards. I hope that the guests will admire not only the location of the hotel, but the friendly staff, and the excellent relation price-quality.

We will be glad to see You again at the Hotel, to be able to change Your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    328
    244
    75
    45
See reviews for
78
144
195
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed there for 5 days while I was on a business trip. Then suddenly there was a fire on the 8th floor (we stayed on the 4th), which was very scary, as we all had to evacuate the building immediately. The firemen worked well and extinguished the fire in half an hour.
The food is the same everyday, and the building is very soviet style. The beds are too soft, no a/c in the rooms. Wouldn't go there.

P.S. Location is the best )

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor, so that you can evacuate the building faster
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Директор по продажам at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for Your feedback. I am sorry that You have felt stress in the hotel during fire. Ignition has arisen due to one of the guests, who had used a faulty electrical appliance in the room, and, during the evacuation, he has not closed the door and window, allowing the spread of fire on the corridor. The hotel staff has responsible attitude
to the fire safety and, when the emergency happened, everyone acted quickly and smoothly, and I‘m very pleased, that at that day none of guests or staff suffered.

According service quality, I have to inform You, that we have changed the staff of the restaurant recently - we pay attention to a variety of breakfasts, and we can offer you an absolutely new menu A La Carte. Air conditioners are installed in all rooms, even in Economy Rooms.
Many thanks for helping us to improve the service in the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Iin the city center of Kiev, the hotel is weLL situated. however extremely outdated in terms if finishing, decor and even staff. Hotel needs a major overhall and younger staff. you do feel at times your visiting a home for the aged. Decent accomodation in the least, Breakfest menu needs updating.

Room Tip: The hotel is decent, however considering international standards it would be consisdered a 2 star ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavanjugroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the best location in Kiev. Near everything. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thumbs up for Hotel Ukraina. Classic Soviet style building which gives you a retro feel of CCCP. Staff is getting more and more friendly. Very good at the moment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted. Near a tube and easy walking to most places. On arrival the service is perfunctory and we felt as if we are imposing on the staff by checking in. They did warm slightly during our stay however. Our room was very dated though of a good size. Our companions bathroom flooded when the shower was used. We had no toilet paper in ours at all and the loo had not been flushed even though it had disinfected signs all over it. The breakfast was adequate but not great. Very reasonable charge for late check out. The staff did come into their own when one of our party was at the hotel on her own and was thane very ill. They were helpful calling a doctor and an interpreter very quickly. Would stay there again for the location and cgood value city break but not for a luxury break.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Hotel Ukraine is in a great location. The central location made it easy to get around old town and all the main sites. The staff wasn't overly friendly and it was difficult to understand how to get my laundry done. The staffs' limited English lead to that confusion. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_O_2013A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A wonderful reminder of how Soviet hotels used to be, this monolith in the centre of Kiev has made some faltering efforts to update itself (the receptionists are now sour in English) but it remains stuck in the past. Here the customer comes last, from the moment you arrive and have to climb the steep steps to the revolting breakfast (the coffee I am sure is made with dust and chalk). It is, however, clean and well located with slightly unreliable wifi, so if you can get a cheap deal and don't need any of life's comforts then it's worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shepleygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 111 in Kiev
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#12 of 111 in Kiev
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dnipro Hotel
Dnipro Hotel
#53 of 111 in Kiev
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Property: Hotel Ukraine
Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing