We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”
Review of Pumba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pumba Hostel
Ranked #108 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Pumba Hostel for five days. We have got only possitive impressions there. Hostel has a very good location and democratic price. There was clear and comfortable. All its walls and corners are penetrated by frendly atmosphere. Special thanks to Sergey who is an administrator for his great welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanstantsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Pumba Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great location and chill atmosphere. The hostel is about a 5 min walk from two metro stations and the main train station, and there's a pub next door. The owner Sergei was helpful and friendly. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewie_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for one night in the double room. The hostel is well located: a 5 min walk from 2 metro stations and the main train station, and there's a pub next door. It's a small place w a chilled out vibe. The owner Sergei was helpful and cool about letting us check-in in the morning, which we greatly appreciated after the overnight train journey. I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: If you stay in the double room, note that the door can't be locked, but there are lockers for va...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonergal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very friendly staff, informal place, small and personal as it is a converted flat into a small hostel. The only problem to mention is that there is just one room with toilet and bath/shower, i.e. a need to wait when hostel is full, or girls take their time :)). There is one private room for two, but it is not good for couples - the bed cannot be made "double" (a hole stays inbetween even though beds are next to each other), and the room is just next to a common kitchen that is being frequently used, and there is neither sound isolation nor a possibility to lock. This hostel is an ideal place for relaxed backpackers, i.e. those who are not under time stress and like to get to know other travellers and talk to a very friendly staff. Located just few minutes walk from the main railway station this hostel is ideal for all those who arrive and depart by train.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very close to the central station and the Universitet underground station. Only three rooms so a very cosy and familiar feeling. The owner Sergeyhas done a great job and is eager to help with any queries (tourist info, calling a cab). Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: i think it is worth to pay a little more extra and stay in the 6-bed room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

For 12 euros a night you can stay at this new hostel near Kiev Pas station. The beds are new in the dorm and there is 1 room available for private use. It is remarkably friendly place, you instantly have friends if you have just arrived from the train, You can also do your own thing and be private too, I hasten to add. There is a kitchen, TV room with HUGE TV and cable TV. There is a small smoking room too and you will be invited in to have chat and shisha smoke, for this non smoker, the smoke did not seem to annoy me. Entry times are flexible, there is a big supermarket towards the station, and a nice restaurant that does a cheap "business lunch" during the week.
The best thing is the staff, being a new hostel, they are very very eager to please and make you feel at home. I was very impressed with them all.
Bad points? Well being such a great place would normally cause me to award my first ever 5 star, but I have to say that there is only 1 bathroom, if the hostel is full ( like Euro 2012 football), and there are females taking long baths and putting on makeup in the morning, many occupants would be bursting. I found this quite poor.
I liked the decorations, old Soviet stuff. I guess that the staff will eventually have to deal with a few bad customers , expensive bills that will make them change, but, for judging things as they for the moment at least, I award 4 stars for a great place to stay

Room Tip: There is 1 aircon dorm
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 522sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Opera Hotel
#7 of 111 in Kiev
472 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hermitage Hotel
#10 of 131 in Kiev
25 reviews
Night & Day Hostel Kiev
#144 of 391 in Kiev
17 reviews
IrisHotels Kiev
#58 of 131 in Kiev
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumba Hostel

Address: Simona Petlyury St.,18, Kiev 0200, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Kiev
Price Range: £9 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUMBA HOSTEL is your second home, situated near one of the most popular places for strolling in the centre of Kiev – the Fomin’s botanical garden. Olimpic stadium, the place where Euro 2012 football games are carried out, is only in a 15-minutes walk. The walk to Khreschatyk, the main street of Kiev, takes same time. In 5-minutes walk there is a central Railway station and bus station. There is also a Cyrcus and “Ukraine” store not far from us, at the Victory square. The location is so good that it is hard to think of a better one!Lodging conditions completely supply all the necessary comfort. Spacious rooms with air conditioning, comfortable beds with orthopedic mattresses and gentle bed clothes are waiting for you! There is also plasma TV with numerous channels, comfortable sofas and chairs in the restroom. Usage of laptop, internet, fresh press, tea, coffee and cooler – are included in the price. There are also a well-equipped WC and all the necessary stuff for washing.The PUMBA Hostel staff is high qualified and very friendly. We talk different foreign languages and will take care of you with sincere kindness. Moreover, we know how to make your stay at PUMBA maximully comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing