We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel 5 min's walk from Indep. Sq.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bontiak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bontiak Hotel
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value hotel 5 min's walk from Indep. Sq.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bontiak Hotel 6 nights due to prior reviews, and value.
The hotel is about 5 min. walk down some stairs and a hill street to Indep. Sq..
The Bontiak is a good value for anyone seeking a hotel that has newer furnishing, comfortable bedding, is clean throughout, and offers a good breakfast choices delivered to your.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelman964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    71
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
55
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LukewarmCatastrophe
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our trip to Kiev was a short one (for a concert at the October Palace which was sadly cancelled due to the ongoing troubles).

We wanted a simple, budget hotel that was close enough to the places that we wanted to be but still offered a safe enough haven if things were to escalate.

After careful consideration of many hotels within a similar price range, I opted for Hotel Bontiak.

I had read one of the bad reviews and thought it was a genius marketing tactic how management had replied offering 25% off to any Tripadvisor reader that had read the bad review and still wanted to stay in the hotel.

I duly e-mailed the reception desk to arrange my discount and this was agreed without quibble meaning the cost of the room was about £37 and I was able to pay in cash on arrival.

My first dealings with the hotel then, were of course all by e-mail and I have to say I was impressed with the courteousness and speed of the responses by the front desk. This was a very good start!

A few reviews mention the hotel is difficult to find. We struggled a little at first but only because I had forgotten to print off a map. In the end, we went to the Tourist Information Centre which is just down the road and they gave us a map and perfect directions. It's actually really easy to find when you know how and just a ten minute walk from the Zoloti Vorota metro station that we arrived into.

You will need to walk underneath the archway (the sign for Hotel Bontiak is only small pinned to the wall of the archway), cut through the car park and the hotel is just on your right.

The reception area is fairly spartan but we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room (a gentleman kindly carried our bags for us).

We were very, very impressed with the room! It was spacious, well lit and airy. Definitely business class. The bathroom had a superb self-enclosed shower unit, a wicker basket full of complimentary dead sea mineral toiletries, a modern hairdryer, box of tissues, endless fluffy white towels and good lighting.

The room had a desk, mirror, table, chairs, tea and coffee making facilities, robes, slippers, bottle opener, spotlights in the ceiling, a really cosy bed - it was just what we wanted and more! We had a lovely view of St Sophia's Cathedral bell tower from our room.

The room was absolutely pristine, almost as if no one else had ever stayed in it.

We were really sad to check out (as it signalled the end of a wonderful trip beginning in Edinburgh and continuing through Prague, Warsaw, St Petersburg, Moscow and culminating in Kiev) for us.

As the previous reviewer has mentioned, PLEASE don't be put off visiting Kiev. When our concert got cancelled, we considered going home early but sticking to our plans and visiting Kiev was one of the best decisions I've ever made in my life. Spending hours wandering Independence Square (just down the road from this hotel) has left memories etched in my mind and heart for the rest of my life. Kiev is an incredible place with incredible people and it deserves our tourist pound!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

By far one of the best quality hotels I have stayed in. Very helpful staff & a great nights sleep & superb shower. Breakfast in your room at no extra cost is also a great touch. But the best bit sound sad I know but the give you a KEY to get into the room. If you have traveled alot and used the credit card entry that has a 60% chance of letting you into the room you will know what I mean. Well done to the Owner, Management, Staff, Front of house & cleaners. An excellent job. PS Dont' let the TV & Media scare anyone from going to Kiev as my wife & I walked through Parliament 2 days ago & felt very safe. Peace & a quick settling down of the current issues to Ukraine. G & T Scotland

Room Tip: 409 is 20 ft from reception Great coffee shops near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Bontiak is more like a B&B than a full on hotel. They will bring breakfast to your room every morning as there is no restaurant in the building and the food was great with lots of choice (you have to decide a day ahead). Room was big and clean and the only downside was the bed (quite soft, although might be a preference of Ukrainians as all the other hotels we stayed had the same problem). Location is fantastic, just at the hear of Kiev but on a side street making it very calm and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is not a typical full service hotel, it is rather an upscale hostel with well-qualified staff, big, comfortable rooms in excellent location (very close to the city center and quiet at the same time) and good value considering other Kiev hotels around the city center. What stopped me from rating it at 'Excellent' level, was the feeling of staying in an office room, just not enough coziness, too formal. Also, and that's what one wouldn't usually expect missing in any hotel - no toilet paper holder in the bathroom! I've got the impression that the owners were rushing to deploy the hotel and some small things had been overlooked. Nevertheless, I will gladly stay at Bontiak next time when visiting Kiev.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice little hidden hotel 10mn away from Maidan
Reception not very beautiful, but very helpful staff
Wide rooms, good service, all available
Nice breakfast choice served directly in the room at given time
Confortable bed
only minus - neurasthenic light in the bathroom, making everyone look terrible in the morning ! :)

Room Tip: all rooms are nice as they are all on the backyards, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moskovsky, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

“Location is very close to the center and yet very quiet. Big room, nicely furnished. The charming staff at the reception speak excellent English. Breakfast is served to the room, you can choose from up to 6 different types. Always on time! Perfect! The hotel is modern and new, wifi is very fast and free.
- The hotel is located in a huge complex and it's really hard to find. The entrance is in a yard, only two rather small signs point to the entrance. Print a map of the area and expect drivers to have problems finding it. The breakfast is included and can be upgraded with juices and fresh coffee at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: best rooms are on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uvarov V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#34 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staro Hotel
#16 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#26 of 111 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Podol Plaza
#29 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bontiak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bontiak Hotel

Property: Bontiak Hotel
Address: Irininskaya Street 5/24 Block B, Kiev 01034, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bontiak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bontiak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing