We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service with high value for money”
Review of CityHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityHotel
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Cityhotel has become my hotel of choice in Kiev mainly based on the location in the center of the city, well furnished rooms with great beds, clean and rather efficient. The value for money is high. I do not have the breakfast as I feel that it is the only item that is overpriced. In addition, there is a nice little cafe/bakery just around the corner. The restaurant has a wonderful view over Kiev but the food is nothing special though tolerable with the exception of the salmon that you should not order. The wine list provides a rather decent selection. Overall one of the best in Kiev unless you want to waste money on the big chains.

Room Tip: I have not noticed much difference in terms of street noise. It is calm and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia V, Front Office Manager at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank You for finding time to write the review! We appreciate Your comments and help in our efforts to improve our services!
We are grateful for choosing CITYHOTEL for your stay in Kiev and we'll be delighted to welcome You again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I researched quite heavily hotels in Kiev and then based on some personal recommendations and what I found on tripadvisor, I booked a room for 3 nights. I am very pleased with the result. The staff was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. They all spoke english quite well. The room was very clean, very quiet, and I felt quite safe and secure. The wifi was free and good (but be careful as my account was hacked a bit when i was there) and the free breakfast was acceptable. A small choice of food but okay for a small breakfast. The location was quite good for getting around and close to a number of easy places to eat and only 15-20 min walk to many of the historic/sights one would want to see. The price was good and it was a friendly hotel. I would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalreviewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Nice and central, english speaking staff with a smile (non so common in kiev). Decent sized rooms, well furnished, comfortable sleep. Good breakfast (and nice restaurant in the evening with night view of the city. All in all much better than more priced and famous hotels in town. Definitely will come back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIOPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illias_Balbert, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear GIOPIX,

In CITYHOTEL we highly appreciate our guests' reviews. CITYHOTEL Team wants to thank You for Your review, kind words and positive evaluation of our service level and hotel's facilities.

Please be reminded, that staying with us on a regular basis gives opportunity of membership card and different bonuses at the CITYHOTEL (ask sales representative in order to discuss Your personal membership)! Furthermore, booking Your stay via hotel's website, email or phone guarantees Your best accommodation rate!

Looking forward to welcome You back at the CITYHOTEL!

Sincerely Yours,
CITYHOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The quality of sleep and comfort of the bed are excellent. I've stayed in 5* hotels that were by far worse this one from this perspective. Many attraction areas are within walking distance and if you need to reach other places, the subway station is few minutes away.
Breakfast is good, although once per week they don't have many choices except coffee and omelette that you need to order - at least this happened every week I've stayed there.
I'd say altogether it's a very good choice when you're in Kiev.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the main street might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arcadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illias_Balbert, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mr. Arcadie P,

Thank You for Your review and opinion of the CITYHOTEL, its' infrastructure and service level. Please be reminded, that all the reviews are being strictly monitored and controlled due to the fact, that we appreciate and highly value our guests' opinion.

Also, I would like to thank You for Your evaluation. Your remarks regarding breakfast will be revised and considered for the future improvement.

Booking Your next stay in Kiev via our website or email/phone guarantees Your best rate!

Sincerely Yours,
CITYHOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent 6 night in this hotel. It's a new hotel, clean and well located. Free Wi-Fi and free access to the fitness club. The breakfast was really good and the view from the restaurant (15th floor) is great.

The staff at the reception is nice and kind but the staff serving breakfast were antipathetic.

One important thing I didn't appreciate, they ask you to pay all night before. Strange! Seems they don't trust their customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globe_trotter_maxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illias_Balbert, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Globe_trotter_maxx,

Thank You for Your review and evaluation regarding our hotel and service level.

We appreciate and strictly control all the reviews of our dear guests. Moreover, please be advised that Your review and opinion are important for us. On the other hand, I would like to apologize for lack of service level of a restaurant staff and ensure You that we will monitor their performance level and obviously focus on coaching/supervising.

Furthermore, please stay in touch with us through our website or facebook page. Remember, booking Your accommodation via website/email/phone guarantees Your best rate at the CITYHOTEL!

Sincerely Yours,
Illia Balbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was my second time at the City Hotel, and it just gets better. The staff are wonderfully helpful, the 'meet and greet' airport service is inexpensive and the superb driver speaks English. My room was spacious, clean and warm, with free wifi.. The shower is excellent, with lots of gels and soaps for free, as well as a bathrobe and complimentary slippers. There is coffee and tea in the rooms, and a mini bar, although the prices are steep. The restaurant serves local and international cuisine, which is wonderful in its quality and presentation. Breakfast could do with more freshly prepared fruit and a wider selection of yogourts, but the view from the restaurant (15th floor) is marevellous. This hotel represents great value for money, and is located in the city centre too. I will definitely be back again, and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illias_Balbert, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Steviecee,

Thank You for You review and overall evaluation of our services provided. CITYHOTEL Team does its' best to perform the highest level of service for all our guests. On the other hand, we are extremely thankful for Your loyalty towards our hotel. Keep on staying with us and You will definetely be complimented with our loyalty program, which consists of special rates, compliments and amenities.

Also, please be reminded that starting of February we are launching plenty of new and interesting special deals. Moreover, booking Your stay via direct booking channels - website, email, phone - will guarantee Your stay at outstanding rates.

Looking forward to welcome You back again at the CITYHOTEL!

Sincerely Yours,
CITYHOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

City Hotel is in walking distance of all the important sights in Kyiv. The Hotel is brand new, and you can enjoy your (not very tasteful) breakfast at the topfloor with a great view. The staf is nice and kind, especially they who speak English.

The room where on the expensive side, but had great value. A lot of space and a bathroom bigger than my apartment back home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fotballitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illias_Balbert, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Fotballitalia,

Greetings from CITYHOTEL Kiev!

Thank You for Your review and service level evaluation. We truly believe that Your further stays with us will be even more comfortable and joyful.

Please, be advised that starting February we are launching plenty of interesting deals and special offers. Do not miss the chance to visit winter Kiev with absolutely outstanding prices and/or packages!

Looking forward to welcome You back again!

Sincerely Yours,
CITYHOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
410 reviews
Opera Hotel
#6 of 112 in Kiev
482 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 112 in Kiev
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityHotel

Address: Khmelnytskoho Bohdana vul. 56 A, Kiev 01030, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £100 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CityHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITYHOTEL is situated in business, historical and diplomatic center of Kiev. The hotel offers 87 comfortable rooms with LED-TV, ergonomic workspace, Wi-Fi and direct local/international telephone connection in each room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning system, mini-bars and mini-safes. CITYHOTEL - is a part of business lifestyle, modern technologies, fast and excellent service and reasonable prices. CITYHOTEL - is a restrained style along with elegance and comfort, functional design, individuality and refinement, cozy atmosphere and high class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CityHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing