We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good 3 star hotel near everything”
Review of Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Express
Ranked #56 of 113 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is well located near univercity metro station ( u pay 1 euro for 8!!! tickets!) the room is simple but clean and with a fridge and aircondition. they clean everyday and there are many nice restaurants near. Wifi is strong and free in all areas. For the price book it in advance! Kiev is an amazing and safe city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panosdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express85, Директор по продажам at Express, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback! For sure we will take into account your thoughts for improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although they were helpful and polite, there is still a lot to learn about quality and customers' needs for people running this hotel.
Especially if you don't speak Russian or Ukrainian.
They should slow down with cleaning the tables in front of people still eating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Igor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express85, Директор по продажам at Express, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel! Your opinion is very important for us, we are trying to improve our service and we will work on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A typical soviet style building with worn-out decoration and tapestry but nice view of kiev from the restaurant (on 16th floor) and good located.
in my opinion, it would need serious renovation specially taking into account the newly built hilton and the ibis hotel on next doors offering much better comfort and standards.
Breakfast is good with decent choice but nothing outstanding.
In short, there a large of better choices in city center of Kyev.

Room Tip: top floors, my colleagues on 14th floor said they had very nice view of kyev
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express85, Директор по продажам at Express, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you for your feedback, your opinion is very important for us. It is true our hotel was built in Soviet time in 1985, but we are proud of our history and are trying to keep standart of services that was formed by years. We are also proud of view from our hotel, many sweet hearts organizing romantic date in our restaurant, due to its view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel has undergone a significant renovation and now has modern PVC window frames, clean bright bedroom walls and in room TV and mini bar. However, the bathroom in our room, although having been improved, was very small. In fact, in my opinion, it was so small that it was not acceptable to Western standards. The toilet was positioned very near to the sink and even for a thin person this presented problems. The room also had a standard key and this sometimes did not work very well.

The buffet breakfast is poor by Western standards although there was a range of Russian style meal items. In my opinion, it would have been better to go outside to one of the numerous cafes and have breakfast.

The reception area is reminiscent of 1980's style: heavy red and granite. Although functional this style looks severe and rather unwelcoming. The reception staff were efficient and did their jobs well.

If all rooms are similar to the one we stayed in, I suspect that the money spent on renovation has not been spent wisely. It is unlikely that Western tourists will accept this level as there are alternative hotels with better facilities at the same price.

In spite of my reservations the hotel was clean and served our purpose as it was close to both the train ticket buying hall and the main railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed if you want one otherwise you may get a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express85, Director of Sales at Express, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you for your response. We know that some of our rooms are a little small and we are planing to rebuild them and increase space in lavatory and room. Your opinion about our breakfast is very important and we will improve the situation will try to be more flexible for Western Standarts. Also we have a lot of cafeterias around with good meals. We are really very close to the Train Station and very glad that this was useful for you.
We are trying to keep our hotel clean and renew our furniture step by step.
Hope to see you next time in Kiev once again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A vintage motel that was a wonderful alternative to the usual! The room was updated with a king bed, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. There was the personal touch with hand painted stenciling around the room! Loved the friendly Front Desk people. They were very helpful with restaurant menus on hand and recommendations. We will return next year when the rv show comes to town. Rocking chairs on the veranda in front of room were relaxing.

Room Tip: The rooms are soundproof!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel was not in any way spectacular but did everything it said on the tin! Clean, adequate rooms, good and substantial breakfast. Very central so it was easy to go on foot to the main sites of Kiev and only a short walk to a Metro to visit things further afield.

Bearing in mind Kiev hotels in general are not well rated, I'd recommend this as a reasonably priced option for a city break.

Room Tip: Request a double bed if you want one as most rooms are twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express85, Director of Sales at Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking your time and leaving your opinion about hotel Express. It is very important for us that you found our hotel ideal for city break. We are trying to improve our services for our guests.
For tourist location might be very comfortable only 800 meters from the Central railway and 1000 meter to the central street.
Your feedback help us become better.
We always welcomes you in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We both went there for one week in late July 2012 for our trip to Kiev - together with our Friends. the hotel was recommended by some ukrainian Friends. A clean and easygoing Hotel in a petty good location. there have been several bars and restaurants just beside. Interiour was surprisingly very nice and the staff (checkin and breakfast) was always very friendly with us. it is recommendable and a good place in Kiev. We will go there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
5 mi away
Hotel Nivki
Hotel Nivki
#59 of 113 in Kiev
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lukyanovsky
Hotel Lukyanovsky
#58 of 113 in Kiev
69 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#19 of 113 in Kiev
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oberig
Hotel Oberig
#36 of 113 in Kiev
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#21 of 113 in Kiev
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express

Address: 38/40 Shevchenko Avenue, Kiev 252032, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 113 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £17 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Express 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing